We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Tuscan experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Torre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Torre
Save
You added Podere Torre to your Saves list
Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real Tuscan experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Podere Torre gave us a real sense of what it would be like to live in the countryside of Italy; it was relaxing, quite and extremely peaceful! Cecilia was such a lovely host - very sweet woman, who made us a delicious breakfast. (Our only wish is that we could have paid her to make us an authentic Italian meal for dinner. Oh, and that we actually made it home with her yummy olive oil! Make sure to buy some.)

We stayed in the farmhouse room with a private courtyard for just one night. For those who haven't been to Italy before (like us), 1-2 days in Greve is probably all you need - just because there is so much to experience in Italy.

One caution: make sure you have a good navigation system (or map) as we found ourselves down a dead-end dirt road at first. Also, the roads are narrow and some are one way. The Italian drivers are not forgiving and had us literally "back up" as if they had the ride-away.

Aside from that, a great experience overall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

All the wonderful things that are said about Cecilia and Poderre Torre are 100% true! We stayed at lovely places on our memorable holiday in Italy, but none as memorable as this one. The accommodation, common kitchen (our apartment also had its own kitchen) and many relaxation areas are a delight with its thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers and fragrant towels, rustic comfort and wonderful ambience, and so is the wonderful pool with it's beautiful views over the Tuscan hills. We were invited to freely use the available garden produce (tomatoes, figs, grapes, many fresh herbs etc) and Cecilia's legendary hospitality crowns it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Podere Torre is a peaceful retreat in a bucolic Tuscan setting close to Greve, one of our favorite Chianti area towns. From there we drove for about ten minutes up a winding mostly unpaved road admiring the picturesque olive groves and vineyards - admittedly with some wonder about where this wandering would lead us. Shortly, though, we reached our destination - a beautiful farm property perched on a high ridge overlooking a gorgeous view across the countryside, with profusely flowered grounds, charming rustic buildings and an infinity pool nestled along the edge of the hilltop.

In advance of our arrival our host, Cecilia, had obligingly kept in touch with us by e-mail so we had an inkling of her caring ways. She warmly welcomed us, gave us helpful written local info and recommendations, made sure we were comfortably settled and acquainted us with the B&B's amenities. Among these are the common areas of a kitchen, laundry and barbecue equipped loggia, besides all the outdoors spots for relaxing. We stayed in the self-catering apartment with its own kitchen/dining and fireplaced sitting arrangement. There is also another choice of a fine double bedroom. Renting the two selections together would work very well for couples traveling together or for extended family members. The bathrooms are well-appointed and surprisingly have showers with no enclosures. As it turned out, we liked this - and also the good window ventilation with privacy as well.

The accommodations are reasonably priced as is the optional full breakfast at ten euros each. It included cooked to order eggs, fresh fruits, baked treats, jams, cheeses, cured meats and cup after cup of steaming coffee - all delicious and served on a lovely table setting with that inspiring vista from the sunny terrace.

Other mornings we would go down into Greve to join regulars at the Piazza Matteotti's cappuccino bar (and learn a little more Italian from them). Also at this square we liked dining on the balcony of the restaurant Nerbone where the pici was scrumptious. A great variety of wonderful foods is sold in this town's open-air market and specialty shops - perfect for picnic lunches back at our B&B patio. One evening we grilled steaks over a wood fire for a dinner "at home" - a nice change from often eating out. Even though we went off exploring the nearby medieval hamlet of Montefioralle, the WW II American Memorial Cemetery, the Cavriglia Rose Gardens with its thousands of blooms and could hop on the bus connections to Florence and Siena, we still preferred returning to the respite and beauty right there at Podere Torre.

We plan to go back next time during the month of September when the labors on Cecilia's and her neighbor Lorenzo's farm are rewarded by an abundant harvest and when we will again have the company of the resident friendly dogs - Napoleone, Luna and Rocky. Even my not-partial-to-pooches husband enjoyed them. Thankfully, most of all, Cecilia will be there generously offering hospitality and sharing the joys of the paradise she has found.

Elaine and Joe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

4 Beautiful nights! We were greeted by Cecilia upon our bumpy arrival, but dont let the road up fool you, it is worth every bump!

