We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real Tuscan agriturismo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Asciutto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poggio Asciutto to your Saves list
Poggio Asciutto
via Montagliari, 40 | Greve in Chianti, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a real Tuscan agriturismo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I know very well Tuscany for my job and I have been in many hotels and b&b in this region, I can definitely say that Poggio Asciutto is a real gem and a fantastic example of what an accommodation in Tuscan style should be...home atmosfere, warm and cheerful landlords, genuine food and wine, peaceful and relaxing nature around, lots of animals, and a charming little girl to talk with....you could not ask any more for a true Tuscan holiday.....we will come back...Rosy and Filippo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family of four stayed one night with Eva & Massimo. We had 2 connected bedrooms which we asked for. We did not know that included a nice country kitchen and sitting area downstairs, a nice bonus. Another bonus was the pool on a hot Tuscan afternoon. Eva was a great host and will suggest all types of activities. The wine tour she suggested was the highlight of our 2 week vacation and our grown kids loved it. Eva offers a Tuscan dinner for a reasonable price. Don't miss it! It was so nice talking to fellow travelers from around the world. This is the way travel ought to be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Poggio Asciutto at Easter 2012 and had looked forward to this stay with great anticipation, based on friends' recommendations. We (two couples) shared a two bedded apartment. There was a small kitchen/dining space downstairs and the bedrooms and ensuites were upstairs, at the back of the house. We arrived on a very cold, rainy day and it rained for our whole three day stay. When we complained about the cold we were told brusquely by Eva that they "couldn't help the weather" but we felt they certainly could help the lack of heating. The heating (or rather, the lack of it) was centrally controlled and at no time was it warm enough for us to be comfortable in the apartment. Being so cold clouds one's impressions of a place. At 200 euros a night we felt we did not receive value for money. Massimo had just opened a restaurant nearby but we never formally met him and even though we had breakfast and one dinner in the agriturismo dining room, we did not experience the hospitality other contributors have. There was ample food, but the quality was ordinary.
With the hundreds of rentals available in Chianti this is not the place to stay in cold weather.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Poggio Asciutto for two days after a rather busy city trip (Venice - Bologna - Florence). This was our time to calm down and relax and enjoy nature, and it worked out exactly that way. The farmhouse is on top of a small hill so the views are gorgeous. Our room was clean, comfortable, stylish, and quiet. Hot water for showering was limited, as one would expect in a a remote location, but more than adequate. We had two lovely homestyle dinners with Eva and her daughter, on the second day also accompanied by other guests. We thought these communal dinners were a really nice extra - you can naturally meet other travelers if you want to. Eva's pappa el pomodoro (typical Tuscan dish) was outstanding. We played Connect-Four with Eva's daughter, which she was good at (and she didn't like losing). After having seen Eva go horseback riding with two tourists who came from elsewhere, we decided to give this a try ourselves (first time). It was wonderful - the trip was more than an hour and we made a big loop through the surrounding hills. The horses were beautiful and free-spirited, Eva was a patient and encouraging teacher, and the lesson is very affordable. Overall, this trip couldn't have been better, mostly because our hosts were so warm and truly caring - this agriturismo is really their passion, not just a job (their expenses are also high so they probably hardly make anything). We are already making plans to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I had literally spent months scouring various websites and reading TA reviews on what seemed like hundreds of Tuscany holiday lets. We had a list of fairly straight forward wants:- rural location yet handily placed for touring the area, a working vineyard, self catering with a pool and somewhere with character. Poggio Asciutto ticked all of those boxes and then some. So with the satnav loaded we had a very straight forward journey from Pisa airport to reach the Poggio in just over an hour. The vineyard is located just off the famous Chiantigiani which is the road that snakes through the Chianti region between Sienna and Florence and is about a five minute drive from the pleasant little market town of Greve.
After that where do you start? The drive from the main road takes you through woods and vineyards until you climb up the slight hill to the estate itself where you are greeted with stunning views over rolling hills covered with olive groves and vineyards, dotted with wine estates, farms and country houses. On arrival we were greeted by our host Eva who showed us to our accomodation, the two bedroom torro apartment. This consists off a comfortable lounge/diner with a small kitchenette leading on to the spacious main bedroom and bathroom with a further bedroom in the roofspace. The apartment was well furnished and equipped and with another stunning view over the vineyards from the bedroom window. Outside there are numerous tables chairs and seating areas before you make your way upto the swimming pool from where you gain across the surrounding hills, This is spacious peaceful haven with plenty of sunloungers, with tables and chairs under gazebos for a welcome bit of shade to enjoy lunch (and more wine) away from the baking sun.
However just to describe the facilities of the Poggio doesn't do it justice. This was our first time visiting Italy and our stay here was everything we hoped Italy would be and more. Eva and Massimo are the most welcoming of hosts from the first moment we arrived and had our first bottle of their wonderful wine to the sad moment we had to leave. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to dine with Eva and sample some of her cooking although it smelt amazing! We did dine at Massimo's restaurant nearby which was one of best meals we had and we were made to feel yet again like treasured guests with the stunning terrace overlooking the valley completely to ourselves.
The Chianti region is amazing from the small medieval villages of Radda and Monteforialle to the awe inspiring wine estate at Vignamaggio which borders Poggio Asciutto - a must do place to visit. Every restaurant we visited served fresh rural Tuscan cuisine which was a million miles from anything served in your local Italian in the UK and without a fault the staff and local residents were pleasant and friendly and taken an obvious pride in their region.
I think the question I always ask people about their holiday is "would you go back?" and as for ourselves and Poggio Asciutto - we'd go back tommorow and are already thinking about our next visit - a wonderful relaxing place with wonderful food and wine coupled with some of the nicest people your likely to meet in the heart of some of the most amazing scenery.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Eva is a lovely host, fantastic food, great wine and the place is just perfect

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

staying at this family run agriturismo was one of the highlights of our vacation to Italy. We travelled with 2 other couples who shared our week with us. We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit overlooking the beautiful vineyards. Eva & Massimo were incredible hosts and shared their delicious meals, family and laughter with us. The meals were amazing, wine was flowing and we truly felt part of the family. We were lucky enough to have our friends that travelled with us recommend it, and we will certainly go back some day. Thank you Massimo, Eva, Olivia, Juergen & Luigi & Nancy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poggio Asciutto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Asciutto

Address: via Montagliari, 40 | Greve in Chianti, 50022 Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Asciutto is an ancient stone-built house, recently restored to conserve its rural appearance. The farmhouse accomodates guests in tastefully furnisched rooms and apartments.Poggio Asciutto is the perfect place for anyone who wishes to spend a restful holiday in a Family atmosphere while at the same time, taking the oppurtunity of a short day-trips to the beatiful art cities and historical villages of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poggio Asciutto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Asciutto Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Asciutto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.