We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wine. Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Vicchiomaggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Vicchiomaggio to your Saves list
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Via Vicchiomaggio, 4, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous wine. Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are finishing up after 5 glorious days staying at Vicchiomaggio. We have had the most relaxed time in our fairly hectic schedule. A big thank you to Ines. Not only was she amazingly knowledgable with regard to the vineyard and wines, but more importantly her sense of humor and friendliness at the cellar door will have us recommending people to stop in and say hi. She (and Marco the singing waiter) certainly made our experience that much better.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    63
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
174
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Ideal stay amongst a vineyard in Greve, with more! The accommodation is a great combination of modern touches within an historic castle. We stayed within the newer section and the room was great and there is a common section downstairs, although we did not need to use it as the pool and gardens were idealand why be indoors if you can be outside. You do need a car to get around the region and into Greve or other nearby areas for lunch/dinner, which is really worth it to experience Tuscany.

Room Tip: Disappointingly it seems all the windows are quite small and so you don't get much of a view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Think the staff here are a bit odd - but this is without doubt one of the most beautiful and best value places I've ever been. It's got loads of charm, and would stay here again in a heartbeat - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I can not say enough positive things about this place. Everything about it was perfect- it is the most beautiful and picturesque place I have ever been in the world. The reviewers hit the nail on the head when saying the pictures do not do it justice- they don't. You really need to go here to experience the beauty and peace. My husband and I rented a car from rome and drove to the castle. When were a few miles away we saw a beautiful castle on a hill in the distance and said to ourselves it would be so cool if that was where we were staying, and it was! I could not believe it. Our suite was perfect- big and Luxurious, all while keeping the old world charm. The pool was so beautiful and peaceful. The wine and olive oil were delicious and the restaurant was the best food we ate throughout our travels in Italy. We went to the restaurant twice and our waiter was so kind and talented. One night we were lucky enough to hear him sing and play the piano. So beautiful and romantic. Thank you for such a wonderful stay! We will definately return here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I got married at Castello Vicchiomaggio on 19th July 2014 and we had the most perfect and magical day of our lives as well as the most wonderful stay. Our friends and family who all stayed at the castle over the weekend of the wedding have also been incredibly complimentary about everything during their stay. Castello Vicchiomaggio is unbeatable for location and views in Tuscany -it is just absolutely stunning and the pool is amazing! The owners, John, Paola and their daughters are absolutely wonderful and very friendly. Also Sandra, who helped with the planning of our wedding was amazing too! Nothing was ever too much and they were helpful, both in the planning of our wedding and also for our stay there. To add- the food and wine is exceptional. We were very impressed that they managed to maintain the quality of their food for 72 guests, for all courses of our wedding dinner. Our guests say it is one of the best meals they've ever had! A big thank you to Vicchiomaggio for making our stay and wedding day so special. We will definitely be visiting much more in the future. A special place in our hearts xx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Location stunning; pool fantastic; staff wonderful and helpful; rooms with kitchen facilities and sitting room; can't rate it highly enough. The website doesn't do it justice, its beautiful. My husband and I, and our 2 teenagers stayed for 3 nights, we caught the bus from Florence to Greve which was a great experience, and a taxi the last few miles. The castle is a mix of self-catering and hotel, since the restaurant doesn't open every evening, and we spent our days by the pool, eating lunch in the ballroom and picnicking in the grounds with wine and cheese in the evenings. We loved it, and felt like house guests rather than customers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We really enjoyed the 1 week stay here. Castello Vicchomaggio is a Agriturismo accomodation in the country side, not far away from Greve in Chianti and you got a great view from here over the Tuscan hills and vineyards. They also produce some good Chianti wines. We stayed in the Lorenzo appartment together with our best friends and we were all very pleased with the facilities reasonable equipped kitchen and a well set bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price and was good.

Room Tip: If you are more that 2. I suggest the Lorenzo appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Vicchiomaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Vicchiomaggio

Address: Via Vicchiomaggio, 4, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Vicchiomaggio (Vicchiomaggio Castle), one of the most beautiful and well-preserved castles in Tuscany, immersed in a park of more than 130 hectares, is an elegant holiday farm, a perfect location for wedding receptions, meetings and events organisation, as well as a renowned wine estate.Located in the heart of Chianti, it is a jewel nestled among hills, and a shrine of hospitality to celebrate the most important day of your life, as well as a holiday resort offering the utmost relax, or to enjoy tasting of various wines and typical products and to organise your meeting or gala evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castello Vicchiomaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Vicchiomaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Castello Vicchiomaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Vicchiomaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.