We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vignamaggio to your Saves list
Vignamaggio
Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A gorgeous 15th century Villa tucked away in the Tuscan hills, less than 20 miles from Florence. We have been coming to this lovely place for 20 years since we first saw it as the location for Kenneth Branagh's film of Shakespeare's "Much Ado About Nothing". If you come, make sure to stay in one of the few rooms in the original Villa. While not fully five star luxury, there is an air of tranquility and beauty unmatched in most of the top rated hotels. This Villa was the home of the Mona Lisa when she was famously painted by Leonardo da Vinci. The gardens are spectacular and the setting with views over the countryside are gorgeous. The food and service is exceptional.

Vignamaggio continues to be a working vineyard, producing some of the best Chianti of the region.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the original villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    42
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
111
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked this villa because it had featured as the setting for the 1993 film of Much Ado About Nothing (Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Denzel Washington etc), fell in love with the location and didn't even look at review sites before going. Stayed in the Villa itself (Leonardo Suite) for 2 nights R & R before Rome. It was simply Paradise on Earth. Beautiful location, stunning views, pools (plural) a fitness centre, a working winery, ornamental gardens and HISTORY - truly immense experience.

I am not recommending this villa as I want to keep it all to myself.................!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from vignamaggio for a wonderfull winetasting, wine tour and lunch! Although It has been raining the whole afternoon, we had a great time! Nice friendly guide (Sandro), who's told us all about the wine, the wine making process. This accompanied by a great 3 course lunch! Beautiful place, surroundings and Tuscan feel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked this hotel to use as a base to enjoy the Chianti region. We had some rain so it was not as wonderful as we could have imagined, but the property is wonderful. The room was great, the location superb and the staff did everything to make us welcome. The breakfast is 14 euros and worth the price, but if you don't want it everyone morning for the price that is the only potential negative to the property.

We arrived at the property after lunch was finished and they still took care of us - Great value

Room Tip: We had an apartment with a view of the vineyards - definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Vignamaggio had been recommended to me by someone who had been to Italy last year. When I first started researching it, I was a little hesitant to stay here, based on TA reviews.
However, the person in charge of reservations could not have been more helpful. She answered all of my numerous emailed questions promptly and in detail. She sent photos of the different accommodations available, and when we arrived, let us look at two different apartments and choose.

Heed the advice of an earlier poster, set your expectations accordingly, and you will not be disappointed. Think of it more as renting an apartment rather than staying at a hotel. We stayed in an apartment in the farmhouse. It was spacious, with a living area separate from the bedroom. There was a table and chairs and a small, self-contained kitchenette. Breakfast was served in this building, so if you want to eat this meal, it is very close. We did not because we were never that hungry in the mornings, but we did check it out and there was quite a large buffet offered.

The gardens and grounds are very pretty also, and all the surrounding scenery begs to be photographed.

The drive into town is not that far, much closer than places in Panzano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon-- we loved it. It was so quiet and peaceful, and the food we had at the restaurant was unbelievably good. It was one of the highlights of the trip, and we already wish we could go back. The wine tour and lunch were awesome-- incredible food and we ate with some fun people we didn't know who had gone on the tour. The views from the restaurant are amazing too. Swimming pools, peace and quiet, plenty of time to enjoy the sun and read, incredible wine and food, and lovely views everywhere. I miss it.

Note that the rooms are not luxury-- it's an old farmhouse, and they are an agriturismo site, so it's not meant to be like a hotel. But the room was comfortable and we didn't care anyway because we loved being outside and eating at the restaurant so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed before at Vignamaggio,and I really cannot undertand the criticism of the staff. They are all very correct, smiling and helpful. The restaurant on the night we ate there was not very good , our poor server was alone and everything took a long time and not too interesting( undercooked pasta, strange salad,etc). Okay ,the restaurants in Greve were not much better! We used to live in the area and it has changed alot in the quality! A problem with the stay is that the rooms are quite cold in bad weather as there are rainy days in spring and fall. I seem to remember that there are laws in Italy about heating in hotels in this period. There is really no cosy warm salon with fireplace to sit and read or have a drink. They do have a room in the breakfast area, but it is a bit modern and unwelcoming. I do find it lovely that there are bottles of wine around for tasting, also biscotti, some of the critics should appreciate this more, as it is gratis. Everything we asked of the staff was promptly taken care of.

Room Tip: I like the farm house better than the villa. The breakfast is much closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vignamaggio is one of the oldest wine estates situated in the heart of the Chianti Classico between Siena and Florence. Inside the renaissance villa, where the famous Monna Lisa painted by Leonardo was born, we have suites and rooms; the farmhouses close to the main villa have been renewed according to the typical Tuscan style. Here we offer rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vignamaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.