We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little slice of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Chianti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo del Chianti to your Saves list
Albergo del Chianti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza G. Matteotti 86, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
San Francisco,CA,USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our little slice of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I knew Greve was a delightful little town with a gorgeous piazza, so my friends and I wanted to stay right in that piazza. The Hotel Albergo del Chianti provided us with a comfortable room with air conditioning and an incredible rate for 3 people. To say that the hotel is family owned is such an inadequate description of this wonderful, boisterous, hysterical group of mother, father, sons, uncles, and nephews who run this wonderful place. The breakfasts were delicious and ample. The advice as to where we should venture took us to towns we had never heard of but should not be missed. The swimming pool in the back is large and surrounded by lounge chairs and umbrellas. We could have stayed there all day, but Tuscany called. I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
79
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vellinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This nice hotel at the piazza in Greve in Chianti has very good rooms in typical tuscan stile.
Breakfast buffé just perfect like the pool in the garden. The situation is very central and I can highly recommend this family hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and hopefully it won't be the last.

Firstly, to Francesco and the family, gratzie, gratzie, gratzie! You are all wonderful hosts, and thank you for sharing your passion about Grevei. Your enthusiasm for life and ensuring your guests get to experience the real side of Chianti is vey refreshing and rewarding.

Now the accommodation and the facilities!
These are very authentic traditional 3 star rooms with air conditioning and all the comforts required for a plesant stay. The bed is very comfortable and the pillow firm but not to firrm, there are also additional pillows if requested. The bathrooms small but functional, however, if you are over 6,3 you may have some fun. You will also love how the windows and shutters open out to the courtyard or the swimming pool.

Also plus is the breakfast, again very traditional with cereal fruit, yogart, bread, toast and the scambled eggs are fabulous!

So if you are looking for a great experience, as well as great accommodation, stay here!

Room Tip: If you can get a room ovelooking tthe courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Albergo (Hotel) del Chianti - Piazza Matteotti, Greve in Chianti, Tuscany, Province of Firenze, Italy:

In on Saturday, 15 September 2012
Check out, Friday, 21 September 2012

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. (family members, I think) One does not need to take the breakfast every day: it is 7 Euros per person, does have a nice selection of breakfast items, but can run into more money than one might wish to spend every morning.

Location is very good, if you don't have a car, as parking is not next to the hotel. (we took a bus from Florence). The hotel is located right on the lovely and largest of the towns piazzas (plazas), Piazza Matteotti.
FORTUNATELY, our room -- we are 2 women friends travelling together -- was facing the rear garden, lovely lawn and swimming pool. All public spaces, in and out, appear to be meticulously looked after. Our room a tad less so, but acceptable. Remember, if you're from elsewhere, to bring your PLUG ADAPTERS..., and if you have a cell phone and/or computer(s), bring a power strip and lots of adapters: our room has 4 single outlets, all occupied by a light or the TV. One must give up something (i.e., unplug a light or 2, or TV) to accommodate the recharging of electronics.

There IS free wifi that has been working just great in our room. We have an air conditioner but have not had to use it at all; because we're facing the back garden, we have a window that opens on that side of the building, and a door which has a stairway down to the yard. (not good for a person with difficulty walking.)

The major CON for me (one of us): our window opened onto a tiny balcony, not accessible from our room, but a door into a family residence opened on to it. There was frequent yelling and hollering between (it sounded to me) an older woman and a younger man (mother and grown son, perhaps), and I found it disturbing and intrusive.

Oh, yes!- bring a flashlight! The room key is attached to a card which is inserted to turn on the power in your room. Of course, when you take the card out at night, it kills the lights and you can't see to unlock and relock the door. (it's an old fashioned key that takes getting used to!!!- and , we found it to be a ROYAL PAIN!!!

Our room name was: 'Bronze', in an adjoining building from the lobby area.

Buon viaggio!

-Dulcie H

Room Tip: as written in review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the town square and is well priced and comfortable. The family that run the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and there is a lovely courtyard and garden at the rear of the hotel including a large swimming pool. A great breakfast is included. The only complaint is the airconditioners are noisy and excessively bright at night with their own little light show which initially seems gimmicky but becomes annoying in a dark room when trying to sleep. The alternative is opening the windows and listening to the bustle of the town square below. Worth visiting for the small goods store and bakery located either side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed during the chianti Classico wine festival which is held in the same piazza as the hotel. Breakfast had a good selection. Note parking is not at the hotel and is about 100m away in a free public lot. Please note our GPS did not display the hotel - we parked and asked a local to direct us to the Piazza G Matteoti.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool- may be a bit quieter than the noise of the piazza early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We planned our stay at Albergo del Chianti as a holiday from our holiday, and it was exactly what we hoped it would be. We spent most of our 5 days lounging around the pool, enjoying the cool water on some very hot days. If you are travelling with young children, be aware that the pool's "shallow" end is still quite deep - probably at least 5 feet. We found our triple room a little cramped for a 6 night stay, but were upgraded to a much larger room when we expressed our concerns. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The owners are lovely and very friendly, communicating easily in English. Breakfast was always good and ample.

Room Tip: For the extra 10 Euros, I'd recommend paying for a quadruple room, even if you're only trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Chianti

Address: Piazza G. Matteotti 86, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Chianti 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous triangular square of the village of Greve in Chianti:Chianti, the hotel has 16 rooms renovated and modernized in 2012, to customers, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bathroom and all comforts: air cond, heating, satellite TV, telephone, mini bars, safes and free wifi internet access.The strength of this hotel is centrally located with the ability to walk to various restaurants and many small craft shops located in the town square and in the country, but at the same time to offer a relaxing and tranquil space, in fact in the garden the hotel was converted into a 14m swimming pool with salt water where around x7m is served a breakfast buffet with homemade pastries, scrambled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, etc. ...The Family Bussotti, owner of 'Hotel for about 20 years is present 24h on 24, creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere, providing customers with all the information in the area, what to do and what to visit, plus the chance to sample available products of the family farm, wine, extra virgin olive oil and grappa.Greve in Chianti is situated half way between Florence and Siena, the location is very strategic in the short time we reach virtually all the most famous places of Tuscany, above the area of Chianti Classico, then Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa, San Gimignano , Volterra, Radda, Gaiole the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Chianti Hotel Greve In Chianti
Albergo Del Chianti Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.