We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Authentic Tuscan Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Torre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Torre
Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Truly Authentic Tuscan Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Absolute splendor and value in the heart of the Chianti region. Celia provides outstanding service, travel tips, and magnificent Italian breakfasts. My husband Paul and I traveled there for our 20th wedding anniversary and spent four days in this beautiful place. Spectacular views of olive trees and vineyards abound, peace and quiet unmatched in the area, and truly wonderful people.
Tips: Ask about the dinner available in the farmhouse down the road from Loretta and her wonderful husband. Take the trip to Castile Brolio for a historic day - and the BEST Chianti Classico we sampled during our trip. Enjoy the wonderful dogs who greet you every day. Take the car to the charming town of Greve and enjoy the people and the gelato. The best butcher shops for picinic items we found were in Greve and Radda. Radda is worth the drive!

If I had to name one drawback, we found it a bit challenging to find the B&B even with the map. But take your time, get lost in paradise and enjoy. Celia and Podere Torre are 100% worth the drive!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Newbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Life is sweet at Podere Torre. Not the decadent and self-indulgent "sweet" of Fellini's "la Dolce...", but the real and simple sweet of knowing that every day there, rain or shine, will be beautiful.

Some folks are better than others at being comfortable in a strange place. I am not so good. But from the moment Cecilia greeted us at her gate (along with Luna, Rocky and Napoleon) Lori and I knew we were at home.

Everything was just perfect. The view was perfect, the pool was perfect, the Old barn converted into a rustic but totally functional and spacious apartment was perfect. The sensation of being on a genuine farm on a genuine Tuscan hillside high above an idyllic Tuscan village was perfect. Sitting with Lori on our patio in the late afternoon sun, looking down on that village, with a map and a glass of Chianti Classico, planning tomorrow's excursion to Volpaia in search of that perfect Medieval doorway that we had seen in a wine book, that too was perfect. And of course Cecelia was perfect, too. She was there when needed and not when not. I needed her when I inadvertently screwed up my bank access password a couple of times too many and got locked out of my money. I needed to call stateside and asked Cecilia for help (area codes and all that). She took the number from me, led me into her office, dialed the number from her switchboard in a heartbeat and handed me
the phone. Problem solved in an instant. And her perfect breakfast was to die for.

We stayed a full week (and wish it could have been longer), mixing adventurous day trips with an occasional lazy morning. Halfway between Firenze and Sienna, it is a marvelous site-seeing base camp.

The ride up to and down from Podere Torre is, as is described here time and again, a bumpy and somewhat difficult ride. But you will learn to love it. After the first couple of trips you will relax completely, and come to love the villas and the vines and the views along the way.

For us, it was the best stay anywhere, ever.

Better and more detailed descriptions of the property are everywhere in these reviews. So read and enjoy.

Then book it.

And thank you so much, Cecilia. We will be back.

Tim & Lori

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Podere Torre gave us a real sense of what it would be like to live in the countryside of Italy; it was relaxing, quite and extremely peaceful! Cecilia was such a lovely host - very sweet woman, who made us a delicious breakfast. (Our only wish is that we could have paid her to make us an authentic Italian meal for dinner. Oh, and that we actually made it home with her yummy olive oil! Make sure to buy some.)

We stayed in the farmhouse room with a private courtyard for just one night. For those who haven't been to Italy before (like us), 1-2 days in Greve is probably all you need - just because there is so much to experience in Italy.

One caution: make sure you have a good navigation system (or map) as we found ourselves down a dead-end dirt road at first. Also, the roads are narrow and some are one way. The Italian drivers are not forgiving and had us literally "back up" as if they had the ride-away.

Aside from that, a great experience overall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

All the wonderful things that are said about Cecilia and Poderre Torre are 100% true! We stayed at lovely places on our memorable holiday in Italy, but none as memorable as this one. The accommodation, common kitchen (our apartment also had its own kitchen) and many relaxation areas are a delight with its thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers and fragrant towels, rustic comfort and wonderful ambience, and so is the wonderful pool with it's beautiful views over the Tuscan hills. We were invited to freely use the available garden produce (tomatoes, figs, grapes, many fresh herbs etc) and Cecilia's legendary hospitality crowns it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Podere Torre is a peaceful retreat in a bucolic Tuscan setting close to Greve, one of our favorite Chianti area towns. From there we drove for about ten minutes up a winding mostly unpaved road admiring the picturesque olive groves and vineyards - admittedly with some wonder about where this wandering would lead us. Shortly, though, we reached our destination - a beautiful farm property perched on a high ridge overlooking a gorgeous view across the countryside, with profusely flowered grounds, charming rustic buildings and an infinity pool nestled along the edge of the hilltop.

