We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“set your expectation correctly and enjoy: it's not a 5 star full service hotel but a beautiful wineyard villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vignamaggio

Save Saved
You added Vignamaggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“set your expectation correctly and enjoy: it's not a 5 star full service hotel but a beautiful wineyard villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Let's clear one thing: Vignamaggio is not your average super cozy family run agriturismo villas but a beautiful huge wineyard villa with a very limited number of but friendly staff. as long as you adjust your expectations along with this fact, your stay in the villa will be smooth.

we stayed around 6 days in the first week of May and the summary of our experience:

* I'll say my closing comment first. we'll definitely come back to this villa very soon bringing our friends this time.
* we were enchanted with the beauty of the villa and the surrounding towns in chianti region
the facilities in the villa.
* the winetasting tour was a total fun especially thanks to its super fun guide Giovanna and beautiful Vignamaggio chianti classico DOCG wines.
we had a troublesome very late checkin (arrived around 10 pm). it was all my fault as it clearly states that there's no late reception. Yet, the reception acted responsibly and arranged the key and stuff to help us to settle in. the restaurant staff also helped us to find our way in this big villa.
I urge you to arrive before the reception closes and before it gets dark because the lighting around and in the villa is not enough for you to explore and find your way.
always check with reception about the opening hours or restaurant. on may 1st, we dressed for a proper loong dinner at the restaurant, but we found out that it was closed due to "national holiday". on such occasions, dont panic as Greve town is 5 minute drive away and its restaurants and pizzerias are open till late hours.
the breakfast was worth its price.
the free WiFi is sometimes troublesome. strongly suggest you but 20EUR/5GB internet package from Vodafone Italy. not only for the villa but for your italy trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    40
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
104
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We didn't expect much but at the end had wonderful time during our wine tour at Vignamaggio.Our tour guide (young girl whose name I don't remember) was very knowledgeable and time flew very quickly. We are not wine experts, so we found a lot of new and interesting information. It was great to see how wine is made and kept. I wish wine tasting was more extensive though. But overall great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we have been only for a couple of days, unfortunately!! it looks like plunging in a dream....in a fairytale..a combination of beauty , history, culture, courteousness, elegance
dont forget wine and food: I could stay at the table forever.
definitely it`s wprth the money
kathleen, singapore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have stayed all over Italy in a variety of accommodations and this is the one place that stands out beyond anything else. Vignamaggio is a Chianti wine enthusiast's dream, however, even if you are not into wines the place is amazing. THis is what we all dream Tuscany to be. Sensational views, vineyards, restaurant and staff is passionate about food and wine. Breakfast is exceptional. Definitely comfortable to bring very young children, however, not the place to bring children over 4 as with any vineyard. Every meal is gourmet.

Room Tip: Be sure to do a "Tasting Dinner"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Villa vignamaggio was recommended by a friend who stayed here many years ago. It seems the focus is on wine not guests staying at the hotel. First the positives, beautiful setting in Chianti countryside, awesome wines, great wine tour, friendly wine bar staff, excellent restaurant. Note I said nothing about the hotel. The front desk reception seemed put off by our check in process even though we were the only ones at the hotel. There was no assistance to our room and the elevator was turned off. I ended up hauling both my large suitcases up two flights of stairs. Ok in a one star or a hostel, unacceptable in a five star. In addition, some of the other guests lost electricity and if it wasn't for the restaurant staff no one would have helped them out since reception closes at 7. When we tried to book activities with the front desk they took lots of phone calls and again seemed annoyed by our presence. Everyone working reception should be put through a customer service training and coached daily as their arrogance and lack of interest provided an extremely poor impression. Maybe villa vignamaggio should focus on what they do best, wine making as their hotel experience was very poor. If it was not for the excellent wine bar and restaurant staff this review would be one star.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I along with our 2 young children stayed here and it was lovely, but it would have been better later in the season. Unfortunately I had read in Frommer's that there was a heated pool which was wrong. Then the jacuzzi was only for ages 12 and up! My kids were VERY disappointed. They had horseback riding, but only for ages 10 and up I think. Then we went to the kids play area and it was obviously not ready for use as everything was still covered! So basically it was a great place for kids...in the summer. Our room was nice and large and it was a very peaceful place overall. We enjoyed going into Greve and found a GREAT bakery. The hotel restaurant was great and the service was wonderful throughout. My kids enjoyed finding the little chocolate eggs in the common areas throughout the hotel but I had remembered reading that fresh fruit and other snacks were always in the common rooms, but aside from the chocolates and some tasty biscotti, we didn't find anything. Very nice bathroom although no tub which may be a problem for couples with very small children (and we were in a suite).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Villa Vignamaggio in late March and we thought this place has changed a lot since we last stayed in 2004. While it seems to have increased capacity it has lost some of its charm. Upon arrival reception was prompt while the welcome was rather floppy. After having been told "do's and dont's" we were told that dinner was served at the restaurant between 5.30pm and 8.30pm and we instantly felt like being in an old people's home.The room in the Villa was dark (dark green felt-carpet did not help light reflections), did not look like what we expected and what's reflected on their website.
The Garden and anything outside the premise is beautiful and neat. We walked one of the hiking paths and had a great time even though the trail was not very well maintained and included crossing a creek jumping on stones and tree trunks to follow the path.
Altogether it is an acceptable place - thanks to being surrounded by amazing acres of nature but it has lost its charm and opens a lot of space for improvement to justify the price level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vignamaggio is one of the oldest wine estates situated in the heart of the Chianti Classico between Siena and Florence. Inside the renaissance villa, where the famous Monna Lisa painted by Leonardo was born, we have suites and rooms; the farmhouses close to the main villa have been renewed according to the typical Tuscan style. Here we offer rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vignamaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.