The farm is calming and peaceful…the rooms are clean and comfortable, and dogs are a delight. Everything was unexpectedly bigger than we thought - large room with dresser and nightstands, and we had a small day bed as well ( we stayed in the Garden room ), and we were able to see the other "apartment" during our visit, and it was quite spacious as well.

There are many different seating areas around the property that are for your use, and they are all lovely for different reasons - a table for 4 along the ridge, a dinning table under a covered porch for dinner - or maybe you just want to play checkers? Or a small table for 2 or a lounger by the pool! Oh yes…..the POOL!

After a day of visiting in the August sun, a dip in the pool is a delight! Or a morning dip if you wish - the pool opens at 8am.

Cecilla is always around to help, or is she is stepping out, she may just check in to see if you need anything before she leaves. There is the quant villiage of Montefiorale near by if you wish, but Cecilla will give you ample local recommendations and directions if you need - we really liked La Cantina in Greve! Good pizza!

You will not regret you time here….we wished would could have stayed more than our 4 nights!

Oh….and you may want to pick up a bottle or two of the Podere Torre olive oil - made from the farm olives!

Ciao,
Keith and Melanie (Canada)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place to relax in a beautiful surrounding - Pool, own kitchen, garden, view over chianti! one caveat: if you are allergic to dogs, there are 3 of them (no heaven for you...).
Cecilia, the owner is a lovely person and has some good advice for restaurants and vineyards. Definitely worth renting a bike to explore the area around (ramazzi rental bikes in greve in chianti), but be aware that it's a hilly area:)
A dream came true!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My sister-in-law (who is Italian), myself and two girl friends just returned from a 2-1/2 week trip to Italy. Before we left we decided we wanted to stay in Tuscany for a few days before visiting her brother in Florence. I searched for hours in Trip Advisor and finally chose Podere Torre. It was the HIGHLGHT of our trip. We loved it and didn't want to leave. The view from the pool looking out over the Tuscan landscape is beautiful. Cecilia is so friendly and speaks very good English. She made us the best breakfast every morning on the outside terrace overlooking the landscape. If you are an early bird, catch the sunrise sitting by the pool....breathtaking. Above the barn and concimaia is a terrace so one night we just bought food in town and came back and had an Italian dinner on the terrace. There are 2 kitchens - one in the barn and a nice modern one outside next to the barn. The Concimaia has a double bed and single with your own nice bathroom and up two stairs (door divides) is the barn with a queen bed, bath and kitchen. You can walk to the medival village of Montefiore for dinner or if you don't mind a longer walk you can actually walk to Greve which is a lovely town with shops and restaurants. We found out they don't eat as late as you think though. Kitchen in most restaurants close after 9pm on weekdays. NOTE: You will want to check-in before dark for it is very hard to find at night. We, unfortunately, could not arrive due to circumstances beyond our control, until 11pm and we had a very hard time finding it because it is so dark in Tuscany at night. We had no problems the other nights after dark. Also, if you plan to walk to town and are coming back after dark make sure to pack a flashlight! I highly recommend this place and all of us said when we left that we want to go back again but for a week. This place is also convenient to get to lots of small towns by car or by bus to Florence. Can't lose booking this place! Thanks for a wonderful stay Cecilia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ditto all that's been written before about Cecilia's home. Cecilia is a gracious hostess and yes, her dogs are well behaved and friendly. Having the opportunity to live amongst the Tuscan hills is delightful. We too enjoyed the gorgeous new pool, communal kitchen (my husband learned how to make espresso using the Moka pot and bought one to bring home), BBQ, many maps and guide books available. We frequented the Coop supermarket in town for breakfast fixings and wandered to Pienza, Montalcino, Sant Antimo, San Gimi, etc. from this location. Be ready for some curvy, up and down and all around road conditions coupled with Italian racing motorcycles. Upon Cecilia's recommendation, we ate dinner at Loretta and Alfredo's home just across from the Villa Bordoni. For fifty euro, we enjoyed a large Tuscan dinner, complete with homemade Chianti and sweet white wine. We used a combination of sign language, simple English, and an Italian-English dictionary to communicate with our hosts. What a memory!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Torre

Address: Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Podere Torre Hotel Greve In Chianti
Podere Torre Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.