In advance of our arrival our host, Cecilia, had obligingly kept in touch with us by e-mail so we had an inkling of her caring ways. She warmly welcomed us, gave us helpful written local info and recommendations, made sure we were comfortably settled and acquainted us with the B&B's amenities. Among these are the common areas of a kitchen, laundry and barbecue equipped loggia, besides all the outdoors spots for relaxing. We stayed in the self-catering apartment with its own kitchen/dining and fireplaced sitting arrangement. There is also another choice of a fine double bedroom. Renting the two selections together would work very well for couples traveling together or for extended family members. The bathrooms are well-appointed and surprisingly have showers with no enclosures. As it turned out, we liked this - and also the good window ventilation with privacy as well.

The accommodations are reasonably priced as is the optional full breakfast at ten euros each. It included cooked to order eggs, fresh fruits, baked treats, jams, cheeses, cured meats and cup after cup of steaming coffee - all delicious and served on a lovely table setting with that inspiring vista from the sunny terrace.

Other mornings we would go down into Greve to join regulars at the Piazza Matteotti's cappuccino bar (and learn a little more Italian from them). Also at this square we liked dining on the balcony of the restaurant Nerbone where the pici was scrumptious. A great variety of wonderful foods is sold in this town's open-air market and specialty shops - perfect for picnic lunches back at our B&B patio. One evening we grilled steaks over a wood fire for a dinner "at home" - a nice change from often eating out. Even though we went off exploring the nearby medieval hamlet of Montefioralle, the WW II American Memorial Cemetery, the Cavriglia Rose Gardens with its thousands of blooms and could hop on the bus connections to Florence and Siena, we still preferred returning to the respite and beauty right there at Podere Torre.

We plan to go back next time during the month of September when the labors on Cecilia's and her neighbor Lorenzo's farm are rewarded by an abundant harvest and when we will again have the company of the resident friendly dogs - Napoleone, Luna and Rocky. Even my not-partial-to-pooches husband enjoyed them. Thankfully, most of all, Cecilia will be there generously offering hospitality and sharing the joys of the paradise she has found.

Elaine and Joe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

4 Beautiful nights! We were greeted by Cecilia upon our bumpy arrival, but dont let the road up fool you, it is worth every bump!

The farm is calming and peaceful…the rooms are clean and comfortable, and dogs are a delight. Everything was unexpectedly bigger than we thought - large room with dresser and nightstands, and we had a small day bed as well ( we stayed in the Garden room ), and we were able to see the other "apartment" during our visit, and it was quite spacious as well.

There are many different seating areas around the property that are for your use, and they are all lovely for different reasons - a table for 4 along the ridge, a dinning table under a covered porch for dinner - or maybe you just want to play checkers? Or a small table for 2 or a lounger by the pool! Oh yes…..the POOL!

After a day of visiting in the August sun, a dip in the pool is a delight! Or a morning dip if you wish - the pool opens at 8am.

Cecilla is always around to help, or is she is stepping out, she may just check in to see if you need anything before she leaves. There is the quant villiage of Montefiorale near by if you wish, but Cecilla will give you ample local recommendations and directions if you need - we really liked La Cantina in Greve! Good pizza!

You will not regret you time here….we wished would could have stayed more than our 4 nights!

Oh….and you may want to pick up a bottle or two of the Podere Torre olive oil - made from the farm olives!

Ciao,
Keith and Melanie (Canada)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place to relax in a beautiful surrounding - Pool, own kitchen, garden, view over chianti! one caveat: if you are allergic to dogs, there are 3 of them (no heaven for you...).
Cecilia, the owner is a lovely person and has some good advice for restaurants and vineyards. Definitely worth renting a bike to explore the area around (ramazzi rental bikes in greve in chianti), but be aware that it's a hilly area:)
A dream came true!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Podere Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Torre

Also Known As:
Podere Torre Hotel
Podere Torre Hotel Greve In Chianti
Podere Torre Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Podere Torre to your Saves list