We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely base to explore Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Gottardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B San Gottardo to your Saves list
B&B San Gottardo
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Loc. San Gottardo, 6 - SS566dir, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Levanto B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely base to explore Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this B&B as a base for Cinque Terre.
It turned out to be the best choice.
The room was lovely with a clean, spacious bathroom.
And breakfast in the garden was a great way to begin the morning.

The owner Claudia picked us up and dropped us off every day at the Levanto train station,
from which we visited Cinque Terre using Cinque Terre Card (which offers free, unlimited train travel from Levanto to all five towns in Cinque Terre).

She was kind and gave us tremendous help in getting to our next destination during train strike. On the day we arrived, we saw a notice that the train will go on a strike two days later when we were supposed to leave. She made all the necessary calls, letting us enjoy our traveling in Cinque Terre, and ensured that we make it to our next desitination. I feel lucky to have chosen her B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are touring Italy by car and were wondering what to do about parking when staying in Cinque Terre. This was the perfect solution staying at Claudia's B&B. It was easy to drive to from Tuscany, with no hassle FREE parking. Only a quick (a few mins), easy access on the train from Levanto to the first village in the CT group, Monterosso. Claudia gives you a pass that means free parking at the train station for the day too. Levanto has a nice beach for swimming, is heaps cheaper to stay at, and the ferry also runs from here down the CT coast and back.

The stay with Claudia was everything great that the other reviewers have commented on. Lovely rooms and so clean with fantastic breakfast. She gave us enough food that we were able to set some aside for a light tea. We were unsure of the etiquette so we asked, and she was 'yes, of course, it's all for you'. Such a lovely, gracious attitude.

We have been travelling over 2 months and this was probably in the top 2 of the many places we have stayed. Claudia has a gift for hospitality and also gave us great travel advice. All round brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed in a great mini-apartment, with a small breakfast nook and refridgerator. Clean and comfortable with a beautiful walled-garden. About 3/4 mile walk through town to get to the beach. Claudia, the owner, picked us up at the train station. She is a wonderful hostess, always providing a delicious breakfast of coffee, breads, meats and cheeses. We stayed in January, when the town is quiet, and really enjoyed a peaceful three days. A great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place was one of the best we have stayed at yet. Claudia is an amazing host, the room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast's were also great, a highlight of our trip. We had such a great time here, we cannot recommend this place enough!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

THe staying at B&B San Gottardo was a real pleasure.
Claudia is very charming and helpfull. The service was excellent and the breakfasts will stay in my memory forever. A place to recomend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with my husband and my daughter (21)who had a lovely room
adjacent to us. Claudia went out of her way to be so helpful and accommodating.
A perfect base to visit Cinque Terre. Breakfast was homebaking, typical Ligurian
specialties served in our room or terrace, lovely. Free parking next door.
This place and the people are gems, helpful with directions on trains, Claudia even
picked up our daughters luggage and brought it back to the B&B while the 3 of us
continued by train to Cinque Terre for the day. Beautiful spacious rooms. If ever
we go back to visit we would definitely stay again. Grazie tante Claudia!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in early October as an access point to the Cinque Terre having travelled by car.
The place was spotless and very comfortable too. Claudia the host was great with her help and produced a yummy breakfast each morning. The train station, town & beach could be reached quickly by car and the parking pass loaned out by Claudia was an added bonus. A great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Gottardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Gottardo

Address: Loc. San Gottardo, 6 - SS566dir, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B San Gottardo 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B San Gottardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Gottardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.