We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel to visit Cinq Terres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abetaia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abetaia to your Saves list
Hotel Abetaia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   localita pian del Momo, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel to visit Cinq Terres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found this hotel online and decided to book it because of its proximity to Cinq Terres.
And we found more than expected!
- The hotel rooms are very modern and clean and have a nice private terrace
- The owners are super friendly
- It is located quietly in the middle of nature
- There's a delicious restaurant serving fresh fish and the best 'trofi' pasta we've had
- 5 Terres is easily reachable by train from Levanto (2km from the hotel)
- Great value for price!
Definitely one of the best choices in the area of Cinq Terres.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    44
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
116
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from Italy. We had absolutely perfect experience in Abetaia. Great location, 10 minutes car ride from the train station in Levanto, lets you avoid the maddening crowds of Cinque Terre and yet the first city (Monterosso) is only one train stop away (about 10 minutes ride). The hotel is family-owned and managed. Very friendly, helpful stuff. The rooms have great showers and surprisingly efficient A/C. Breakfast is fabulous (best croissants in Italy!) and included in the price of the room. But the true gem is the hotel restaurant - incredibly fresh, sophisticated, outstanding food! We ended up eating there every day after the first evening of fresh caught sea bass prepared Corsican style. We sat at the same table and the stuff served water, beer, wine without the need to ask for our preferences after the first meal we had there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is run by a family (Michele & Sonya). Together with a wonderful staff they manage the hotel & also a separate excellent restaurant besides it.
The location is convenient when you have a car & wants to visit 5 terra, Levanto or even  Genova. The facility is modern & quite new, quite & very clean.
We loved the breakfast & so did our picky,  11 years  old daughter.
The nearby restaurant (50m) is that good that we kept coming almost every night (better then most of the restaurants we tested in the nearby city of Levanto).
For us, they are a reason enough  to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not our first time in Cinque Terre, but we decided to try this hotel based on the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It is located at ~10-15 min drive from Levanto, and this was convenient enough for us. The road is well maintained and easy to drive. Parking for Cinque Terre is available at the train station for ~15EUR/day, make sure to arrive early.

We immediately understood the best asset of this place: their people. Sonia and her team members are fantastic, full of energy and passion. They were always willing to help us finding the right place for activities and restaurants (calling all their contacts on our behalf). The highlight of this experience was when Sonia put aside some breakfast for us, although we woke up ~1h15 late - we really appreciated the special attention.

Breakfast is btw really fresh and tasty, with a wide choice of local products. You can enjoy it in the nice garden, full of colors and well maintained.

The hotel is very nice and rooms are spacious. We did not fully adhere to the hotel's style - but this is very personal anyway. I would have hoped for more privacy, as neighbors are passing in front of the terrace (ground floor) regularly - but nothing major to mention.

We would recommend this place to our friends & family, as the staff is amazing.
Note: they also organize some cooking classes, we will try next time.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the 1st floor, for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A very good hotel, it looks a little bit severe from the outsider, but the room is clean,modern with good facilities. A Nice garden to have a breakfast and for leisure.
The place is surrounded by trees, no heavy traffic,but you need a car to go everywhere.
Nice and helpfull staff, restaurant was good,fish specialities suggested by the owner.
A pity the room had no wifi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel at the end of last year and It was really nice. The view from the back patio of our room was beautiful, Just hills/mountains of green. If you're a fan of the great outdoors this is definitely the right place. The hotel room was clean, spacious, comfortable and I loved it. The staff were really helpful, if it wasn't for them we would of missed our flight home. Always gave us suggestions in terms of where to go and how to get there from the hotel. The breakfast was really nice and had a country feel to it. Although It is difficult to get to (so a taxi/car is a necessity, there's no other way) It didnt take anything away from it. the taxis were reasonable and I liked the fact we had a peaceful, tranquil place to stay and then just visited the villages during the day. Was worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stunning woodland location, not far from the beautiful beach. Run by a lovely couple who couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were incredible, big and deluxe packed full of everything you could want or need. The sister restaurant across the drive is definitely worth a visit. It was very relaxed and comfortable but the highest quality of everything. You were made to feel like part of the family. Couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abetaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abetaia

Address: localita pian del Momo, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abetaia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming from Levanto to the surrounding hills at just 6 km, guests arrive to a green and peaceful area at Hotel Abetaia. The structure offers 12 completely renovated rooms equipped with every modern comfort, is surrounded by fragrant and shady spruces and located along the banks of a river; our hotel offers large outdoor spaces, peace and relax and an excellent restaurant where enjoy the typical products of the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abetaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abetaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.