We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely modern hotel at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melqart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melqart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melqart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Sciacca
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely modern hotel at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Melqart Hotel is a little gem tucked away near the commercial fishing harbour in Sciacca. It is a brand new building equipped with stylish and modern furniture and fittings. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was for three people and was a good size. Lovely bathroom and shower. The price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
53
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Before travelling to Sciacca I researched several hotel options but am very happy that I chose the Melqart Hotel. Unlike the other hotel that I was mainly considering, the Melqart does not have a pool or sea views, but I was very happy to forgo these two things in exchange for the positive points of the Melqart. The room was modern, with new fixtures, and was very spacious for 3 people. It was very clean and comfortable. We met several staff members, all of whom were very friendly and kind. We found the staff by far more friendly than the any other hotel we stayed in during our time in Sicily. Sciacca also went above and beyond our expectations for the quality of food. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel so much that we extended it by one day. The only thing to be aware of when visiting Sciacca is that there is a good climb of steps from the harbour area to the town level above but it is worth it! I love Sciacca and the Melqart Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The first night we found a hairpin in the shower. Not the end of the world, but someone clearly did not clean well!!! Curtain hang half loose, the plastic card with hotel instructions was broken, instead of filling the tissuebox-holder someone placed 5 tissues in a holder every day! Upon confronting the night guard (and waiter for lunch) conftonting with the whole in the towel he began to shout and threw himsrlf in an anger hardly seen before. Then he threw a dppon in the direction of the hotel tv and agressivy enquired for our room nmbr and rhe nmbr of nights we intended to stay. Even though we were offered apologies next morning we were left in surprise and left (after 4 nights)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Hidden on the habour opposide an empty building lies a fairly newly build hotel "2011" Passing through, we needed a place to stay for the night. The rooms are newly refurbished and in a very good order, the staff were super friendly and helpfull and forthcomming.
We were pleasantly supprised with the state of the hotel - made our stop over in Sciacca more than a stop over. We went out to eat at Resaturant San Paulo - Highly recomended.
all in all - a very good hotel half the price we were paying anywhere else, clean and modern vs romantic and atmosphere. Ok breakfast

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Melqart Hotel in early June and it proved to be one of the most memorable & pleasant hotels we stayed at in Sicily.
Quiet, clean, comfortable, modern amenities with good shower, breakfast, internet and parking availability better than most other hotels we stayed at in Sicily. It is located within a 3 minute walk of a couple of fairly good restaurants. The old town centre is a 10 minute walk away via a couple of long stair ways starting close to the hotel.
Minor negatives were the lighting in the bathroom being a little dim and the hotel lift was slow enough to encourage use of the stairs. (it’s only a two level hotel anyway).
Although we chose a room without a sea view we found the Marqart to be very good value.
- I can’t finish without mentioning the assistance we received from the excellent staff after my wife had sprained her ankle on the long stair way returning from the old town one afternoon. The hotel manager, Piero, helped carry my wife to our room and provided ice for the ankle. Later The next day, receptionist, Ziina, who spoke concise English and Italian, made phone enquires on our behalf to a pharmacy and arranged for her husband to drive me to the pharmacist from whom I bought crutches. Her assistance certainly reduced the pressure from our non-Italian speaking situation. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Sciacca.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This fairly standard hotel was reasonable for the money. It is situated near the port which is one of the more interesting things in Sciacca. The room was clean and large enough, beds reasonably comfortable, so OK. Sea view actually means sea glimpse - not worth any premium. Breakfast was acceptable quality but had a rather poor range of foods on offer. The best thing about the hotel was the charming and helpful receptionist who did her utmost to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After getting lost for what seemed an eternity in the old Arab quarter of San Michele in Sciacca trying to find a B&B it was a pleasure to find this clean, modern and friendly hotel so close to the waterfront and great restaurants. Plenty of free parking outside, good breakfast, good-sized rooms at very reasonable rates and very helpful staff. Can't really ask for much more than that. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed an extra day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melqart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melqart Hotel

Address: Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sciacca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melqart Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELQART HOTEL presents itself along a beautiful stretch of coast on the south-west part of Sicily. Strategically located between the beautiful beaches,harbor,city center and spa facilities. Sciacca is an area of archaeological interest located between the temples of Agrigento and those of Selinunte. The hotel is a modern and welcoming structure, equipped with meeting room, breakfast area cafè area.It's rooms consist of single, twin, double, triple and quadruple rooms, air-conditioning, private bathroom, refrigerator, satellite television, free WI-FI and gives the utmost hospitality and total availability of personnel that will provide comfort and relaxation to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Melqart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melqart Hotel Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melqart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.