We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Villanova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agriturismo Villanova to your Saves list
Agriturismo Villanova
Loc. Villanova, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here and took the train each day to the Cinque Terra villages. It was wonderful coming back to the green, open space after trekking through the busy villages each day. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, especially Alberto. The breakfasts can't be beat, and the showers were the best we had in Italy. We enjoyed having common areas to share with other guests, and had a ball with our "neighbors" from the U.K. and Germany. The cooking classes hosted by Alberto were excellent. Thanks JeanCarlo and Alberto for a great stay!!

Room Tip: We asked for airconditioning. The farmhouse up the hill from the main building was all aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a lovely time. Bored of characterless hotels we were pleased to find Villanova charming and more authentic situated away from the crowds in a tranquil location. Alberto was always helpful and seemed to be on hand for 12 hours in the day - not sure when he ever got to go home! The room was lovely with great views, breakfast was extensive and eating out on the terrace every morning was a treat. Would recommend hiring bikes and cycling through the old tunnels to Framura and Bonasola. As it is situated out of levanto we think having a car is helpful but if you want to walk it's not that far to the edge of town although there is no pavement on the main road down and in the dark a torch is handy. Still we walked every evening as the food and wine made the walk worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Location: Very Convenient
-perfect "base camp" for exploring Cinque Terre and surrounding area
-nestled in the hills a five minute drive or twenty minute walk (brisk pace) from Levanto
-Levanto has a great beach, restaurants, shops, access to hiking trails, and train station
-you can hike from Levanto to the nearest village of Cinque Terre, Monterosso, in roughly 2.5 hours
-you must have a car to reach the hotel
Rooms: Comfortable enough
-apartments and regular rooms available
-look just like they do on the website
-dog friendly
-the apartments have very small kitchens
-very clean
-beds are quite uncomfortable, the pillows and the bed were just too stiff for our liking
Service: Excellent
-very friendly and helpful, offered recommendations for hiking and restaurants in Levanto
-we love the dog, Giro!
-we paid with debit card
-we didn't have the breakfast but it seemed quite popular with the other guests
Value: A bit pricey
-roughly $300/night
-breakfast is not included (at least in the apartment rate)
Overall: We really enjoyed our time at Villanova. The location is perfect, beautiful, and peaceful. We felt very relaxed during our stay. However, we thought the price was a little high considering the uncomfortable beds, tiny kitchen, and that the hotel isn't in a city center or Cinque Terre for that matter. Those are the only factors that prevented us from giving an excellent rating. We would recommend this Agriturismo, however, and we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchenette, Apartamento Emma. It was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this place for three nights, the place is very nice, clean and beds are comfortable, they have cable system with lots of channels so you can choose from all of them. They provide you with the key for front gate and for safety box, we got the last room up the hill and it was so quiet and wonderful to see the fireflies from our window at night and hear the birds chirping in the morning, the breakfast is very good and has a variety of choices and the crosaints are delicious. Alberto the owner is very strictly business guy so he receives you, gives you some explanations , introduces you to his nice dog named giro and leaves you on your own, they also sell some produce they make there.
RECOMMENDATIONS:
-you need a car to stay here because after the cinqueterre walk I doubt you want to walk more so bring your car to town and park everywhere in WHITE lines it's free.
- be cautious to ask how much the cover is before you sit in a restaurant the normal is between 2 and 2.50 euros
- bring your beverages to your room, they have a mini fridge but everything you see at the hotel is for sale.
THINGS THIS HOTEL CAN DO BETTER FOR THE CUSTOMERS:
- there's no wifi anywhere in the property unless you are in the breakfast area which is quiet inconvenient for the customers when in fact they can buy a 20 euros router and extend the internet service for the whole property.
-the place ONLY accepts payments in cash which again is inconvenient for the customer , getting a machine is better and faster.
-the place is listed as agriturismo but in fact I have been in some others and agriturismo gets you involved with the family activities, invite you to learn how they did their products and else, this one is strictly business I perceived which is also acceptable with the Italian economy .
NOTE: the above are recommendations only to make this place a better place to stay at, neither of these things stopped us from enjoying the place the way it is, we loved it and will recommend it to anyone coming to visit cinqueterre.
Grazie Alberto and giro.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Outstanding little B&B just outside of Levanto. The service was superb, the proprietors are incredibly nice and helpful in providing details about the town and how best to explore Cinque Terra. The food was perfection, all organic and fresh. Highly recommend the cappuccino. Will most certainly come again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villanova for 4 nights in October. We stayed in Il Torchio which was perfect. The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was recently renovated with a great shower. The breakfast was fabulous with two lovely women who prepared and served. Alberto and Giancarlo were very helpful both with the reservation process and the on site service. Villanova was very convenient to Cinque Terre either by train or boat. Levanto had many restaurants that were open even though it was after the summer season. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Let me begin by saying that this place is located a very short drive from the town of Levanto and this town far exceeded our expectations. They have many excellent restaurants, lots of shops, a very nice public beach and very easy access to the train and the cinque terre. Upon your return from the train each night stop in for a visit or a meal.
We stayed for 4 nights at this agriturismo and were most pleased with the experience. Our room was at the top of the hill and although simply furnished and decorated it was very comfortable, clean and had an excellent shower with lots of pressure. The bed was comfortable and there was a couch and sitting chair for reading. The room also had a table which I used to paint in the evening. The view from our window was wonderful as it overlooked the valley and the pretty villages there each having their own bell tower. We enjoyed the hourly (and indeed half hourly) bells.Outside the front door there were tables and chairs where we could sit and enjoy a spritz in the evening. It is really a beautiful location and we were there for a thunderstorm and it was a real experience to hear that thunder rumbling on through the hills. The room included a small bar fridge and we removed all of the items left there for sale there (that is one thing I could have done without) and kept our own water, beer and cheeses.
The breakfast room was located quite a way back down the hill and although a pleasant walk down the hill it was a steep return to the room. Check to see where your room is located before booking. That being said it is worth the walk down as the breakfast is outstanding. We have stayed at many B&Bs and agriturismos and this was by far the best breakfast. The ladies serving there are delightful and upon arrival will immediately ask what you want to drink and provide you with a great cappuccino or other hot drink. There are lots of cheeses, meats, juices, breads, jams, delicious croissants, cereals, fruit and fruit salad and biscotti available. My sincere compliments.
You most definitely need a car for this location for although it is a very short drive to the train station (10 minutes when I drive and 5 minutes when my wife does) the walk would be rather long and along a rather unattractive road. Additionally the lane way from the room to the gate is very narrow and I dreaded meeting a car coming the other way.
Communication with the owners was excellent and although we never needed them they gave their cell number and made themselves most accessible.
It was a delightful place to use as a base for exploration of the area and I most definitely would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Once again the room in the farmhouse are a rather long downhill walk from the room and although very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Villanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villanova

Address: Loc. Villanova, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villanova is a beautiful 17th century estate only 5 minutes from Levanto and its sandy beach, bordering Cinque Terre National Park. Rooms and apartments are in the main villa and in 2 charmingly restored historic farmhouses. Antique furniture adds to the elegant country-house feel. All have gardens with panoramic views. Start your day with a healthy organic breakfast buffet, rent a bike, relax on the beach or hike the many trails of Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Villanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Villanova Hotel Levanto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Villanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.