We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place...nothing special though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante la Castellana

Ristorante la Castellana
1 Via di Montefioralle | Greve in Chicanti, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
055 853134
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Decent Place...nothing special though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ate here our first evening in Greve based on the recommendation of our gal at the front desk. Overall we were not disappointed mind you, but nothing truly stood out for us either. The town of Montefioralle is itself simply beautiful with this restaurant being ever so slightly outside of town. The crew working are family with mom and grandma "slaving" away in the kitchen. The burratta appetizer was huge and we were unable to finish it, which is quite a rarity. The quality was decent - nothing great. I had their chicken with balsamic and tonight and the wife tried the pasta with meat-sauce which was also okay. We shared a bottle of wine and had dessert. All in all a decent meal. but for us, given the other meals we had during our 2 weeks in Italy, this place turned out to be average. We thoroughly enjoyed their music being played in the background - when was the last time you heard Patrick Hernandez's Born to be Alive, and you had Italians with limited knowledge of English singing most of it?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    133
    42
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a beautiful and cosy restaurant placed in an idyllic setting high up in the tuscan hills only a short way from Greve (you can walk or drive there). The food was amazing (especially the ricotta stuffed ravioli with lemon!) and we had wonderful time. The staff were super cheerful and helpful. We couldn't recommend this place more!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The relaxed way to excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one place you wanna be once in your life because it really clarifies how you can eat very well, in a nice place, in a wonderful location, without draining your bank account.
For one thing the place is super small, wich means you are better off with a reservation, that said we went there on a sunday at lunch withou one and they managed to find us a seat in 15 minutes.
The food is traditional cousine from the area very well cooked and served in good conforting portions.
You have meat, and hams and mushrooms and truffles, fresh pasta and sweets and a beatiful selections of Chianti.
The serivce in quite informal, quick and very polite.
Special Grappa selections in the end is something you wanna try.
Do yourself a favour, if you are somewhat close the area, go and check this out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truffle/Ricotta Cheese Stuffed Ravioli Was The Bomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located on a treacherously steep street west and above Greve, this little gem of a restaurant had amazing pasta dishes. Although the portion was small, for a midwestern boy, the Truffle/Ricotta Cheese stuffed Ravioli was delicious. You may want to pay for a double helping.
The service was excellant as the waitress understood English.
Coming north up from town, pass the entrance and park next to a church at the top of the hill.
This restaurant was the 2nd best in our 2 week, 4 city tour of Italy. The best was Rome's Casa Coppelle.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“great food and service with warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

frech tuscany food ......close your eyes all you need is to test 2 or 3 antipasti and then try the pasta with truffles or lemon the cartchiofy are great to and the chianty wine is just what you need to full fill your degustation....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante la Castellana also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Panzano, Greve in Chianti
Poggio alla Croce, Greve in Chianti
 

Been to Ristorante la Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante la Castellana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.