We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antico Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added L'Antico Borgo to your Saves list
L'Antico Borgo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Loc. Dosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Levanto B&B and Inns
Sant Feliu de Llobregat, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking for a B&B at the Cinque Terre area to stay for a week. We found on the net the web of this B&B located in Dosso, Comune of Levanto, the 'gate of the Cinque Terre'. From the first contact via mail with them all was right, it was so easy to agree a quite long stay. We did the journey by car from Barcelona and there was any problem to reach Dosso, but if you plan to trip by train to Levanto, and then reach Dosso, you will need a car or a taxi to arrive to this lovely place on the mountains with a beautiful view over the village of Levanto and the sea.
The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is functional. Minibar -minifridge- and safety case are available as well.
The breakfast is simply perfect, combining local specialities and a more conventional dishes.
The attention by the staff is a must. They are very kind, and help you to plan the activities of the day, if you want.
In summary, an ideal place to visit and enjoy of this beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed during 3 nights. Lovely place in a great location with beautiful view to the sea and nearby hills. Breakfast was excellent and each day we tasted something new. The hosts were very pleasant and rooms are very clean. Certainly a place to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I found this bed and breakfast through Sawday and what a wonderful find it was. I love the location in the tiny hamlet of Dosso, overlooking Levanto. We had a room for 4 people which was clean, spacious and wonderful bathroom. It also had a little fridge in the room which was a great find. Knowing it was up in the hills we had come prepared with a picnic for dinner and had the pleasure of eating this out on the terrace, perfect! The beds were comfy, the only minor comment is that a fan in the room would be nice as in August it was rather warm but otherwise, it was wonderful. Breakfast was amazing, we were truly spoilt with a selection of goodies from cured meats to cakes. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this lovely place. Beautiful, comfortable, clean, well designed, amazing view, great service. Very nice breakfast, nice people.

Isolated so car is needed. It was not easy to find, but it worth it and we wanted to stay more. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If it hadn't been for a slow-to-function air conditioner in our room, I would give this place 5 stars (maybe even 6 stars!) just for the breakfast alone, which is one of the all-time best breakfasts I have had in more then 25 years of staying at bed & breakfast places. The owner, Carlo, is a very gracious host. The house is lovely and relaxed at the same time. This is a place you could really chill out at if you wanted to. The room was spacious and charming, the bathroom modern and super-clean with well-functioning fixtures. The view from the terrace (where breakfast is served) is spectacular. It is a 15-minute drive down into the town of Levanto on twisty roads. Levanto might strike you as a bit of a letdown, especially if your idea of a sleek resort is Portofino, Positano or St. Tropez. I liked the idea that Carlo provides a residential parking card you can stick on the dashboard, allowing you to park free in the parking lot at the train station (and a few others nearby).

Room Tip: If you go in the summer and are daunted by 99-degree temperatures (as we encountered in July), be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our fourth time at L'Antico Borgo and still an excellent 'five star trip advisor' stay.
Carlo and his staff really know how to make your stay perfect. Very clean spacious rooms, delicious breakfasts, views from the terrace to die for!!! Stargazing at night....wonderful.
As we have stayed here before the staff remembered us and welcomed us like old friends.
This is truly a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. Had a little trouble finding it, but once we got on the right road it was clearly marked. Didn't help that it was pouring down rain when we were searching for it! Sits tucked away from the road with a small parking area up a small hill/close to the building.

Building is very nice with a welcoming entrance area and comfortable common areas downstairs. I was a little disappointed upon arriving, because I had requested a room with a sea view and we were given a room with no view at all (looked out the the wall of the adjacent building). We asked if they had gotten my request, didn't get a response (seemed like they avoided the question - other places where I had requested certain rooms, no problems) but we were told all the other rooms were full. Even though our room had no view, it was still very nice so it wasn't a huge deal to us, just a little disappointed on that aspect. Just be advised that there are only 2 rooms that actually have sea views, and you should contact the hotel in advance to see if you can get either of those rooms, if that's important to you! :) I would have followed up with them before we arrived if I knew this myself/ahead of time.

Our room was very clean, spacious and on the 3rd floor. Staff was friendly (other than the room question) and helpful, giving us information on the trains to the villages, etc. Breakfast was wonderful - great variety of items, eggs to order and one of the best cappuccinos I have ever had! The first day we ate inside, as it was wet outside from the rain - the second day we ate outside on the patio, which was lovely and had a beautiful view of the mountains/ocean in the distance. We felt this hotel was an great value for the price point. Only cons were no view from room, and wifi did not work at all in our room. So we had to come down the lobby area to use wifi. Staff commented that it's a common problem there (no wifi signals in rooms or very flaky), but didn't do anything about it. Didn't really bother us that much, but they shouldn't advertise wifi in the rooms if it doesn't actually work in those areas. Wifi was fine in the lobby though.
Other than that, we had a great stay at this B&B and I would definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was nice but no view! Request sea view room in advance, there are only 2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Borgo

Address: Loc. Dosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Antico Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to spend a wonderfuland relaxing holiday in the Cinque Terre.A friendly and welcoming atmosphere characterizes this manor house.It is located in panoramic position in "Dosso",one of the most attractive medieval hamlets of Levanto, the "door to the Cinque Terrre"...Romantic rooms,wonderful breakfast, panoramic terrace,cleaning service every day,wi-fi, and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antico Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.