We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Torre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Podere Torre
Save
You added Podere Torre to your Saves list
Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfect place to relax in a beautiful surrounding - Pool, own kitchen, garden, view over chianti! one caveat: if you are allergic to dogs, there are 3 of them (no heaven for you...).
Cecilia, the owner is a lovely person and has some good advice for restaurants and vineyards. Definitely worth renting a bike to explore the area around (ramazzi rental bikes in greve in chianti), but be aware that it's a hilly area:)
A dream came true!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My sister-in-law (who is Italian), myself and two girl friends just returned from a 2-1/2 week trip to Italy. Before we left we decided we wanted to stay in Tuscany for a few days before visiting her brother in Florence. I searched for hours in Trip Advisor and finally chose Podere Torre. It was the HIGHLGHT of our trip. We loved it and didn't want to leave. The view from the pool looking out over the Tuscan landscape is beautiful. Cecilia is so friendly and speaks very good English. She made us the best breakfast every morning on the outside terrace overlooking the landscape. If you are an early bird, catch the sunrise sitting by the pool....breathtaking. Above the barn and concimaia is a terrace so one night we just bought food in town and came back and had an Italian dinner on the terrace. There are 2 kitchens - one in the barn and a nice modern one outside next to the barn. The Concimaia has a double bed and single with your own nice bathroom and up two stairs (door divides) is the barn with a queen bed, bath and kitchen. You can walk to the medival village of Montefiore for dinner or if you don't mind a longer walk you can actually walk to Greve which is a lovely town with shops and restaurants. We found out they don't eat as late as you think though. Kitchen in most restaurants close after 9pm on weekdays. NOTE: You will want to check-in before dark for it is very hard to find at night. We, unfortunately, could not arrive due to circumstances beyond our control, until 11pm and we had a very hard time finding it because it is so dark in Tuscany at night. We had no problems the other nights after dark. Also, if you plan to walk to town and are coming back after dark make sure to pack a flashlight! I highly recommend this place and all of us said when we left that we want to go back again but for a week. This place is also convenient to get to lots of small towns by car or by bus to Florence. Can't lose booking this place! Thanks for a wonderful stay Cecilia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ditto all that's been written before about Cecilia's home. Cecilia is a gracious hostess and yes, her dogs are well behaved and friendly. Having the opportunity to live amongst the Tuscan hills is delightful. We too enjoyed the gorgeous new pool, communal kitchen (my husband learned how to make espresso using the Moka pot and bought one to bring home), BBQ, many maps and guide books available. We frequented the Coop supermarket in town for breakfast fixings and wandered to Pienza, Montalcino, Sant Antimo, San Gimi, etc. from this location. Be ready for some curvy, up and down and all around road conditions coupled with Italian racing motorcycles. Upon Cecilia's recommendation, we ate dinner at Loretta and Alfredo's home just across from the Villa Bordoni. For fifty euro, we enjoyed a large Tuscan dinner, complete with homemade Chianti and sweet white wine. We used a combination of sign language, simple English, and an Italian-English dictionary to communicate with our hosts. What a memory!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Podere Torre was a dream come true.Everything we imagined Tuscany to be came true here.Cecilia from the very first E-mail made us feel like family coming home.After travelling around Italy for three weeks we were in need of a rest and this place gave us the opportunity to have some down time.We were able to use a communal kitchen and laundry and just kick back with a lovely Chianti Classico and take in the million dollar view.(pictures do not do the view justice)I could prattle on forever about this place..it was sooo wonderful!To Cecilia,her son and the company of the dogs,thankyou for a wonderful stay.We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

my wife channa and i reached this place of beauty only to be enchanted more and more by every detail that surrounded us!,each and every corner , the views ,the location , the food ,the smells everything only to be mixed with the graciousness and wonderful personality of cecelia,whose 3 dogs ,rocky/ luna and napoleane added to the unforgettable memory they made for us! go there and enjoy every minute! romantic is the bottom line!

Room Tip: if you enjoy being out of the way and pure happiness then this is it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I almost want to keep this place a secret because I don't want it to change – it's PERFECT! And Cecilia is the most wonderful hostess. I can't say enough about it. We were all over Italy for 3 weeks and this is by far our most favourite place – it's paradise. It's the most beautiful place, with all her roses, vines and fruit trees – it's rustic and simple but truly magnificent. The charm, the yard, the pool against the setting of the Tuscan hills, the outdoor kitchen/sitting areas, her dogs, her warmth and helpfulness – all made it a most memorable experience! Thank you Cecilia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Staying at Podere Torre was a highlight of our 3 week trip to Italy in April/May this year. The setting of this agriturismo is up through vineyards and olive orchards from the town of Greve. You are greeted by Cecilia's 3 dogs whose personalities are so good that I, a cat person, appreciated their company. The view sweeps down and across the valley; the air was scented with flowers and herbs, I heard cuckoos for the first time ever. Podere Torre grounds include a small yard and the soon-to-be pool. Behind, nothing but more olive trees going up the hill and the sky. As others have noted, Cecilia is a wonderful host.
We stayed in the 'fienile', good for a single or couple; basically a studio (one room); we used the adequate kitchen to prepare 2 dinners, and we also took advantage of the common laundry facilities. The best feature of this apartment is its own terrace which overlooks Cecilia's garden/lawn and that spectacular valley. We decided not to try to drive the road up to PT after dark, but sitting on the terrace as the sun set made that an easy decision.
Greve is not a 'destination' Tuscan hill town and we liked its 'real life' atmosphere. There is a good forno (bread bakery), a great butcher shop, wine and cheese (of course!), several restaurants and cafes, and a supermarket. The walk to the walled town of Montefiorelle from PT is short and sweet.

Thanks, Cecilia, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Torre

Address: Via di San Cresci 29, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Podere Torre Hotel Greve In Chianti
Podere Torre Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.