We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around is a charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Stella Maris to your Saves list
Hotel Stella Maris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 4, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Palm Beach Gardens
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second time around is a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited Levanto about 12 years ago, and returned because we were so charmed by this part of Italy. Stayed here then, too. A beautiful fully restored baroque mansion, with artistry on the ceilings, great food, etc., etc. Adorable little city to wander both day and night, and a really nice beach. Can also catch the train to Cinqueterre if you'd wish to make this town your base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    6
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the second visit in two years in Levanto. We stayed room 3 just in front of the kitchen(room 4 is next room as well). Until the late night time, grill smell in the room cause of the poor ventilation. Also room AC is fixed to 21 so not adjustable. No cordless wife in the room. Breakfast is also not well. But the most important point is that the the fruit service is finished before the the breakfast ends, friendly italian lady just says "oooo sorry finished." Only the the location is unbeateble. Maybe cause of the location, hotel does not pay attention all the other things. This is not fair for the customers. Garden is also just the bar and not suitable and comfortable for the hotel visitors. The last point is that room was not cleaned properly. The bottom of the beds and the corners of the room are so dirty. People at the hotel are just bored, tired.

Room Tip: please skip room no 3 and 4 cause of the kitchen/cooking smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Levanto hotels

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everyone was warm and welcoming at Hotel Stella Maris, and it's so close to the sea, wonderful restaurants, and a beautiful park! The room was clean but super small, which wasn't really a problem since we were hardly there (and our teens are pretty easy going, though their beds were a just average.) We decided not to dine there (though the menu looks great!) but the garden is a welcoming, quiet, and lovely place to have breakfast or dinner. The staff was also really helpful with helping to make sense of our train reservations out of there and the cleaning woman was delighted when we told her she did't need to bother cleaning our room in between our check-in and departure. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 days in Levanto and stayed in Stella Maris - a fabulous place decorated in baroque style. The staff were incredibly helpful, courteous and professional. On our last day we asked for a 6.15 wake-up call, and thinking that we would be leaving on a very early train - we found a note under our door the next morning thanking us for staying with them and informing us that they packed a breakfast for us (left in the dining room on the table), assuming that we would be leaving before breakfast time. A real touch of class from the General manager! We will recommend this place in a heart beat to those who are thinking of visiting Cinque Terre. Even though the five historic villages are charming and lovely, I would rather be in the comfort of the Stella Maris and take an easy train ride into the cities daily - which is what we did.

Room Tip: We were booked for a standard room but they graciously put us in a superior room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This cute boutique hotel (you wouldn't know it was a hotel as it is located in the same building as apartments!) is a wonderful find. The rooms are decorated in baroque style with very high ceilings which are painted in beautiful fresco art. The staff are wonderful - the breakfast is great, and the location is superb. Excellent value. I would go back to this hotel without hesitation. Highly recommended! We had room 3 (I think there are only 5 or 6 anyway) and it was like staying in someones (luxurious) home..go - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There was no fitness centre or swimming pool - so unable to rate properly. All rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. It's more like a B&B than a hotel. Very clean, staff helpful, breakfast good however very "Italian". Centrally located and easy to walk to both harbour and train. Two minor complaints:even although we were the only guests staying for the entire week, we were in the smallest room and wifi would be a great addition to our comfort. Yes there is cable Internet but when you are on a long trip and there are 2 people wifi makes a huge difference. Overall - very good. Recommendations for restaurants were spot on - thank you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Centrally located but no lift to first floor reception and the hotel - would have been impossible for me to carry my case up the steep staircase without the help of the receptionist. Spent 2 nights there and taken aback by the dark oppressive room - seemed more like a pet project to showcase antique furnishing by the owner rather than a professionally run hotel. The hotel was preoccupied with a wedding being held in the gardens the second night so breakfast was not served there. Breakfast was poor in the extreme - on a buffet was a cornucopia of little jars of preserves and packeted slices of cake and little else. There was no bread, no rolls, no fruit. The receptionist/waitress said "scrambled egg is possible" and one scrambled egg on the plate with nothing else was exactly what arrived. Ironic, as there was a large kitchen where staff were preparing extensive food for the wedding. The wedding was overpoweringly noisy that night outside our window but thankfully finished at midnight. Mixed opinions on the staff - one delightful and helpful receptionist, another more off-hand who was manning the switchboard and also had to be asked to make us coffees for our breakfast. Overall, would definitely not stay there again nor recommend - I prefer a more professionally run hotel for that price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Address: Via Marconi 4, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Levanto located between Cinque Terre and Portofino on the first floor (no elevator) of Vannoni Palace welcomes you to the warm atmosphere of the hotel de charme Stella Maris.the hotel has beautiful rooms, frescoed ceilings, antique furniture, snow-white lace curtains will satisfy the aesthetic taste of the most demanding without depriving the modern comforts. Want all the comforts of our sweet home, forget the stress of daily rhythms, be pampered ... The owner and staff will be working for the dream goes beyond expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.