We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks a Lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colle del Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Colle del Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Indipendenza, 63, 70111 Alberobello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Alberobello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks a Lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Plan was to stay here just for one night on my way to the south but the dinner was so yummy and the room so comfortable and good value for money that changed my mind and stayed for a second night. The hotel is a family run business and all the staff was always minded to share stories and suggestions with me and the other travelers. Everything is made to let clients feel very welcome.

Unfortunately came during the winter time cause the open air swimming pool seems to be a wicked way to spend a hot summer afternoon.

As rooms are no smoking remember to ask for a room with balcony if you are a smoker like me.

Don’t forget to try the tiramisù at the restaurant, one of the best ever had in Italy!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ColledelSole, Direttore at Hotel Colle del Sole, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Jack, thanks so much for your comments. Even if you couldn’t see Alberobello and the Trulli with the snow as you were hoping I’m happy you had a good time with us and we all hope that you’ll be our guest again, maybe during the summer season in order to enjoy our open air swimming pool!
I’ll pass your positive comments to our chef that will be very happy that you consider his tiramisù the best ever had in Italy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's the location, just an easy 10 min walk to the trulli but with the chance to park for free your car right in front of the entrance. For us that we used Alberobello as a base for our explorations of this beautiful area (don’t miss Ostuni and Matera, they really worth it!) this was definitely a plus.

The room was great, spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. You have a good strength wifi both in the rooms and common areas but there a not computers for guests at the lobby so you need to have your own laptop or smartphone.

Staff was friendly and helpful, we were helped with suggestions on restaurants and itineraries and they were all precise and exact.

Happy to recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_ColledelSole, Direttore at Hotel Colle del Sole, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mrs Achsa, thanks so much for your comments. We love our region and we are happy and proud that you have a good time at our hotel and also exploring the surrounding area. We always do our best to help guests to have memorable vacations and we are happy that our suggestions were useful. Of course we would be definitely honored to receive you or your friends again as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

this was lovely little hotel room was clean and tidy the staff were very helpfull and friendly .the hotel was just a few minutes walk from the town witch was very pretty with its many trullies witch are beautifull little buildings some have been turned into reasturants but have not been changed from there original form .the breakfest was good and the evening meals in the reasturant was verey good just what we were looking for real italian food made with locale ingrediants .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We'd read a couple of not so good reviews before going to this hotel, so were very pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. Very spacious room in a block overlooking the swimming pool, with air conditioning, modern bathroom and clean white towels every day. The food was very typical Italian, with local specialities, and delicious, served with some excellent local wine. Why someone would complain about getting pasta in Italy is beyond me! All of the staff were courteous, helpful and very friendly - nothing was too much bother. The hotel is conveniently located a short stroll from the centre of Alberobello, so if you're looking for a very good budget priced hotel, I'd definitely recommend Hotel Colle del Sole.

Room Tip: Not so sure what the rooms in the main hotel are like, but I would recommend the new blocks overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of our first package holiday [withTravelsphere], travelling with 40 other people from several local wine societies, many of whom we knew.
Our holiday coincided with a 5 day festival so Alberobello was bursting with life. The downside was that there was travelling fair outside the hotel for several nights. The noise was rather intrusive, as was some road noise, but was worth it for the added colour.
The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful, without exception. No request was too much trouble and their English was far better than my Italian.
The wine list was superb. Mostly local wines of good quality [and our group is not easy to please] many of which were less than 10 euros a bottle !!!!!!!!
We were so impressed that we invited the hotel to arrange an addiitonal wine tasting for the group. This was a high spot of the whole week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex. These are very new, well equipped, spacious and all overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Although the front of this hotel doesn't look very inviting, we had a very pleasant surprise when we went inside. We were in a spacious room in the new block and found it to be very modern, clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the pool which was very enjoyable after a hot day out on trips.The food was delicious and every night we had 4 courses of local food washed down with a glass of their regional wine. No fish or chips in sight ,thank goodness. The staff were always helpful and cheerful. There is a road behind the new block but with air-conditioning and double glazing it had little impact on us. The position of this hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the centre of the Trulli houses. Make sure you visit the Thursday Market as it is in all the streets of the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week as a central base to discover Puglia.

