We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in a perfect town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carla to your Saves list
Hotel Carla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Martiri della Liberta 28, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place in a perfect town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in late June 2012. We found it on Trip Advisor, and are just so pleased with going with this choice. Valentina (receptionist/host) was exceptional at her job. She was not only good at her job, but so full on good advice on the area. My friend and I were so please with everything. The room, the breakfast, staff - everything. I could go on and on, but really go and find out for yourself. We would go back there today if we could. Levanto is just such a beautiful part of Cinque Terre. Thanks so much to Valentina and the whole of the staff. We hope to see you again. Flora and Vicki, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel in May, 2012. We had trouble connecting to make reservations, based on Rick Steves' recommendations, due to the continued damage throughout the various towns in Cinque Terre. Thankfully, we found Hotel Carla on Trip Advisor. What a charming, modern and gracious hotel this is and the front desk staff were exceptional. They have a nice bar and outdoor terrace to sit and enjoy a Campari or a glass of wine. The rooms are nice and roomy. The beachfront is a close walk, good location and short walk to the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel. Although no structure parking, the hotel makes accommodations for your car, plus you really don't need it until you leave. Nice dining room, provides breakfast and if you want to also have dinner, you can make your reservation in the morning.

The Piazza also serves great burgers (if seeking something else), and we managed to hit a weekend market in the Levanto Piazza that had great items to add to the suitcase!!!

Again, not sure why the beds in Italy are all uncomfortable. No reflection on Hotel Carla - it just seemed to be our experience in all the hotels we stayed..........

Room Tip: Highly recommend a GPS system to drive around Italy......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Carla for three nights while visiting the Cinque Terre. From the moment we arrived, we had exceptional service. A lovely boutique hotel. They went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. We had a delicious dinner in their dinning room, the room was clean and well organized. Small but efficient....Very nice bath room. Enjoyed drinks in the afternoon in the bar. A computer was also available for the guests. The hotel is within walking distance to the train and the central part of the town. We did not have to get in the car the entire time we were there. We also enjoyed Levanto; they have a lovely beach and nice parks. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

New or recently refurbished and run directly by the lovely owners, this hotel is a great place to be when visiting the cinque terre region. Very good rooms, nice services and even great (and cheap) food. Levanto is also a nice city to be explored and that can fit all tastes: from beach lovers to trekking adventurers. Do not let go exploring the bike track to Framuro that goes through an ald train tunnel carved on the rocks close to the Mediterranean sea!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Carla not only met, but exceeded our expectations as a comfortable place from which to explore the Cinque Terre. The rooms are small but comfortable. If you aren't comfortable with the smallishness of European hotel rooms, request the larger rooms that are available and poke your head in a standard room while you're there.... You now see that it was money well spent. There is a market a few steps away to help you provision for your day or your evening picnic on the front patio. Valentina was absolutely the best in regards to helping decide on your itinerary, if you are in doubt. The train is an easy and short walk from the hotel, as is the rest of Levanto and the shore, though the beach is probably 10-15 min walk away. Not only would I not hesitate to stay again, I look forward to returning. The air conditioning was great and the windows/ patio doors were very effective at blocking the sounds of the motor bikes below on the street.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Hotel Carla is a gem of modern design in an area that has a lot of traditional places. The lobby is gorgeous and the room was also very slick if a bit small, but it had a tiny balcony which was nice. The street is very noisy with a high school across the street, but with the windows closed, it wasn’t bad and with the great shades, it was possible to get a good night sleep without waking up too early from the morning light. Breakfast was very nice and the staff was friendly. If you are touring the Cinque Terre area for a few days, this could make a great home base. Whether you’re doing it by car or by train (we did both), it’s a good pick.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Being as we had limited time in the area we chose this hotel based on the fact it's in between Cinque Terre and Portofino... and we couldn't have been happier! The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly (even sending us a complimentary bottle of Champagne to celebrate our honeymoon), the rooms are comfortable beyond words and the hotel is impeccably clean. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carla

Address: Via Martiri della Liberta 28, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#6 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carla 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carla Hotel Levanto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.