We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Casello Country House B&B

Save Saved
You added Il Casello Country House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Casello Country House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Montagliari 26, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Country bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our favourite place in Italy. We absolutely loved Chianti, and this B&B was so friendly and comfortable! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and we adored their little animal family too. The kitten and puppies would pop their heads into our apartment throughout the day, and the kitten even came and sat on the couch while my husband was working, and stayed for a cuddle. Adorable!

Our apartment had a little garden outside which made dining al fresco just lovely. We cooked every meal in our tiny kitchen, so didn’t take the owners up on the breakfast (which is an extra cost). The kitchens have most things you would need, but it is helpful to take a few items yourself – ours only had one knife which was blunt and made it difficult to slice onions etc, so would take a small utility knife (just pick one up in a supermarket). Also it might have been nice to have some things provided, like oil, salt and pepper, and even soap in the bathroom. None of this was in our apartment, but we had the foresight to bring soap and oil. Had to ask reception if we could borrow salt, and just did without pepper. Not a big issue, but definitely bring the things that you can’t cook without.

The bathroom is spacious, and so is the bedroom. The living/kitchen area is big and opens out onto the garden, so the afternoon was spent drinking Chianti and eating pasta al fresco. It was a great size for the price, and we were really happy with it.

We caught the bus down to Panzano from Florence. Luckily there is a stop almost right outside the B&B which made it easy. The bus driver was kind enough to let us know when it was the stop we wanted – just ask for Montagliari.

Panzano is only a short walk from here, but there is no footpath so we were walking on the road which was a bit scary at times! However, there is a small fruit/veg shop in Panzano that doesn’t open until 5pm, so we popped in there to top up our supplies halfway through the trip. Greve is 4km away, so is hard to get to without a car. However, the owners were kind enough to drop us off in Greve and then pick us up when we were done. Such great people!

Greve is great, definitely spend an afternoon here. There’s a butcher/cheese/wine shop where you can buy a card to taste a bunch of different wines, which is very decadent and a fabulous way to spend an hour or two. We also were lucky enough to visit the weekend market, and to go through some shops as well.

Our favourite activity was just wandering around the estate and nearby – there’s a winery a short walk down the road, and the scenery around is just amazing. We often didn’t go anywhere, though, as just hanging out at the apartment with the doors open was lovely. Prepare to relax and delight in the countryside!

We will definitely return to Chianti, and we will stay here again without hesitation. Service was impeccable and the apartment was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    26
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed at Il Casello before and was already then taken by the beautiful setting and the charm of the place. This time it was even better. Angelica and Paolo, who run Il Casello since January 2013, go out of their way to be helpful and are incredibly sweet and warm hosts. very, very impressed and coming back for sure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed five wonderful days at this picturesque villa. The original structure dates from 400AD but has every amenity you could ask for. The hosts, Paolo and Angelica were an absolute delight, friendly, helpful and know the area well. They recommended some delicious dining locations and a road trip worth many stops for breath-taking pictures. Their darling puppy Taco is also a special delight. Breakfast was substantial with cold meat, cheese, breads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, cakes and croissants.
We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the Panzano/Greve area. The B&B is approximately one hour south of Florence.
You will not be disappointed!

The Clark's of Bay Village, Ohio

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a stop for just one night but it was a very good B&B. A nice location with a great view over the countryside. We were in the small "tower" room which was small but gave us everything we needed. Silvia recommended a wonderful nearby restaurant - Cantinetta Sassolini in Panzano. The breakfast was very good, cereal, juice, cheese and meats with freshly baked croissants. It is a large B&B, nicely appointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilambil Heights
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

European Experiences, a small group tour company run by the amazing Kathy and Charley Wood, arranged a week of wonderful experiences for us. Not the least our base at Il Casello .. very comfortable, very friendly , helpful staff.. and cake for breakfast ... lovely ambience, beautiful views.

Room Tip: I heard no complaints form any fellow travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed a week at Il Casello in mid-October. It is ideally placed for visiting Chianti, Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and the other main Tuscan hotspots. The B&B has a lovely homely feel (a 'country house' as described), our room was very comfortable with wonderful views, and we had the use of a large sitting room plus sunny terraces, swimming pool etc. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, with Julia (English) a mine of information and advice about local places.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room 'Dudda' had wonderful views across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issaquah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well---this place is fantastic. The pool was great and the rooms and staff were tremendous.
Our breakfasts had fresh fruit, great cofee, and was one of the nicest we experienced in Italy.
Julia and Sylvia made our experience even better with great recomendations and ideas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Casello Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casello Country House B&B

Address: Montagliari 26, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Casello Country House B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Casello Country House B&B is an old Tuscan farmhouse that offers accommodation in charming rooms or self catering apartments. Located just outside the well-known wine town of Greve in Chianti, halfway between the cities of Florence and Siena, it is a perfect base for exploring this part of Tuscany.Our staff speak English, Italian, French, Spanish and Portugese and are always happy to give information and organise museum and restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Casello Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casello Country House Hotel Greve In Chianti
Il Casello Country House Bed And Breakfast
Il Casello Country House B&B Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Casello Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.