The position of the hotel is at a noisy intersection opposite the bus station but it is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of the trullis in Alberobello village.
There is no village ambience at all.

There are no views at all - we were allocated a room in the new annexe at the rear and were lucky to have a low floor room at the hotel end which meant we had several thick walls as insulation against the noise of the road.
Other guests staying in 1st floor rooms or at the 'top end' suffered dreadfully with room noise.

Room is spacious and extremely clean with fresh linen every day. The bathroom is also well fitted, clean and spacious. The shower is rather old fashioned (for a new annexe) with sort of corrugated folding screen.

We expected better than curtains over the wardrobe space and there are no drawers at all.
Towels are adequate - a bit thin but large enough.
Bed is very large and extremely comfortable - though the grey shiny 'bedspread' is possibly the strangest ever seen.
We had a view of the pool and a balcony and a door which doubled as a window.

(Not all rooms have a balcony)

There are a lot of steps around the complex - some without hand rails.

The staff were very friendly but they haven't quite 'got it' with what discerning holidaymakers want.

Take your own pool towel or use your shower towel. There is also a gangly youth who acts as the 'pool police' forcing people to have a shower even if they have only just got out of the pool and are going back in again!
Mature much-travelled holidaymakers do not like being publicly berated by someone barely out of short trousers & with such a surly expression.

There are only 8 loungers and 4 recliner chairs - woefully inadequate and led to tantrums while we were there. Someone put their stuff on a lounger and went off to change into swimwear and within less than 2 minutes someone came along and chucked their stuff off and claimed their lounger.
During the late afternoon one hardly dare go in the pool for fear of losing the lounger :-(
Not good at all.

Meals are from choices on a set menu - woefully out of date and quite ridiculous to see waiters walking around haphazardly plonking plates down on any random table. One night the choice was pork stew or ham omelette........erm therefore pork or pork.......and pasta pasta pasta........
They will serve an alternative but it takes some doing. Vegetarians are a complete mystery in this hotel. They seem to stick pork in everything :-(

Quite why this hotel don't have a buffet and let guests help themselves instead of having a rigid sit down time of 7.30pm is beyond me. And don't expect to get served at 7.30 - that is drink ordering time. One night the first plate of pasta didn't leave the kitchen until 8.10pm :-(
Personally we thought the food was repetitive and uninspiring and had we not paid half board we would never have eaten in there again after the first evening. The service was desperately slow, the portions extremely small, very little in the way of vegetables (despite a market FULL of wonderful fruit & veg!) and huge long waits between courses.

The chairs are very small seated and uncomfortable and prepare to be sat on them for 2 hours or so.
We also had to sit with random strangers as it was not possible to have a table for two. Luckily we palled up with 3 other couples and tried to keep our table for 8 to ourselves.....it didn't always work.

I am sure there must be better places to stay in Alberobello where there are more sunbeds, a quieter location, pool towels, a varied a la carte menu or buffet and no pool police.

In summary: it was very clean, it was noisy near the road and the entire dining room situation needs a total rethink.

Would I go there again? No I don't think so on balance.
Would I recommend it? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colle del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle del Sole

Address: Via Indipendenza, 63, 70111 Alberobello, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Alberobello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alberobello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alberobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colle del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colle del Sole, opened in August 1982 by the DE CARLO Family, is located in a semi-central position,at only 500 metres far from the two main Trullo's zones, called 'Aia Piccola' and ' Rione Monti'. Since December 1996, they have been accredited patrimony of UNESCO World Heritage. The city centre is very easy to reach, either by car or on foot. Facing the Hotel, there is an ample parking for cars, coaches and motorcycles. The Hotel has room, all tastefully furnished in a modern style and equipped with all the comforts, assuring an excellent stay for all the guests. The Hotel's communal areas, as the the bar, the restaurant founded in 1996, the garden, the wine bar/shop 'Mangiare Bere d Vino' and the meeting room, have been designed with the well being of our guests as a main priority. The last modifications to the Hotel date back to the 2013 with the opening of the open air swimming pool, situated in the garden which covers an area of approximately 1000 square metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colle del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colle Del Sole Alberobello
Hotel Colle Del Sole Alberobello, Italy - Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.