We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic scene, stunning views, awesome family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Podere Campriano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Podere Campriano to your Saves list
Podere Campriano
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Viale Rosa Libri, 36/a, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Idyllic scene, stunning views, awesome family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Walking up the trail to the saltwater pool the scent in the air was pure rosemary wafting from the perfectly trimmed hedges lining the path. If it sounds a little too prim, it wasn't. This was purely rustic, Tuscan charm. My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of an adventurous two weeks in Italy. The view from the pool took our breaths away.
I cannot say enough about the family. They were so kind and fun and seemed to figure out how to live their lives with strangers in their midst. Elena's mother found me bumbling around the courtyard looking for someone to help me find a knife. They gifted us a bottle of really excellent Chianti Classico which they make on the property.
Here's the thing: I really disliked Greve. It was so commercialized...like the Disney version of Italy. We had a tragic dinner experience there. So it says a lot about Podere Campriano that I would consider staying there again on my next trip. I just loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Myself and 2 children stayed at Elena's beautiful farmhouse for 5 nights in June. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had a king size bed upstairs with a beautiful timber bedhead, and a sofa bed and small bathroom downstairs. This apartment would be best for a couple, or family with 1 child.It was very clean and had a gorgeous window with shutters we would watch the sunset from( one both upstairs and downstairs).
The pool area is absolutely stunning. We loved being out for the day and them coming back for a swim in the afternoon and relaxing in such a peaceful area with spectacular views of Tuscany. There is so much room up there for kids to play, my son would play soccer up there every afternoon and swim to cool down.
The breakfasts are served in the old cellar building and are also a highlight of the stay. The room upon entering the building, and 2 breakfast rooms either side of it are beautifully presented and it was a pleasure to sit there every morning and eat the beautiful home made breakfasts prepared by Elena.
Elena was extremely helpful with information about Tuscany and even helped us find our personal navigators to San Gimignano, an Italian couple who were also staying at the farmhouse and were planning a visit on the same day us.She also organized car hire for us and had the car waiting at the farmhouse so we didn't have to bother with pickups and drop offs.
Elena's mother also works at the farmhouse and she was an absolute delight. Myself and 2 children really warmed to her and enjoyed trying to communicate to each other when we would see her sweeping the property and keeping it in beautiful condition.
This was my son's favorite Italian accommodation, and equal favorite ( week in seaside Sorrento) for my daughter and I.We were away for 5 wks so stayed in many locations but this was hard to beat!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom ideal for couple, try 2 bedroom for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We traveled 2 weeks through Italy and stopped here for 2 days of relaxation. We were not disappointed at all.

The location is wonderful, on top of a hill overlooking Greve in Chianti and the valley. The buildings maintain their beautiful, rustic Italian villa style while all amenities and infrastructures are modern. The rooms (bedroom, bathroom, lounge) were clean and tastefully decorated. A very good mix of modern and old.

The view from the pool on the top of the hill is amazing.

Elena gives great service, always with a smile, at any time.

The best quality-price during our trip in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were here for 6 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and found it to be very clean and well equipped. The views are absolutely spectacular and the family is just wonderful. A highlight of our 3 week trip in Europe was cooking with Elena, her mom and dad. We had a blast learning how to make bread, pasta, pesto, a chicken dish, cake, etc. and then dining on the feast we had just prepared. Learning about the history of their agriturismo and their wine production as we cooked was fascinating. Although we didn't think Greve in Chianti was particularly charming in comparison to other hill towns we visited, it was nice to be able to walk into town in just a matter of minutes and find the services we needed-a supermarket, a laundramat and plenty of restaurants. We also took advantage of the marketplace which takes place in the main piazza on Saturday morning. We were able to buy fresh produce there as well as laundry detergent, soap, etc. Most of the other towns we chose to visit were a short car ride away and the scenery on the way there was spectacular. Although I was concerned prior to going about the lack of air conditioning, we found the unit to be cool and never opened any windows. I would suggest bringing mosquito repellant because it does get a little buggy in the morning and evening. I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful spot with this wonderful family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This place represents everything Tuscan. The wines, the food, the landscape, the hospitality, the accommodation, the town and more importantly the vineyards which are so meticulously looked after by Elena. They are so passionate about Organic wine production and they are a credit to the Italian people. The accommodation is a few minutes walk from the beautiful piazza of Greve in Chianti and as you walk towards the winery and house, the views are outstanding - in the background you can enjoy the views of the hilltop town of Montefioralle and when you get to the top of the vineyard can appreciate the majestic position of Podere Campriano which is the only wine producer that overlooks the whole town of Greve in Chianti. The accommodation was immaculate, peaceful and the Lapini family were always on hand for us. We also learned how to make Pasta Italian style at the cookery school and since arriving back in the UK we have purchased a silver pasta machine. In addition to Greve being an excellent town full of restaurants,shops, enotecas, bars and places of interest, we found that Greve was suitably located so we could visit the art galleries of Florence such as the Uffizi Gallery to see Botticelli's venus, Michelangelos Davide at Museo Accademia, the Loggia Lanzi, Ponte Vecchio and the amazing Duomo.

We shall return to Greve in the near future and we highly recommend this establishment as a place to anyone who wished to relax, unwind and to get away from the hustle and bustle of business life. Thank You Podere Campriano. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a great time in Podere Campriano with Elena and her family. We felt at home and love the apt where we have two floors, with windows facing the lovely chianti valley and the vineyards. This is a small farmhouse and we could enjoy the swimming pool with a fantastic view all by ourselves. Very private, while enjoying the stay with the super friendly family. Compared to friends who stayed in other places in Chianti, this is definitely the best choice for people who do not rent a car. We can walk to the town conveniently in 10 minutes (5 of which is just to leave the farmhouse). But then, it is not easy to get there if you do have big suitcases, and we were lucky to get help from Elena's family who picked us up from the town by car. Breakfast was also excellent.

The only thing is there is no air conditioning, and if only there are mosquito repellent spray or other device to keep the mosquitoes out of the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

we drove into Greve in Chianti, not knowing the direction to our B and B. We took a right turn to park an there.......was the gate. We knew something was up, something good. :) The location, a 5 minute walk down their hill to the centre of town, was wonderful. The view was something that we simply enjoyed each day many times, especially from the pool.

Elena was working the Chianti Wine Festival in town, so her mother Pia took care of us. The level of service was slightly less than what would have been otherwise, but we understood and it was still wonderful. Pia was attentive, be it questions about internet access or to help us find a nice bottle of their Chianti Classico by the pool. Rooms great, the Vale Suite we had was perfect for two younger boys and their happy parents. The pool on the hill was amazing.

The town was wonderful, the festival wonderful, the people wonderful.

We will be back in a couple of years and that is a certainty. Thank you Pia, Elena and everyone. Our three nights there was not enough. I hope you will have us again because we count on it.

Flavio, Mag, Valentino and Raven

Grazie tutti!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Podere Campriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campriano

Address: Viale Rosa Libri, 36/a, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Podere Campriano 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campriano is a little family winery in the earth of Chianti Classico area. The farm is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves owned, nestled in the quiet Tuscan countryside. In 5 minutes walk you can reach the village of Greve in Chianti and within a few minutes drive you can visit cities like Florence and Siena. Guests can choose different accommodation, the suites are rooms on two floors, the ground floor is a lounge and first floor mezzanine the master bedroom; the apartment has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. During their stay, guests can participate in guided wine tastings, cooking classes, typical dinners, or for the lucky ones to harvest or the harvest of the olives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Podere Campriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Campriano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podere Campriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.