We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic grill and pasta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallo Nero

Gallo Nero
Via Battisti, 9, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
+39 055 853734
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $61
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our LocalFind a quiet and discreet environment where you will be our noble guests were welcomed with warmth and cordiality by Francesco, Lisa, Lucia, Saro and grandmother Du our family that manages Restaurant since 1984. A place where you will remain in the heart genuine taste of meat cooked on selected high-quality as well as grilled cheese and grilled seasonal vegetables, the typical fettunta seasoned with extra virgin olive oil DOP, pasta handmade and much more. All accompanied by a good glass of Chianti Classico. The KitchenPrepare the dough of eggs and flour kneaded each day and cut as before, with the same love of our grandmothers.Stuffed pasta, tagliatelle and pappardelle are topped with innovative sauces strictly homemade.EmbersThe grilled meat, "the butt" that you eat in our wide variety of dishes are carefully chosen and bought daily from local butchers. The scent of wood, the time cooking carefully studied and the ability to add it to cheeses and vegetables of choice will make your seconds dishes a real experience of flavors. And to finish with a flourish, tasty homemade cakes for leaving good memory of a wonderful evening.Il Nostro Locale Troverete un ambiente tranquillo e riservato dove sarete nostri ospiti di riguardo, accolti con calore e cordialità da Francesco, Lisa, Lucia, Saro e la nonna Du la nostra famiglia che gestisce il Ristorante dal 1984. Un locale dove Vi rimarranno nel cuore i sapori genuini delle carni selezionate di alta qualità cotte sulla brace oltre a formaggi e verdure di stagione grigliate, la tipica fettunta condita con olio extravergine d’oliva D.O.P, la pasta fatta a mano e molto altro. Il tutto accompagnato da un buon bicchiere di vino Chianti Classico. La CucinaPrepariamo la pasta d’Uova e di farina impastata ogni giorno e tagliata come un tempo, con lo stesso amore delle nostre nonne. Paste ripiene, tagliatelle e pappardelle sono condite con innovativi sughi rigorosamente fatti in casa. La BraceLe carni alla griglia, "la Ciccia" che voi mangerete nella nostra ampia varietà di piatti, sono scelte con cura e comprate giornalmente da macellerie locali. Il profumo della legna, il tempo di cottura attentamente studiato e la possibilità di unirlo a formaggi e verdure di prima scelta faranno dei vostri secondi piatti una vera e propria esperienza di sapori. E per finire in bellezza, gustosi dolci fatti in casa per lasciarvi il buon ricordo di una splendida serata.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic grill and pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My friends who live near Greve-in-Chianti only eat at this restaurant when in Greve, and now I know why. Delicate home-made pasta and ravioli "alla nonna" -- the actual nonna or grandma makes them! - and flavorful grilled beef and chicken.Even tagliatelle with boar ragu, sounds weird but rich and delicious. Calm, even elegant atmosphere with modest prices and personal service. Do not be put off if the dining room on the corner appears empty -- they seat people first in the larger room on the side towards the market.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    164
    32
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“10 +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Being from Argentina, I was a bit skeptical when someone recommended Il Gallo Nero and its beef. How wrong I was! Not only was the beef (and the rest of the food for that matter) excellent but the atmosphere of the place was most pleasant. Very good service too. It was a really enjoyable experience and I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“September Visit Greve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Greve for 14 days and had the pleasure of dining here on 4 occasitions . The service was excellent as was the food and over all atmosphere . I would highly recommend this restaurant,certainly some of the best meals we experienced during our stay in Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The service was fine. But the food was not. I'm not someone unwilling to pay a high price for high quality food. But it's ridiculous to pay high prices for poor quality food. We have had bistecca fiorentina many times but the one at Gall Nero was tough and full of muscle. It was terrible. A 5 euro cover charge per person is insane when you don't even get the bites you get in other restaurants. I would recommend going anywhere but here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia P, Proprietario at Gallo Nero, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello, we are very sad for your negative experience in our restaurant. For the first thing our cover charge is €2,50 and NOT €5,00 for person. This is false. Our steaks are all good and controller quality.. And usually without too much fat. However can happen that some steak are different. You know the meat it isn't all the same and every cut and peace are different in spite of the method of breeding and treatment it all the same.. If you told to us we will do another or do something to repair the situation.. In this way we are all sad and stop. We invite to all our guest to tell us any problems.. It is you right and help to give the best service that we can just to prevent unplesant situation like that. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a very good lunch, with home made pasta in Gallo Nero in the center of Greve. The service was really nice, but unfortunately the waitress didn't speak English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia P, Proprietario at Gallo Nero, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello,
thank you for your beautiful words about us and our food! I like to specify one thing. All our waiters speak english very well, just my mother understand without speak.. Usually she is not alone during the service and me and the others support her in difficult moments. Maybe in that case we were busy in something or I don't know.. The important is that you had a nice time in our restaurant and we wait for you in the future again!
Best Regards
Gallo nero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Nero also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallo Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.