We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trek” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antiga Ustaia Zita

Antiga Ustaia Zita
Localita' Lavaggiorosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy
+39 0187 800158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the trek”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ran into a couple that highly recommended this place to us while travelling in Cinque Terre, and after reading all the reviews online we decided we had to go here before leaving.

Worst decision we made.

Coming in from Riomaggorie, we had to pay for the train out to Levanto, a round trip 40 Euro taxi ride and 40 Euro for dinner.

The food was below average, I've had better at random Italian restaurants in Toronto. Our pasta and meat dishes were bland, and nothing out of the ordinary, although ample in amount they give.

Service was great, desserts were tasty and the wine was fantastic- but definitely not worth the money or trek out here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    69
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous local food pesto and tortellini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fresh pasta fatta ni casa, local wine and delicous desserts along with caring service. Just 10 minutes by car from the center of levanto

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple, pure and authentic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Living in Italy, it isn't difficult to find places where you eat well. But, often oil, cheese and salt are used to enhance the richness of dishes. You will feel heavy and full for hours and sometimes through the next day.

Finding typical Ligurian isn't easy either. Zita's delivers a perfect experience.

The simple, quality ingredients used at Zita's allow the subtle flavours to shine. The quantities are generous. The locale is stunning with panoramic views of the valley. This family run restaurant is warm, welcoming and genuine. After our first night we literally begged to return the following night - despite it being full. We were lucky and were allowed to sneak in around 2130. Even with the late hour and eating a full meal, we slept well!

I am perplexed that the cost shows expensive since we ate 3 courses with wine both nights an never paid more than 20 euro/person.

We will dream about this restaurant ... I can't rate it high enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good food and the locals love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in Dosso next village up the valley at the L'Antico Borgo (great place, highly recommended, avoid the crowds in Levanto). This is the only restaurant in the area. It is popular with locals and tourists. It is very basic but clean and the food is fresh and thoughtfully prepared. We met a German gentlemen who has been coming to the Cinque Terre for 40 years and has owned a home across the valley for 10 years. He won't eat anywhere else but this restaurant. He helped us with the menu and encouraged us to have all 4 courses because the best comes at the end. He was right. Our group's vegetarians were happy with their selections. The wines come out of a tap but are plenty good. Again this is the only restaurant in the immediate area and it serves local families tired of pizza as well as tourists who don't want to drive. It is not fancy but certainly authentic and the staff aims to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A sumptuous feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Food straight out of Nonna's kitchen! Not the #1 most gourmet meal I had in Italy, but by far my favourite. Traditional, delicious fare.

Delightful view over the Levanto valley- make sure you're up there for sunset.

The 4 of us ate 3 courses with wine, all for 75 euro, and we were stuffed. You chose from a very short menu of options- this isn't a problem, what they do, they do well. Had amazingly fresh pesto pasta for entree, and big enough to be the main- leave some room! Then we had rabbit (tender and sweet), octopus (excellent), and pork ribs (juicy!). The best, simple, fresh panna cotta we've ever had for dessert.

The service is just right, even though they speak minimal English. Don't worry, you'll understand each other just fine. Well worth the short trip out of Levanto, and the food and atmosphere is much nicer than anything you'll find in the town- and for much less.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiga Ustaia Zita also viewed

Levanto, Italian Riviera
Levanto, Italian Riviera
 
Levanto, Italian Riviera
Levanto, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Antiga Ustaia Zita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiga Ustaia Zita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.