We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Piazza Armerina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro to your Saves list
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great view of Piazza Armerina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is very popular and was fully booked with older Europeans when we arrived. Our room was a bit cramped (with two beds) but had a lot of character. The view from the terrace over the city is very memorable indeed, although it isn't possible to walk directly down to the town. The B&B is very well equipped although the communal breakfast table might not suit everyone. Having said that, the breakfast was very good with good cheeses and local specialities. There is parking available under some low overhanging trees in the yard. The owners were friendly. The B&B is well located for the Villa Romana del Casale with its spectacular mosaics. Counterintuitively, to access the Villa Romana by road, one has to drive East into Piazza Armerina and then follow signs West through the town passing under the SS road. It is worth getting there early to avoid the large crowds and groups which can spoil the viewing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    54
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
95
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only had one night at this very delightful B&B, just outside the town, looking across the ravine at the Duomo was v. special. The breakfast served here was definitely the outstanding one of our 9 days in Sicily, staying at 6 different locations. A bounteous table laden with delicious specialties.
Just wished we had planned on a couple more nights here, as there is so much to be visited and seen within a short distance, in addition to the incomparable Villa Romana dei Casale - of all sites in Sicily definitely the most amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this beautifully positioned B&B recently for four nights--comfortable rooms, wonderful views of Piazza Armerina, great conversations with the hosts (including Maria Grazia, a licensed guide for nearby Villa Romana and its great mosaics), delicious breakfasts including local specialties, and when I fell ill (unrelated to anything I ate there), they took wonderful care of me. I will go back whenever I can, and with great pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice location overlooking the old town. The B&B has a very "homey" feel to it. Good and spacious room with all the facilities. WiFi and also desktop computer available. We returned from the old town in the evening and ended up sitting in front of the fire with a bottle of wine. You can also sit on the large balcony and look over to the Duomo and old town, lit up at night.
Breakfast is at a large table shared with the other guests (good fare). It is a different but very nice way to share travel experiences with other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a very enjoyable couple of nights here (once we eventually managed to find it!!)

The room was large and comfortable if a little old-fashioned. The breakfast spread was very good and the setting round one large table encourages interaction with the other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

After years and years of travelling around the world as an international advisor and, for pleasure with my family, I do not remember to have met such interesting owners. Luciano and Maria Grazia are a cultivated couple who love their region. Luciano is a successful marathon runner born again archeologist and Maria Grazia a professional guide attending groups coming from everywhere to be stunned –as we were- by the marvellous roman mosaics preserved in Villa Romana del Casale, a top tourist atraction in central Sicily. The B&B is an old countryhouse revamped with very good taste by Maria Grazia and Luciano. Located on the outskirts of Piazza Armerina it has a beautiful view of the town. Our room was very nice and the breakfast the best we have enjoyed in Sicily (I will remember the french style croissants as the best I have eaten in ten tours of italian regions...). Last but not least, Luciano, aware of the distance to the town center is always available to give you a lift. La Casa Sulla Collina D’Oro is for us a nice souvenir and a place we will recommend to anyone travelling to Piazza Armerina.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolo, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The relais is simply fascinating! From this location, you will be able to enjoy of a fantastic view. The owner is really nice and helpful. I liked to have breakfast together with the other guests of the relais at the same table...the best way to socialize with new friends!
Raccomanded!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Address: Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a panoramic position overhanging part of the historical centre of Piazza Armerina, bed & breakfast "La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro" ( the house on the golden hill) Relais de Charme will be glad to welcome its guests in an old house dating from the end of the 19th century, which has been restructured and renovated with the help of typical Sicilian building materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sulla Collina D'Oro Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.