We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mosaics ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana del Casale

Villa Romana del Casale
Strada Provinciale 90, Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$64*
and up
Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale...
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 3rd-century Roman villa features more than 40 beautiful mosaic floors, making it one of the most cherished open-air museums in the region.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best mosaics ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Don't miss this - I have never seen so many in such good condition and the depictions of animals and fish are fascinating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    193
    46
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the great Roman Antiquties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The mosaics are the finest we have seen, and we have visited Pompey, Rome and most of the great Roman sites including those in Arles, France.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great variety of Roman Mosaics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The villa is in the middle of nowhere, but what a grand villa it would have been in its heyday, with beautiful mosaics covering nearly every floor. And what a variety of subjects were shown in the mosaics, from simple patterns to hunting scenes and Cyclops. We were disappointed that the famous bikini girls were undergoing restoration when we visited. Despite being miles from anywhere parking and toilet fees were still charged. Dont miss seeing these fabulous mosaics.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Secret Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a discovery to see such well preserved mosaic floor tiles from the Roman period. The detail and colors are amazing depicting a variety of everyday scenes from the 4th century. It is hard to believe this Villa is tucked away in central Sicily.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“THE standout Sicily site among many wonderful attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had read that the Roman mosaics here are arguably the finest in the world. I certainly have never seen better (Rome, Pompeii, etc.) 30+ rooms of amazingly in tact mosaics are not to be missed. The catwalks give you great views and the signage is excellent throughout. All 7 of us traveling together thought this the high point of our wonderful visit to Sicily and Malta. We did the visit to the villa as one of 2 stops on a transfer-tour from Siracusa to Palermo, and it was a great way to do this slightly out of the way site if you are not on a formal guided tour. We got there early enough to see most of it before the tour bus groups started arriving. We could not imagine how different our experience would be in high season.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana del Casale also viewed

Piazza Armerina, Province of Enna
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Villa Romana del Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romana del Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.