We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Base for Cinque Terre Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B San Gottardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B&B San Gottardo to your Saves list
B&B San Gottardo
Loc. San Gottardo, 6 - SS566dir, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Levanto B&B and Inns
Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Base for Cinque Terre Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My partner and I and two other couples decided to visit the Cinque Terre at the end of our two and half week trip to Italy this month. Having stayed in luxury villas for that long, we were ready to watch the wallets and decided a bed and breakfast was the way to go. I selected this b and b based on the great reviews here and on other sites. Were they ever right!
We had the place to ourselves as there are only 3 rooms. This is a basic but very charming and extremely clean b and b. It is run by the very attentive host, Claudia (now I know why all the reviews mention her by name!), who has taken great care in putting together an inviting and comfortable environment for her guests. Comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and the outdoor patio is a nice touch. It is conveniently located, although not in the center of town. Free parking is available on site, including a free parking pass to use in town if you decide to drive the short distance to the train station or town center. And by the way, the breakfast is as good as the reviews say!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Spent one night here in May and Claudia's hospitality impressed us even before we arrrived with her helpful emails giving directions etc.! We were greeted with a warm welcome and a lovely cup of coffee, then Claudia gave us some tips on the area which were most helpful. Room was pretty, comfortable and clean with a little outside terrace. We had breakfast outside under an awning watching the rain pour down. It was a real feast with many local specialities, enough to set you up for the day! Another plus for us was that she has free wi-fi throughout the property - very useful and still sadly lacking in many places.
If we pass through again, we would certainly consider another visit to B&B San Gottardo.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shellharbour
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Beautiful garden setting, quiet and relaxing after a long day.
Claudia was a lovely hostess who went out of her way to please..
The rooms were beautifully clean and tastefully appointed.
Fabulous breakfast and great coffee.
Very centrally located close to the town and station.
Close by secure parking.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This B&B was a great find. Claudia is an excellent host, who goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable. She picked us up and dropped us back at the railway station. Rooms are a good size and very clean. Claudia serves a lovely breakfast on the terrace outside your room (or inside if it's a bit cool or damp). Levanto is a great place to base yourself for the Cinque Terre. My only quibble would be the location of the B&B. It's a good walk into town (and some of it is along a busy road). Having said that Claudia offered to give us a lift a few times.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Claudia was very very welcoming and helpful with all our questions.
Room was enough spacious, elegant and cozy with big comfortable bed and antic table. Good breakfast in the garden. 10 min by foot to the train station and 25 min to sea cost. No air condition but it's no problem at all: it's not stuffy even in august and if you want you can open a window during the night (no noise!).
We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Unbeatable service from Claudia who goes the extra mile (literally, at times) to make your stay as welcoming as it could be. The property itself is very new and well- appointed situated 25 minutes walk from Levanto town centre and about a 10 minute walk to the train station. The advice, courtesy and hospitality of Claudia made our holiday - great breakfasts and super coffee! This is an ideal base to explore the ‘Cinque Terre’.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a "Real Find" in a sea of places to put your head down in comfort. Claudia the Inn Keeper waits on you as though your Royalty. The food,loding & advise was a cut above anything you could of expected. Dining in a garden filled with a rainbow of colors.
Sue & I will be back for sure because you only find places like this on rare occassions.
Just an amazing great time, we"ll be back for sure. Bill & Sue NJ/USA

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B San Gottardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B San Gottardo

Address: Loc. San Gottardo, 6 - SS566dir, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B San Gottardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B San Gottardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.