We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winemaker's farmhouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Campriano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Podere Campriano to your Saves list
Podere Campriano
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Viale Rosa Libri, 36/a, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Doubleview, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Winemaker's farmhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We were so surprised to find this Tuscan vineyard and olive grove was so close to the town of Greve in Chianti. The gated entrance to the property is one street back from the town's main thoroughfare so we thought we had come to the wrong place until we drove up their entrance. The close location to town meant we never had to drive our car to go out for dinner so that was terrific. Elena serves a typical Italian breakfast every morning with beautiful home made jams. The room was comfortable enough - there was a lounge on the ground level and the bed was on a mezzanine floor. The bathroom was small like all bathrooms in Italy. The farmhouse decor has been given a subtle modern touch.

If our room had tea & coffee facilities, glasses and a corkscrew, a hair dryer, toiletries, an iron & ironing board, it would have been perfect. But alas, as a B&B, the accommodation was just a room & bathroom, nothing more. It was nice though and we would go back again but better prepared next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Their website is lovely but doesn’t do it justice. To be frank, all little towns in Tuscany are lovely and Greve is no different...but Podere Campriano is quite different. First, you're perched on a hill which affords a dazzling, panoramic view of Chianti. The common areas are tiered to offer postcard shots. From the pool and outdoor dining area one can see hills of olive groves, grape vines and stone villas and a sunset to match some of the best in summer. Accommodation is high quality...authentic stone villas offer Tuscan charm yet modern comfort. Foremost, you're a part of a family dynasty where they've been producing wine, olive oil and salami for 9 generations. Ps a) byo soap! b) don’t miss a visit to Badia di Passignano, a beautiful nearby town. The monastery (Osteria di Passignano) has a Michellen star restaurant - we did a tour and lunch which was exceptional - but there are two other small, quality cantinas in this tiny town, both with exceptional views.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Everyone, if you are looking for a place to base camp Chianti or Tuscan Hill towns, this is it. Elena and her family are so incredibly nice, the breakfasts are out of this world, and the location is as beautiful as it gets. My new husband and I stayed there the end of our honeymoon for 4 nights and we couldn't believe our luck for such reasonable prices. We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Our six days at this lovely Tuscan vineyard was the highlight of our Italian trip. The accommodations were comfortable, and the location was perfect for visiting Chianti. Our very friendly hostess and family made us feel comfortable from the start. Elena, an accomplished baker, provided either a "sweet" or "salad" breakfast each day. There is a lovely pool and a nice, restful garden in which to relax. I especially enjoyed the garden with beautiful flowers and rosemary hedge. There are nice tables for picnicking or just relaxing.
I understand that Elena can provide evening meals as well as dinner, but we were too much on the go to take advantage of that. Their organic wine is delightful. This agriturisimo provides the best of a wonderful region and tradition.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Only superlatives for our trip to Tuscany that included a week's stay at Podere Campriano! Elena and her family run a first rate Agriturismo that is perfectly situated in the Chianti Classico Region of Italy. Good food, great wines, and a relaxing atmosphere made our stay there most enjoyable. Easy day trips to Pisa, Siena, Florence and San Gimignano were followed by evening walks down to the piazza in Greve in Chianti for several excellent dinners all combined to make this a most memorable trip. We will certainly recommend Podere Campriano to our friends and hope to return for another great Tuscan vacation!

Ian and Deneen, October, 2009.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I never thought a place could make me want to return so much as Podere Campriano did!!!
I felt like I was home, that warm feeling you get when you first return home after being gone for years. The place was immaculate, Breakfast perfect, and the coffee WOW!. We have had super tuscan wine before but theirs was a perfect accent. We brought some home and when we drink it we cannot help but want to return. If you are looking for a super clean agritourismo that feels like home this is the place. our only regret is we did not stay long enough!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marananga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and 2 young children really loved our stay at Podere Campriano, the apartment was spectacular with 2 very comfortable bedrooms. The apartment has spectacular views overlooking the village of Greve in Chianti and the garden and pool area is wonderful. It is within easy walking distance from the centre of the village (& bus stop) which has many great restaurants. Elena and her family were really helpful and made our stay very memorable and we hope to visit them again in the future. We all enjoyed Elena's breakfasts and the family also produces exceptional wine particularly the Chianti Classico and Vin Santo. If you are very lucky you may actually have opportunity to taste a meal cooked by Valerio and Pia in the wood fire oven as we did. This was one of the highlights of our visit to Italy.
Nigel, Marina, Lane & Gus

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Campriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campriano

Address: Viale Rosa Libri, 36/a, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Podere Campriano 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campriano is a little family winery in the earth of Chianti Classico area. The farm is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves owned, nestled in the quiet Tuscan countryside. In 5 minutes walk you can reach the village of Greve in Chianti and within a few minutes drive you can visit cities like Florence and Siena. Guests can choose different accommodation, the suites are rooms on two floors, the ground floor is a lounge and first floor mezzanine the master bedroom; the apartment has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. During their stay, guests can participate in guided wine tastings, cooking classes, typical dinners, or for the lucky ones to harvest or the harvest of the olives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Podere Campriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Campriano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Campriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.