We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Country Retreat Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Molendino bed and breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Molendino bed and breakfast to your Saves list
Il Molendino bed and breakfast
Via Nicosia, 1, 56011 Calci, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Calci B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Country Retreat Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrive May 30th to this spending old mill house, run by a wonderful couple.
We had our own private apartment complete with a beautiful deck backing up to the waterfall and babbling brook. Add to that a sky full of fireflies and you have the setting.
The accommodations were terrific. Stephano and Fabiloa were wonderful and the place was spotless.
Breakfast was lovely, the setting is great and the location is close to everything. We toured hundreds of miles of magical scenery returning each night to this special place.
I was even redecorating the apartment we stayed in, in my mind pretending it was my new home.

This is a memorable place that I look forward to returning to again.

R. Kaplan - US - June 2013.

Room Tip: The two best rooms are the separate cottage and the gorgeous suite in the main house. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights in this B&B and we had a great experience. The owners are very friendly and attentious (thanks Fabiola). The place is very quiet and all we heard were the birds in the morning hours. The old mill converted into a house is enchanting and the room nicely decorated. Would recommend if you want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with everything about this friendly and charming b & b, from the welcome we received from Fabiola, her recommendations for places to eat out locally, delicious freshly made cakes for breakfast and her detailed and helpful directions, including hand drawn maps for the way to Pisa airport avoiding morning traffic (20 minutes). The room was spacious and the bed comfortable, and an excellent shower. Stefano served lovely fresh orange juice and large cappuccinos for breakfast, and it was nice to be able to make yourself a cup of tea in the communal kitchen whenever you wanted one!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staying at the Molendino was the best part of our trip to Italy. Stefano and Fabiola are a beautiful couple with a gorgeous B&B. The only thing more incredible than the actual property and building themselves (which are beautifully rustic and relaxing) is how accommodating and kind Stefano and Fabiola are. I suggested that they adopt me and my family! They never answered me but I'm holding my breath. Seriously, stay there! Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely B&B. The owners, Stephano & Fabiola are extremely pleasant and helpful booking a fantastic Trattoria in the local village for us the night we arrived. The Nicosia room was perfect as I am sure the other rooms would be also. We only took a small bag up to the room as the spiral staircase would be a little difficult to manage large luggage. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Gorgeous accommodations in a quiet village near Pisa, Lucca and the Italian Riviera. It is very spacious, comfortable and quiet with the master bedroom up a narrow, spiral staircase on an open balcony. There is one smaller bedroom with two twin beds below and a sofa bed in the living room. (Our kids were jealous.) The kitchen is huge and modern, but it was a shame that we didn't have the chance to use it more. Very nice breakfast. Don't pass on the fresh-squeezed orange juice or the cappuccino (I typically don't like either). Fabiola and Stefano were very friendly and had good recommendations for local restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Il Molendino B&B and it was so nice to talk with Fabiiola and Stephano. We bought some of their organic, homemade olive oil and had som on our salad last night in Texas. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We had the huge room beside the common dining area (Suite Pietraia). It had stone walls and it made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Molendino bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molendino bed and breakfast

Address: Via Nicosia, 1, 56011 Calci, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Calci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Calci, B&B Il Molendino is a 17th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the Tuscan countryside, a 20-minute drive from Pisa. It offers rustic accommodation with free Wi-Fi.All rooms and apartments at Molendino have wood-beamed ceilings and wrought-iron beds. They are air conditioned and decorated with classic rugs. Apartments also feature a private entrance and furnished patio. The large garden surrounding the property has barbecue facilities and seating areas. A bike rental service is available for visiting the area. Il Molendino B&B is just 200 metres from a bus stop linking with Pisa. A shuttle service for Pisa Galileo Galilei Airport can be organised (15 EUROS). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Il Molendino bed and breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Molendino Bed And Breakfast Calci, Italy - Province Of Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Molendino bed and breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.