We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Podere Torre - A Diamond in the Rough...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Torre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Torre
Save Saved
You added Podere Torre to your Saves list
Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Podere Torre - A Diamond in the Rough...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Podere Torre is a wonderful B&B and Cecilia is a wonderful, warm hostess! We were welcomed by Cecilia and her dogs and immediately felt at home. We stayed here for four nights in early October. We stayed in the renovated barn with a small kitchenette and terrace with stunning views of the Tuscany landscape. The first evening we stayed was my husband and my 20th wedding anniversary and prior to our travel, Cecilia recommended we have dinner at her friends place across the way from her (easy walking distance). We took her up on her recommendation and couldn't have had a better anniversary dinner! Breakfast was always wonderful and bountiful! This is a 'Agriturismo' B&B so it is considered a working farm. Our stay was a fantastic part of our Italy memories. Be sure to enjoy downtown Greve and one of the BEST places for wine and pizza was La Cantina Ristorante-Pizzaria! However, just know the road from town to Podere Torre is a tricky one! Just take your time and be aware for oncoming vehicles it is totally worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

PODERE TORRE AND CECILIA ARE ONE IN A TRILLION.....this is the REAL DEAL in Tuscany. BEST VIEWS, BEST HOSTESS, BEST BREAKFASTS, BEST SERVICE, BEST PILLOWS/BEDS, BEST AMENITIES (new this year....a salt water pool to refresh you after a day touring the countryside), BEST DOGGIES, and BEST ACCOMMODATIONS !!!! There is so much to say about this LOVELY place, but let me start w/the hostess, Cecilia's smile will light up your day !! Her breakfast will rival any in Italy. The roof top terrace is the perfect place to end your day w/a glass of wine, watching the sunset. The community kitchen room has EVERYTHING you may need, incl. a washing machine that will make your wardrobe smell as fresh as a Tuscan breeze for only 10 euros !!! There is a very nice apt. for 2 & another darling rm for 2-3 persons.There is a terrific, covered BBQ and harvest table outdoor area for those interested in trying their hand at some roasted "boar" !!! We love the table tennis, along w/various table/chair venues on the grounds surrounding the pool area. Cecilia will give you the BEST advice/recomm for eating, shopping, markets, wine tasting etc. The road from Greve up to Cecilia's may seem a bit rough at first but it's a super hwy compared to Costa Rica and people do it all day, everyday w/o mishap. It is located on a private road w/private car parking. A visit to Italy/Toscana is not complete w/o a week w/ Cecilia. It is an ideal location for exploring the magnificent hills of Tuscany.....we have returned to this paradise 5 times by ourselves, as well as, with friends. We hope to be blessed w/many, many more. Happy Travels....ciao !!!

Room Tip: Podere is located on a private street and seamlessly quiet. Both rooms are lovely. Great, walk-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Podere Torre just might be one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. Between the scenery, the rustic comfort/coziness, the gorgeous pool, the delicious breakfasts, and the amazing hostess (Cecilia!), I can't wait to return. Podere Torre is where you come when you want to experience authentic Tuscany - you will be amongst olive groves, grape vines, and all sorts of veggies grown right on property... there is complete silence, a gorgeous night sky, and dogs running around the property. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's a bit of a drive up the hill but well worth it for the views and sense of peace & quiet once you arrive.

Make sure to bring home a bottle of the olive oil made from the property's olive trees - a great souvenir to enjoy at home to remind you of your trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is as peaceful and beautiful as it sounds from the other reviews. Cecilia answered any question I had about anything in Chianti to help us plan our trip. Podere Torre is so quaint and just like you have stepped into a movie set. We only had 1 night there and sadly was bad weather when we arrived but the next morning was beautiful with breakfast outside. Would love to come back to visit again. Tip do not take a large car, roads are so narrow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during the Greve Wine Festival. The place is located close to town so you can walk to all the restaurants and the festival. Loved our room! The view out our bedroom was like a picture. Tuscany looks exactly like it does in the pictures. Rolling hills with rows of grapes and olive trees. We are already planning another trip and will stay longer and visit Volterra and San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Get a bottle of wine and go sit up by the pool where the views are breathtaking. Also September is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here last September and had a truly wonderful stay. The pool is magnificent and the place itself is perfectly located. The owner is really helpful and kind. You have the ability to cook your own food in a separate kitchen which is really nice since the local food i excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I can't add much to the reviews submitted by others about Cecilia's beautiful home in the Tuscan hills. We stayed in the barn, which was lovely and charming, and a very reasonable price for the Chianti area. Podere Torre is really more of a holiday rental than a B&B, as breakfasts are not included (although are available for 10 euro each ), and the bedding and towels weren't changed during our 6 day-stay. That's ok. We had all the comforts of home and you can't beat the beautiful view. Cecilia recommended fantastic restaurants and we thoroughly enjoyed all of them, and especially enjoyed our dinner with Alfredo and Loretta, which was a two minute walk down the driveway. We opted to go out for long leisurely lunches and spend evenings close to home due to the narrow drive, but that was ok with us too. Thank you Cecilia, for sharing your beautiful part of the world with us!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Torre

Address: Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Podere Torre Hotel Greve In Chianti
Podere Torre Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.