We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Paradiso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada da Ramaldo, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Piazza Armerina
Greater London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel in Piazza Armerina with my husband. It was a wonderful experience because we got what we really needed: fun and relax. When you get in the hotel, you are impressed by the cleanness and bigness of the hall; it’s also very luminous. There is also the SPA centre which is beautiful. We got two different massages and we used the heated pool, the sauna and the Turkish bath. The staff is very kind and make you feel at home: we wanted to visit the Villa Romana del Casale and they were so nice to accompany us to it by car. The rooms are big, beautiful and well cleaned. The food is very good; we tasted different Sicilian specialties thanks to the kindness of the staff. I suggest it to anyone who wants to spend a great time in a great and welcoming place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    12
    17
    11
See reviews for
19
37
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A few days ago we found ourselves in Piazza Armerina looking for a hotel. We read a very positive blurb on the hotel in the Touring Club Italiano guide, describing its idyllic location in a forest. We arrived at the hotel and found that it overlooked a flyover - no trees anywhere! The lobby was cavernous and smelly, a mixture of mould and bad cooking. We asked to see two rooms, which were bare and depressing, overlooking the flyover and with no furniture. We left without spending the night! The staff was very courteous and friendly, but this was the only redeeming feature of a nightmare hotel. Also we were quoted a price of 90 euros a room, which was ridiculous for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were motivated to use this hotel because it was near the mosaics and it had a swimming pool. Well the swimming pool was filled with green slime, the wellness centre was closed, the corridor smelt of sewage and, despite having pre booked we were not given the double room that we had paid for, but a rather poor twin....and the hotel was empty as was the mini bar in the room. it was as though the dour types on reception would have rather been closed.
We could see into other rooms and they were fine visor no excuses for not giving us what we had paid for.
It wasn't dirty, the food was OK, but it did not live up to the promise. The review that says it had seen better days was right. This was probably a good hotel in 1960.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front if they'll let you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faxe
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

At first sight this is a high class hotel - large marble lobby, fitness center, swimming pool; but the essential qualities are missing. The rooms are furnished with beds hard as a board with pillows like cobblestones. The bathrooms are nicely furnished; but the hot water is fluctuating to a degree, that you are alternately scalded or frozen. When we arrived the staircase and our room smelled like a defect sewer, and it took more than 24 hours of airing to reach an acceptable level of smell.
The organisation is weird: Wine is not offered at the table; but you have to go to a sideboard and buy wine and water, before you can get seated for dinner. To get a drink at the bar, you have to buy a voucher at the reception desk and present it at the bar. When you do that, you will ever so often learn, that the drink, you bought, is sold out! You then have to find something else at a similar price. (Just figure an italian bar running out of Campari!)
The dinner is acceptable, but not outstanding. The breakfast is continental, but a bad continental. one morning the coffee was finished, before half of the guests had had some. The eggs were so hardboiled, that the yolk was turning green.
The hotel is placed so far outside the town, that it is beyond walking distance, so escape is difficult.
This is the worst hotel, we have experienced for at least 20 years!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

The Hotel Paradison was very close to the mosaics and for the that reason and that reason only, a good choice. When we arrived, our room was infested with termites, the desk staff sent some help with a can of Raid. We insited on a room change, which they did. They put us in an adjoining room promised not to rent the other; 2 hours later we heard our neighbors very clearly.

A better choice would be Moaici da Battiato where we had the best dinner in Silcily. The owner was a wonderful, friendly man who served us a fabulous meal. They have 24 guest rooms and the location is even closer to the Mosaics than Paradiso. Do yourself a favor and stay right there.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

The mosaics at Villa Romana del Casale are truly marvelous, and worth a detour to Piazza Armerina. The location is easy to find from Park Hotel Paradiso, and we were delighted with our spacious room until several tour buses arrived and the noise of rolling luggage carts and click of shoes echoed endlessly down the hallway. Like many Sicilian hotels, the flooring is entirely tile. We also discovered that there was a gap under the doorway to the hall and neighboring room, so that conversation was easily overheard -- not much privacy. The enormous pool was filled with green, totally opaque water, as though the filter system hadn't been working for ages.
We had dinner at Mosaici da Battiato (close by car) to avoid the crowded streets in town, and were rewarded with delicious Sicilian country-style food. I wish we'd known they also rented rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

My guide book stated that this hotel was shortly to be upgraded to four stars but in my view it has some way to go before it deserves that grading. First impressions were not favourable, there was no lighting in the corridor approaching the room and no power in the room itself; an approach to reception resulted in some switching activity and lighting was made available. But no phone; I informed the desk as I left for an evening meal and it was still out of action when I returned after eleven o'clock. There were unterminated wires protruding from a hole in the wall by the lift.
In the bathroom, there was no shelf in the shower, the shower doors were not fitted correctly, no drinking cup in the holder and the toilet roll holder was not assembled. In the room itself there was no waste bin, no writing paper, no hotel information and no TV remote control. The minibar contained one tonic water and one small beer, the door dragged on the floor. The balcony was unswept - there were eight cigarette ends on the floor - and there were rust marks on the tiles from the loungers. There was a hole in the stained upholstery of the settee in the corridor. My companion asked for an iron but it could not be supplied because the key could not be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Paradiso

Address: Contrada da Ramaldo, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Paradiso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Piazza Armerina
Park Hotel Paradiso Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.