We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Greve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vignamaggio to your Saves list
Vignamaggio
Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
SE USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Greve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Vignamaggio had been recommended to me by someone who had been to Italy last year. When I first started researching it, I was a little hesitant to stay here, based on TA reviews.
However, the person in charge of reservations could not have been more helpful. She answered all of my numerous emailed questions promptly and in detail. She sent photos of the different accommodations available, and when we arrived, let us look at two different apartments and choose.

Heed the advice of an earlier poster, set your expectations accordingly, and you will not be disappointed. Think of it more as renting an apartment rather than staying at a hotel. We stayed in an apartment in the farmhouse. It was spacious, with a living area separate from the bedroom. There was a table and chairs and a small, self-contained kitchenette. Breakfast was served in this building, so if you want to eat this meal, it is very close. We did not because we were never that hungry in the mornings, but we did check it out and there was quite a large buffet offered.

The gardens and grounds are very pretty also, and all the surrounding scenery begs to be photographed.

The drive into town is not that far, much closer than places in Panzano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    42
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
107
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon-- we loved it. It was so quiet and peaceful, and the food we had at the restaurant was unbelievably good. It was one of the highlights of the trip, and we already wish we could go back. The wine tour and lunch were awesome-- incredible food and we ate with some fun people we didn't know who had gone on the tour. The views from the restaurant are amazing too. Swimming pools, peace and quiet, plenty of time to enjoy the sun and read, incredible wine and food, and lovely views everywhere. I miss it.

Note that the rooms are not luxury-- it's an old farmhouse, and they are an agriturismo site, so it's not meant to be like a hotel. But the room was comfortable and we didn't care anyway because we loved being outside and eating at the restaurant so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed before at Vignamaggio,and I really cannot undertand the criticism of the staff. They are all very correct, smiling and helpful. The restaurant on the night we ate there was not very good , our poor server was alone and everything took a long time and not too interesting( undercooked pasta, strange salad,etc). Okay ,the restaurants in Greve were not much better! We used to live in the area and it has changed alot in the quality! A problem with the stay is that the rooms are quite cold in bad weather as there are rainy days in spring and fall. I seem to remember that there are laws in Italy about heating in hotels in this period. There is really no cosy warm salon with fireplace to sit and read or have a drink. They do have a room in the breakfast area, but it is a bit modern and unwelcoming. I do find it lovely that there are bottles of wine around for tasting, also biscotti, some of the critics should appreciate this more, as it is gratis. Everything we asked of the staff was promptly taken care of.

Room Tip: I like the farm house better than the villa. The breakfast is much closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Simply special and perfect, Vignamaggio is not exactly an hotel...there are so many things to do, to see, to enjoy. Great wines and food.
We have been in the main villa for 4 days during the last fall and we just scratched the surface, we'll definitely be back
Caroline

Room Tip: drink monalisa riserv 2006
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Let's clear one thing: Vignamaggio is not your average super cozy family run agriturismo villas but a beautiful huge wineyard villa with a very limited number of but friendly staff. as long as you adjust your expectations along with this fact, your stay in the villa will be smooth.

we stayed around 6 days in the first week of May and the summary of our experience:

* I'll say my closing comment first. we'll definitely come back to this villa very soon bringing our friends this time.
* we were enchanted with the beauty of the villa and the surrounding towns in chianti region
the facilities in the villa.
* the winetasting tour was a total fun especially thanks to its super fun guide Giovanna and beautiful Vignamaggio chianti classico DOCG wines.
we had a troublesome very late checkin (arrived around 10 pm). it was all my fault as it clearly states that there's no late reception. Yet, the reception acted responsibly and arranged the key and stuff to help us to settle in. the restaurant staff also helped us to find our way in this big villa.
I urge you to arrive before the reception closes and before it gets dark because the lighting around and in the villa is not enough for you to explore and find your way.
always check with reception about the opening hours or restaurant. on may 1st, we dressed for a proper loong dinner at the restaurant, but we found out that it was closed due to "national holiday". on such occasions, dont panic as Greve town is 5 minute drive away and its restaurants and pizzerias are open till late hours.
the breakfast was worth its price.
the free WiFi is sometimes troublesome. strongly suggest you but 20EUR/5GB internet package from Vodafone Italy. not only for the villa but for your italy trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We didn't expect much but at the end had wonderful time during our wine tour at Vignamaggio.Our tour guide (young girl whose name I don't remember) was very knowledgeable and time flew very quickly. We are not wine experts, so we found a lot of new and interesting information. It was great to see how wine is made and kept. I wish wine tasting was more extensive though. But overall great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we have been only for a couple of days, unfortunately!! it looks like plunging in a dream....in a fairytale..a combination of beauty , history, culture, courteousness, elegance
dont forget wine and food: I could stay at the table forever.
definitely it`s wprth the money
kathleen, singapore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vignamaggio is one of the oldest wine estates situated in the heart of the Chianti Classico between Siena and Florence. Inside the renaissance villa, where the famous Monna Lisa painted by Leonardo was born, we have suites and rooms; the farmhouses close to the main villa have been renewed according to the typical Tuscan style. Here we offer rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vignamaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.