We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Guercio

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Guercio
largo Martellotta, 70011 Alberobello, Italy
+39 080 4321816
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 68 Restaurants in Alberobello
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pizza with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to this restaurant for a lunchtime pizza - we were not expecting haute cuisine, so we were very happy with what we had. We had a lovely view over the trullis and our pizzas were excellent. A tip - even if it is not on the menu - try asking if there is vino della casa - we did and a 1/2 litre of local wine only cost €4.50 whilst bottles were a good €10 more. Only downside - the knifes were just not sharp enough!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    98
    54
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had dinner at the Guercio and was not very impressed. We decided to eat here since we saw the good reviews and thought that they would have delicious pizza and fish. The terrace is very overcrowded and loud, many families with small children visit the restaurant so it is not ideal if you wish to spend a quiet relaxing dinner. Being so crowded also means that the service is not very fast and the food is mediocre.
We decided to have a fish starter followed by a pizza. The fish starter was not bad, the pizza on the other hand was tasteless: not enough salt, undercooked. It also took me a long time to digest my meal which makes me think thatb everything was a bit heavy as I had not eaten THAT much.
The view over the Trulli is cute but I believe that the view and garden terrace do not make up for the rest

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puglia, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Sadly declining but Pizza still good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant a number of times and each time I seem to have a complaint. In future I will only return for Pizza. The menu food particularly meat is of poor quality, myself and friend both had steak, Tagilata and entrecôte, both tough, fatty and grizzly and very little meat. The patate al forno was at least a day maybe 2 days old, dry and tasteless. On complaining we were offered another meal when we refused a €6 was reduced from the bill. Not good enough and this is the last time I will order anything but pizza at this restaurant. There is no love or care in the kitchen. The pizza's are cooked by a different person and in a pizza oven.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We only had pizza but it was one of the best we ever tasted. If you're at Alberobello and feel like a good Italian pizza, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turistic not so special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The restaurant has a nice terrace with a nice view on the older part of trulli (qurtiere monti). Most of the customers are turists so the menu. The price are a bit expensive from the quality of the food . We ordered medium dine steakes which Rrived overdone. One of the daughter ordered chips instead of salad and they never arrived. The cost for the "coperto" (table setting, that you cannot avoid) is 2 euro per person. We also ordered red wine , but thw waitress brought a rose wine. After some clarification she checked and then she said the wine we ordered was finished so she suggested another expencive type. The restaurant is ok , but if you want something closer to the italian way you should take a walk in the old area of trulli and find something more typical .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Guercio also viewed

 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Guercio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Il Guercio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.