We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost full marks...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Save Saved
You added La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Almost full marks...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I would agree with the positive comments expressed by most reviewers regarding the quality of the rooms, friendly owners, great breakfast and delightful hosts. Sadly I cannot give this place full marks for a number of minor reasons - none of which the owners of the B&B can do anything about I am afraid.

1. It it a bit awkward to find even with GPS. It is located in an out of town residential area.
2. The location is about 25 mins walk from the old town and the walk is very uninviting indeed. It seemed a bit dodgy at night.
3. It is on the wrong side of town for Villa Romana del Casale. I have no idea how you would get there using public transport if you did not have a car.
4. The neighbourhood is full of dogs which bark from morning until night!

However, one massive plus is that there is a huge supermarket very close by. Not an authentic Sicilian experience I know, but If you are travelling around and need to restock on toiletries and cheap food you can do so there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    39
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful place sadly only for one night,had we known it would be this good in advance we would have changed our schedule.
The rooms was really nice, well maintained and spotless.The matress was comfortable indeed,and the linen , towels etc lovely.

Breakfast was superb indeed,the best we had in Sicily by far.Fresh baked breads,hams,cheeses,fruits,jams and marmalades.Who could ask for more?
Above all , Luciano is a wonderful host.He is always there to help and no request will be unfulfilled.Also his loyal employee Louisa is kind and sweet.
We shall be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a rustic B&B, located on the other side of the old town. Has views of the duomo. Rooms are big and spacious. There is a great variety for breakfast, with lots of fruit. The only thing that was not good was the shower was not cleaned very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given a choice of rooms, both of which were excellent. Plenty of space, good bathrooms, spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast around a large table with other guests - it felt like we were staying with friends! The owners were very helpful and gave us good advice on touring the town and the area. The B&B was a little way out of town, so we were glad we had a car, but that was the only possible downside - and the location was very peaceful with great views of the centro storico of Piazza Armerina (which is a delight!). I can warmly recommend this place for a short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, with its own access and a great view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for only one night at this hotel. We arrived by bus in the morning, eager to visit Villa Romana del Casale. We had to take a taxi to the hotel cause it was a 15 min walk from the bus station and we had all our lugagge with us. Once we arrived at the hotel we knew we had made the right choice. The hotel is very cozy, the staff was extra friendly, the room was ready right away and they even offered us some coffee and water.
We walked down to the bus stop to take the bus that would take us to the Villa Romana del Casale. That same bus stops at the Duomo if you want to visit it. The ride itself was very interesting. It seems that everyone knows each other at Piazza Armerina!
After visiting the Villa we went back to the hotel by bus + short walk. The rooms are OK; the view from the terrace is very nice. But what is wonderful about this hotel is the owner, Luciano. It felt as if we were staying at a friend's house! Luciano incourages interaction between the guests and it is true that the people that come to this place are particularly interesting. As mentioned in previous reviews, breakfast is great and we chose this hotel beacuse of this. It is incredible that we ended up finding so much more interesting experiences!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. Luciano the owner and his staff were very friendly and welcoming. A delicious and bountiful breakfast was provided. It is about a 10 minute drive from the historic city center. Being outside of the city center it does require that you drive in to get dinner. By the end of the day after touring Morgantina and visiting the mosaics we were tired of driving and negotiating busy one way streets so we opted not to eat dinner in the city and instead buy sandwiches on route to the B&B and enjoy a bottle of wine with them on our lovely terrace and relax. Very pleasant indeed. This B&B attracts very nice people from all over the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro ATL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The pluses: Great owners were there in the morning, clean room, good breakfast, nice view of the town from the terrace, reasonably close to Villa Romana Casale.

The negatives: A little hard to find because several of the signs were hidden by brush and the GS did not recognize the address, too far from town to walk in, questionable price /value relationship.

We arrived midafternoon after visiting Romana Casale. We got settled in our room, and because we did not want to deal with finding parking, had them call a taxi for us for a trip into the town. We started at Piazza Duomo, the highest point in town, and worked our way down.

After a nice simple dinner, we returned by taxi and enjoyed some wine on the terrace, looking back at the town.

The total for taxis both ways was about 22 Euro. Adding that to the cost of the room, it was not a very good value compared to the other places we stayed on this trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Also Known As:
La Casa Sulla Collina D'Oro Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Address: Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a panoramic position overhanging part of the historical centre of Piazza Armerina, bed & breakfast "La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro" ( the house on the golden hill) Relais de Charme will be glad to welcome its guests in an old house dating from the end of the 19th century, which has been restructured and renovated with the help of typical Sicilian building materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.