We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean quiet, modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melqart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melqart Hotel to your Saves list
Melqart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sciacca
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location, clean quiet, modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Near harbor where there are a couple of good restaurants. Up some steps to main part of town for shopping. Really helpful woman at front desk who speaks good English. Breakfast had greay cappuccino. Cheeses cold meats boiled eggs, fruit. Rooms with good A/C andleasant decor.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the port if you want water view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    65
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
63
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

When we first pulled up the hotel, we were a bit put off by the falling down warehouses across the street and seeming lack of a parking lot. However, once we got inside we realized that the hotel was clean, modern and welcoming (and the desk staff spoke English well). Our room was spacious and even had a balcony. However, due to the heat, we did not get any use out of it. The walls were also a little thin, and we could hear our neighbors at times. The breakfast was very good, although I would recommend getting there early. Although the hotel is located along the waterfront (and not in the old part of the city) the walk up to the town wasn't that bad (it does have a few flights of stairs though). Plus, the hotel is located near some very good seafood restaurants so make sure to take a walk along the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Relatively easy to find and the English speaking receptionist was helpful. Good modern rooms but perhaps a little soulless. Ideal for visiting the afternoon fish market and associated banter and bartering but a steep climb up to the main centre ( limited) shops and most restaurants. I thought it was Ok but wife didn't find it that inviting or comfortable perhaps because very few guests. Breakfasts quite good. Not bad but there may well be better in the town even at this.reasonable price level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visit this hotel in September 2011, the hotel was brandnew and very cozy. My wife liked this hotel that much, that we stayed for an extra day. Very friendly staff indeed and the breakfast, of course.....we were very pleased and definitly we are planning to vist Sciacca again to stay in the same hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms too, as everything is quite new. We stayd in a room with balconi which we used in the morning and evening.
In the room you could hear the neighbours talking and the tv but no noise from the street.
We only had one night because the next day the aircon broke and we did not want to stay because of the heat. The worst thing about this was that no one tould us about the break down, we had to discover it our selves. Further more the hotel at first tryed to get payd for two nights as we moved out in the afternoon.
Except for that the staff was friendly. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at the Melqart Hotel, paying a total of 150 Euros, inclusive of breakfast and taxes. We thought that represented excellent value for money. What will we remember about the hotel? Firstly, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff; and secondly, the wonderful fresh orange juice served at breakfast (the local oranges, from Ribera, are considered to be very superior). The room was small and the lighting a little less than adequate, but it was very clean and well-appointed. The air conditioning worked efficiently, although we had difficulty at first in working out how to adjust it. There was free wi-fi Internet access in the room - a big plus for me. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast very much: it was well above average for an Italian hotel. We had no difficulty in finding free parking spaces outside the hotel.

The hotel is just a stone's throw from the port and there are a number of decent restaurants within easy reach. We would recommend Porto San Paolo (overlooking the harbour) and Gaie di Garaffe, next door to the navy club (the hotel receptionist will tell you how to get there as it's quite difficult to find). Agrigento, with its amazing Greek temples, can easily be visited from Sciacca: it takes less than an hour to drive there. The village of Caltabellotta, perched on a 950 metre high crag, is also well worth a visit. In Sciacca itself, the highlight for us was the Church of Santa Margherita - both its beautiful Renaissance side portal and its breathtaking Baroque interior. be warned that if you don't have your own transport, the climb up to the town centre is a steep and not particularly pleasant one: there is a long flight of steps close to the hotel, but it was littered with broken glass and I wouldn't have wanted to ascend or descend it in the dark.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Melqart warmly and would certainly stay there again if I ever returned to Sciacca, which is a most pleasant resort and spa town, all the better for being slightly off the beaten track. I have to confess that I had never heard of it when I first started planning our itinerary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel seemed to be fairly new. The design is modern and therefore the hotel could be located in any major western city in the world. There is nothing noticeable or special about the place. The room was large, convenient and clean, the bathroom was beautiful, large, modern and clean. The mattresses were excellent. Our room (24) was a bit on the dark side as the window was fairly small. The heating worked well.
The Italians are not big with their breakfast offerings - at least here you had some quality, all was very edible and the selection was satisfactory. Would I stay there again? Yes, anytime, because I believe there are not many other hotels in Sciacca that offer that good of a value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melqart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melqart Hotel

Address: Via Mulini 10-12-14, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sciacca
#4 Family Hotel in Sciacca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melqart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELQART HOTEL presents itself along a beautiful stretch of coast on the south-west part of Sicily. Strategically located between the beautiful beaches,harbor,city center and spa facilities. Sciacca is an area of archaeological interest located between the temples of Agrigento and those of Selinunte. The hotel is a modern and welcoming structure, equipped with meeting room, breakfast area cafè area.It's rooms consist of single, twin, double, triple and quadruple rooms, air-conditioning, private bathroom, refrigerator, satellite television, free WI-FI and gives the utmost hospitality and total availability of personnel that will provide comfort and relaxation to their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melqart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melqart Hotel Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melqart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.