We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf courses, service and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels to your Saves list
Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sciacca
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent golf courses, service and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on a half-board package to play golf every day (the men) and relax (the ladies and children).

Golf Courses - Verdura has 3 courses (2 x 18 and a short 9 hole) which are all in excellent condition. Tee's, greens and fairways are immaculate. I would say that the West course is my favourite as it has more holes that runs along the sea (the last 4 finishing holes are among the best I have played) however it is also the longer course overall and has a stretch of 6 par 4 holes in the middle of the round which to be honest are all too long and are a little forgettable. The East course has several great holes (again by the sea). The greens are fast and very undulated.

Golf facilities - Excellent practice facilities with balls ready to be hit on the (grass) range, great chipping green and putting green. And then there is the excellent 9 hole course as well. Buggy hire is 50 euros a round which i thought was a bit steep, push trolley is 10 euro, electric is 20.

19th hole - Clubhouse has it's own pizzeria and bar, although these were closed in late feb (off season), We went into the hotel bar for a post-round drink where bottles of beer are 5 Euro and a (very good) gin & tonic cost 15 euro...(expensive yes, but very nice with several gins on offer!)

Hotel - Genuine 5 star resort. Staff excellent, accommodating and will go out of their way to please, say hello (they all remember your name) or try to help in anyway. Rooms had every convenience (apart from a kettle...when I asked for coffee making facilities a nespresso machine was brought to the room immediately which was nice). Also a toddler robe was put in our room for our 3 year old, very cute!

Several pools and very good spa and gym. Is very good value for money on a half-board rate in the off season, but in summer when you're paying for meals this place would get very expensive - a 3 course meal in the excellent restaurants cost on average at least 50 euro EACH person (NOT including drinks). So half board is great value as you get a great breakfast and 3 course evening meal. They also did not charge for toddlers at all.

Location - is 90 min from Palermo airport - you need to hire a car as it is in the middle of nowhere. Nearest town is 15 min drive away. Is easy to find however.

Generally you are made to feel very welcome here and yet there is an air of exclusivity also. We felt like we had private use of the golf courses at times and also the spa!

Room Tip: All the rooms point towards the sea but some have better views of the golf course and the sea itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    117
    43
    22
    9
See reviews for
120
196
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 22/23/24/25 February having won a competition with Today's Golfer. What can I say, this is a great place to come if you enjoy golf and your partner likes to use a Spa but isn't in to golf. The East and West courses are excellent, quite testy when the wind blows and the location is so peaceful and relaxing. Rooms are too a very high standard with all the usual mod cons, My room looked out across the sea, which I think I would be right in saying that so do the rest. Food was very good. Service from the staff was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and everything was dealt with a smile. If you fancy a top quality resort for 3 to 7 days with a bit of golf/spa treatments/relaxation , then this is the place to come.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I escaped Milan for a 3 day Winter vacation. It was my 3rd time there, and so far the best. Now that prices are lower, this place cannot be missed: if you buy a package it's a steal. The 2 golf courses are great, the rooms very nice and comfortable, the food very good. The wine list is wide, but overpriced. Service better than in the past. I hope to go back soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment we arrived we realised we were in complete luxury! Our room was absolutely lovely with a sea view from the balcony. The whole package was wonderful from the bed which was so comfortable to the bathroom and the shower which was truly amazing. We had free wifi, not fast speed but it was free and it did the job allowing me to skype my daughters back in England. The cleanliness of the rooms were impeccable with fresh sheets, towels and robes every morning and a turn-down in the evening with candles in the bathroom. The head of housekeeping obviously works very hard to make sure she keeps this 5* hotel in the style and cleanliness that is expected.

We hired a car whilst we were there and this was parked for us with suitcases taken to our room on arrival and collected whenever we needed it. The breakfast was lovely and fresh every morning with ample variety to please any palette. We took advantage of all the facilities, amazing state of the art gym, wonderful steam/sauna rooms and the hydra pools outside was an experience we will never forget. All in all this is a trip to Sicily we will cherish which is exactly what we wanted as it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: Balcony with a sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Verdura, Direttore generale at Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Avola,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent stay at the Verdura Golf & Spa Resort.
I am very pleased that you met your expectations and appreciated the facilites, especially for the compliments extended to the housekeeping department.

As we always strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests, I am very proud to read that you evaluated many areas of our Resort as amazing. Thus, I will share your comments with my whole team as they are always thankful for constructive feedback.

I trust you have taken back home pleasant memories of your vacation with you and I would be delighted to personally assist you when you decide to come back to Sicily and the Verdura Resort for an even more unforgettable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Felipe P. Espinoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and were upgraded upon arrival. Our room was comfortable, well appointed, with a private terrace and sea view and a great bathroom. Free wifi was available in the room (not high speed). Surprisingly for such a resort, we could hear everything that was going on in the adjecent rooms (conversations, children crying, high heels, chairs being moved around, neighbours greeting friends, etc). We were next to a suite with dining facilities and the noise was non stop in the evening. My husband loved the golf and played every day. The beautiful spa and in doors pool are accessible to children and teenagers which makes it less relaxing as one would expect. The staff was altogether very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms next to large suites with dining facilities are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location Is amazing. Resort, golf courses, Sea, spa....The best. Prices are Crazy. SERVICE Is nothing. Food to be italy Is nothing again. People working Here sleep (in an amazing Place!), they do nothing to help you. A room For 700 euros per night And you Have to pay wifi! Are you kidding me?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in November for our honeymoon and the service was perfect. The sommelier Nando Papa took us on a great wine tour to Di Giovanna (great wine at great prices) and the hotel's cooking course is highly recommended!! The food was very good and wine. There was also a lot to do, the spa was incredible and everyone was so friendly... even the gardeners stopped work and smiled when you walked past! Definitely recommended for a quiet break off peak. We heard in July-August it was full of young families but it was very chilled out in November.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels

Address: Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#2 Business Hotel in Sciacca
#2 Family Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the warmth, passion and beauty of Sicily, Verdura Golf & Spa Resort is a five-star destination for an unforgettable holiday experience. It is the first resort in the Rocco Forte Hotels, and takes our trademark Art of Simple Luxury to an outstanding new level. Just 203 rooms are set amid 230 hectares of beautiful Sicilian countryside, providing the rare luxury of exclusive privacy and space.Make the most out of your holiday in Sicily and live a collection of exclusive once in a lifetime experiences: simple luxury resort in-line with the Sicilian tradition, unique archaeological sites, unforgettable dinners under the stars by Fulvio Pierangelini, a world-renowned name in the culinary set, an award winning spa, a unique golf destination and world-class tennis and golf tuitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf And Spa Resort
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf Hotel Sciacca
Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdura Resort - Rocco Forte Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.