We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Verrazzano

Castello di Verrazzano
Via Citille, 32, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
39-055-854243
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this romantic estate have agreed the trip was well worth it: the family is warm and hospitable, the grounds are ruggedly romantic and the wines are impressive.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a tremendous time at Castello do Verrazzano! I just love the methodology of the estate, no chemicals, they not only make a great vino but also a lovely olive oil from their groves, and a balsamic that is heavenly with the local cheese. The prosciutto and salami are form the wild boar that are free to roam around part of the estate before ending up curing within the stone walls of the castle.
Highly recommend it, and go for the full lunch as is it not only a lot of fun but the wines are wonderful with each course and the food is simply delicious... Enjoy- we did!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    94
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We toured Castello di Verrazzano in April 2013. Jillian, our tour guide, was personable and friendly. The tour was informative and beautiful. The owner and his wife were strolling around the grounds, and it was fun to meet them. I believe we had 9 people on our tour. Jillian answered all of our questions. The wine was great! Don't forget to ask for a taste of their "special" balsamic vinegar ... so sweet you can eat in on ice cream.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very well organized tour, great location, views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked a wine tour with a light lunch through the tourist office in Greve in Chianti.

Very good tour, our guide, Mateo, could not be nicer. The wine was good, the lunch very good and the aceto balsamico absolutely great! The property deserves a visit. Not only the building is very beautiful, the gardens and the views of the surrounding vineyards were very photogenic.

Deserves a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

People told us about this tour and wine tasting experience. We booked a tour with Gillian and she was both very friendly and knowledgeable. The experience was well worth it , the wine was great and the pairing with the food served was perfect. we ordered wine to be sent to the U.S. Highly recommend the tour and Gillian

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giurgiu, Giurgiu, Romania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best of Chianti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my friends had a tour of the castle and winery. Mister Gino, our guide, is a special guy. With his stories and jokes, he made us feel very good and euphoric before tasting the wine. We had a delicious dinner at the castle. I would like to come back here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Verrazzano also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Castello di Verrazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Verrazzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.