We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mosaics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romana del Casale

Villa Romana del Casale
Strada Provinciale 90, Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Ancient Ruins, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 3rd-century Roman villa features more than 40 beautiful mosaic floors, making it one of the most cherished open-air museums in the region.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mosaics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was one of the best spots I saw during my vacation in Sicily. The way the Villa is now set up, allowing you to walk above the mosaic floors is really something. The floor mosaics are amazing and they are in situ as they were found.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    166
    36
    26
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was truly breathtaking, very well worth the visit. In spite of it being really hot we spent a full half day looking at these amazing mosaics.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A worthwhile day out! Visit Morgantina on the same day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A beautiful find that has been painstakingly restored. Lovely to see it in its almost original form and the mosaics in situ. We went in Feb so got uninterrupted time in the villa.Managed to get a cup of coffee after the visit but the cafe was empty! We also went to the villa at Tellaris but it was a waste of time and Money!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worlds most beautiful mosaics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We went in the first week of February and were almost the only visitors. The scale of these decorations, their details and their colors, it's all mindblowing. For me this was the absolute number 1 of all the attractions I saw during eight days in Sicily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best mosaics in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Tourists that visit Sicily and are interested in heritage, should go here. It's a beautiful example of a Roman villa, and the mosaics that cover almost all the floors and some of the walls in de villa are considered the best preserved in the world. The images give an amazing insight of the world back then. The hunting scenes are so detailed. And don't miss the most famous scene: the bikini girls. We went there in September in the late afternoon, when all the tourist buses had left so we could walk around at our own pace.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Romana del Casale also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Villa Romana del Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romana del Casale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Romana del Casale to your Saves list