We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verdura in October 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verdura Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Verdura Resort to your Saves list
Verdura Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Verdura in October 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days in early October at Verdura golf and spa resort in Sicily.
Part of the Rocco Forte chain this resort is definitely worth a visit. The resort offers 2 different golf courses ( east and west ), both are well kept and challenging due to strong winds. The golf and driving range are well run with good instructors available.
The spa at Verdura is probably the best I have seen. (See and experience it to believe it). There is a lovely relaxation area within the spa to relax and wind down after a round of golf.
The food at the restaurants was very good, but the waiters did not speak good English which sometimes made ordering and dining difficult. Breakfasts were excellent. The resort offers a bike scheme where guests ride within the resort. So this is not suitable for the less mobile traveller, but for the active it's a treat. A lovely holiday, thank you Verdura.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely hotel set in a beautiful, tranquil setting. Perfect for families looking for a safe and friendly environment. The staff on the whole were helpful and very friendly. There were lots of children buzzing around but it was never overkill. The balance and space around the two main pools was perfect.
Lovely clean and contemporary rooms, great facilities, lots of bikes around to get up and go as you wanted around the resort.
The Spa was blissful I probably had the best massage I have ever had (a few times). The whole experience was very relaxing for us as a family.
The children enjoyed the kids club which they went to a few times, and good facilities for teenagers too.
The beach was clean and although not the best beach in the world was lovely and quite adequate.
The only downside was the cost of eating at the resort. it was really very expensive average £150 per evening meal and about £70 for a lunch for two adults and two children. We hired a car anyway as we like to explore and so we ate some evenings at the two nearest towns and some beach restaurants where the cost was much more realistic. The local food was fantastic. I love Sicily, beautiful, unspoilt, authentic and lots of opportunity to enjoy the local culture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I just spent three days at the resort over the New Year, with my wife & three boys (6-12). It was an all around excellent experience enjoyed by all five of us. In particular, I felt the hotel was incredibly welcoming to children (genrally Italy is a great place to ravel with small children), and the staff was excellent (helpful, positive, energetic). By way of example, when we checked in there was some confusion about the types of rooms we requested and needed. The front desk was attentive and addressed the issue immediately, and without any problems. The quality of the food was very good (frequently not the case at a golf resort). The only small issue was that I did not feel the bed was particularly comfortable. Finally, there are very worthwhile things to see and do off the resort if one is inclined.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYCinBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been fortunate to stay often at this resort and it is an incredible experience. The location is unbelievably beautiful, the staff is friendly, super efficient and helpful. the spa offers a true and unique spa experience. the restaurants are varied (i prefer the Liola restaurant - food is consistently wonderful and servers are attentive & fun - especilally Sal - make sure to ask for him!). The rooms are very spacious and modern with a lot of natural light. This is where you go for a break from reality when you need to relax and be pampered!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NKreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed there in Oct. 25th for 3 nights.......it was amazing! I had to remind myself when I looked out at the ocean that it wasn't Hawaii. The food and wine is excellent and the rooms are quite large. It's the kind of place to go to when you have been to Italy multiple times and are looking for something new and different. The golf course and spa are extraordinary. You can do a day trip to Agrigento. We hired a car and guide to Palermo for the day. It was well worth it and a wonderful day.....olive groves and grapes being picked on the way.....beautiful scenery.
I would go there again and use it as a base and do other day trips between relaxing at the infinity pool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Verdura is tucked away on its own peninsula, only an hour from Palermo airport. It offers an array of super activities to keep the whole family happy. From tots to teens kids clubs. From brilliantly organised golf and tennis clubs to an array of water sports. And a wonderful spa full of pampering treatments. There are 3 restaurants which provides a good amount of variety, but you may find you want more variety after a weeks stay so a trip to the local restaurants is also a good idea. The a la carte in the hotel can make it pricey so a half or full board option is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burmadutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

went there to try a new spot for very inconvenient half term in uk schools. was very pleased with everything but the weather. Service, spa and food are excellent and rooms are great.
especially if you are a golf fanatic

Room Tip: beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruslan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sciacca
118.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
119.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#11 of 68 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
108.4 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#3 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.8 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
26.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra
Hotel Costazzurra
#1 of 3 in San Leone
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
115.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 68 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdura Resort

Address: Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Family Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Verdura Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the warmth, passion and beauty of Sicily, Verdura Resort is a five-star destination for an unforgettable holiday experience. It is the first resort in the Rocco Forte Hotels, and takes our trademark Art of Simple Luxury to an outstanding new level. Just 203 rooms are set amid 230 hectares of beautiful Sicilian countryside, providing the rare luxury of exclusive privacy and space.Make the most out of your holiday in Sicily and live a collection of exclusive once in a lifetime experiences: simple luxury resort in-line with the Sicilian tradition, unique archaeological sites, unforgettable dinners under the stars by Fulvio Pierangelini, a world-renowned name in the culinary set, an award winning spa, a unique golf destination and world-class tennis and golf tuitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Verdura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf Hotel Sciacca
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf And Spa Resort
Verdura Resort Sciacca, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing