We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real hospitality from a team who are not employees, but artists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verdura Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Verdura Resort to your Saves list
Verdura Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Real hospitality from a team who are not employees, but artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It starts with the security post at the entrance who in an extremely kind way explains you the (complicate and long) road of access to the reception. It continues with the doorman who takes the key of your car and the receptionist who will get seated with you at the lobby bar for check in. These Italians are just born for the hospitality industry, they practice it as a form of art and at Verdura they excel.

Staying at Verdura one asks himself why bother with Asia where communication is always a hassle (here everybody speaks also perfectly english) or North America where probably you would have to pay an exorbitant resort fee..

The design of Olga Polizzi is ecclectic and softly matching with the environment. Rooms are of an extreme comfort and you can sleep the window open with mosquito net screens coming down by a push of a button. The Ortigia bath products are to die for - I took them all with me.

The grounds are spectacular and must be a paradise for golfers. But also people coming for fine dining are well catered for. Ex-celebrity chef Fulvio Pierangelini is overseeing the restaurants and the wine list (attended by a fantastic sommelier) is big with some good value for money picks.

I would avoid the "Torre" restaurant for dinner as it is a little bit too casual and tends to attract families with children who are certainly very happy there.

There was a major presentation of the completely un-ecological new Jeep Cherokee during our stay and they catered to this group without the other guests noticing anything which is a very strong point. They are good in managing a quite big resort like it would be a small Amanresorts.

There is a huge cold outdoor swimming pool, but also four heated outside thermal bath and a heated 25 metres indoor pool.

You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: Going for a superior deluxe room you will be in the one storey building nearer to the sea and have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    138
    48
    26
    11
See reviews for
142
249
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The staff is attentive. The rooms are fabulous. The paths between the buildings (the resort is in a number of structures, spread over a number of acres facing the sea) are a bit rough and really dark at night. One of our group mounted one of the provided bicycles to ride back from dinner along the path and ended up in the hospital and evacuated home because of injuries when he hit a pothole and did a face plant on the path. Lovely place, just be careful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Highly recommended, even for non-golfers (like me). There was real warmth in the welcome we received from everyone - I don't know how they keep morale so high amongst the staff...maybe the top class food, good climate, magnificent views and so forth help a little. Nothing is too much trouble , particularly for the guys on the front desk, the upstairs bar and the two Angelas from the Mini Club, who are great people.

Room Tip: I really couldn't see a difference...they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights in April at the Verdura Spa Resort to relax after a hectic few months. We were very impressed with the staff who were always genuinely helpful and cheerful. The Resort is designed with ecology and nature in mind. From our room we had nothing grass (and a golf hole) between us and the Mediterranean. The food was of a high standard. The spa treatments we had were among the best we have had anywhere - the staff are to be commended. For non-golfers who need to unwind this is a wonderful place to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and our 2 year old travelled with Scott Dunn to Sicily. The hotel was splendid and the facilities were first class. We would recommend and return! There were some areas for improvement but not deal breakers Wifi nneds to be free and €5 to watch an old film is just mean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco, Monaco, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just spent a week with our three children over Easter holidays and could not have had a better stay. I had heard about the hotel from friends who gave me mixed reviews. I can only rate this an absolutely top-rated hotel and resort for perfect relaxation with plenty of possibilities to do sports (golf, tennis, great gym) and beach lounging weather permtting.

Our children (aged 12, 9, 3) loved the resort as there was something for each of them. The kids club is very good although make sure there is critical mass when you go to ensure activities take place.

Rent a buggy for EUR 20/day so you can whizz around the resort as it's vast. The tennis academy is excellent and the coaches are very good, especially Marco. There is a free driving range, worth hitting a few balls even if you're not a bog golfer. There is even a professional football pitch where the German national team trained before the World Cup in South Africa.

The quality of the rooms if truly 5-star with nice amenities throughout. You have the choice of ground floor and first floor rooms. On balance, I'd prefer the ground floor ones as you can walk right out onto the grass. Perfect for children.

The fields were full of wild flowers and orange trees. Everywhere you went, you could see and hear a variety of birds - as a budding ornithologist, I loved that aspect.

On the negative side, I found the food options a little limited on the resort. The formal restaurant perhaps a little too formal for my taste. The spa gets great reviews and the massage treatments are really excellent. I signed up for a 3 day detox treatment and that was nothing special and overpriced. If you want detox, you need to go to the Henri Chenot center at the Palace Hotel in Merano.

Crowd was a mix of Germans, Brits, French, Indians and locals. All in all, I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor have direct access to garden but first floor perhaps quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My second time at Rocco Forte's Verdura golf resort. Both hotel and golf course easily the best in Sicily. Two 18 holes and one 9 hole really satisfy any golfer's needs. The hotel is very well managed, the staff is very attentive to whatever you need. The room is first class, comfortable bed and great bathroom. Oh and the Spa is superb. It is indeed a pity that all this is spoiled by the need to charge a mean €20 per day for WiFi in spite of the 5 star prices ( that you expect) that the hotel charges for room and services.

Hotels at this level should include WiFi in their rate. When I complained to the manager I received an apology and was told that Rocco Forte insists that all his hotels charge for this service. This is a ridiculous policy in 2013. I may choose another hotel in future if I go back to Sciacca to play golf.

Room Tip: Consider using data roaming if you need to download your mail while staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verdura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdura Resort

Address: Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
#2 Family Hotel in Sciacca
#2 Business Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Verdura Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the warmth, passion and beauty of Sicily, Verdura Resort is a five-star destination for an unforgettable holiday experience. It is the first resort in the Rocco Forte Hotels, and takes our trademark Art of Simple Luxury to an outstanding new level. Just 203 rooms are set amid 230 hectares of beautiful Sicilian countryside, providing the rare luxury of exclusive privacy and space.Make the most out of your holiday in Sicily and live a collection of exclusive once in a lifetime experiences: simple luxury resort in-line with the Sicilian tradition, unique archaeological sites, unforgettable dinners under the stars by Fulvio Pierangelini, a world-renowned name in the culinary set, an award winning spa, a unique golf destination and world-class tennis and golf tuitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Venere, Priceline, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Verdura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf Hotel Sciacca
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf And Spa Resort
Verdura Resort Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verdura Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.