We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven to enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margherita by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Margherita by the Sea to your Saves list
Villa Margherita by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Trento e Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Haven to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Staying at the Villa Margherita was a delight the people at the Villa were exceptional and the breakfast was ample, fresh and very european.
They did everything they could to make you comfortable even though being there in MAY and the weather was damp and chilly we couldn't have any heat in the rooms.(something about regulations on heating during the late spring and summer)
We really hadn't gotten the room confirmed and they still made room for us.
Excellent for a getaway or a vacation to see Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    77
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
75
188
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights here while touring Cinque Terre and were very happy with our choice. Levanto is a lovely town to visit on its own, with some very nice restaurants and shops. We took a short walk to the train station to tour the Cinque cities by day and then into Levanto for dining in the evening or walk along the water. We had a garden room with lovely views and nice outdoor seating area to relax with some wine and snacks we bought from a local grocer. The grounds are very beautiful. The breakfast room was very cheery and we had a nice variety of food.


Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolid
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very disappointed after reading reviews. We are in great physical condition but this hotel is a 20 minute walk from the train station....long ways lugging suitcases. And it is a long walk to the town as well...on a narrow, non- lighted car road with no sidewalk. My recommendation...stay in a Cinque village. We moved to Vernazza, and were happy to be relocated. Pretty enough hotel but just too detatched from the action.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We (young couple) stayed at Villa Margherita for just one night and wished we had stayed longer. Great location-- The villa is a 10-minute walk (or free shuttle ride) from the Levanto train station, and a 5 minute walk from the center of Levanto and the beach. Levanto is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Cinque Terre because it is just one train stop (5-minute ride, departures every 1/2 hour or so) from the northern-most village of the 5 Terre (Monterosso), yet it is a bigger town with more to offer in terms of services, and it has a sandy beach that unbeatable.
Hotel-- The villa has gorgeous gardens with patio seating for happy hour, lunch or just relaxing. Our "small double room" had a big window with a sea view, beautiful antique furniture, an en-suite bathroom, and it was a standard sized room. The mattress was not first rate (quite stiff), and there was some traffic noise in the morning but those were the only small complaints. Breakfast was great!
Value-- We paid only 65 euros (early May) for our "small double room" and it's safe to say that that is the best value in Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: "Small Double Room" is excellent value! Ours had a big window with a sea view, beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had the great pleasure to stay at this beautiful B&B. The room, the views, and the staff were just wonderful. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing place to stay after a day at the beach or ride along the famous Italian Riviera. The location is perfect if you have intention in visiting the famous “Cinque Terre.” The villa is also located near the beach, train station, and the center of the town making it a perfect location to be close to all attractions but at the same time you will find peace and tranquility. The villa, besides beautiful rooms, has a lovely garden where you can enjoy a cappuccino in the morning or a glass of Italian wine in the evening. I highly recommend this villa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with great sea views from many rooms. Our small balcony provided great views of the shore. It is close enough to the train station that made the short trip to Cinque Terre an easy adventure. Our only concern was the short walk into town via the narrow and and poorly lit road leading to the Hotel. After a few glasses of wine, the trek back in the dark with cars racing up and down was a little scary.

Room Tip: Ask for a window or balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good location, nice quiet room off the patio, excellent breakfast on the balcony overlooking the hills, very attentive and helpful staff, free taxi service to and from the train station. We can hardly wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margherita by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita by the Sea

Address: Via Trento e Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Levanto
#9 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Margherita by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Margherita By The Sea Hotel Levanto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margherita by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.