We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, pure and authentic ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiga Ustaia Zita

Antiga Ustaia Zita
Localita' Lavaggiorosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy
+39 0187 800158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple, pure and authentic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Living in Italy, it isn't difficult to find places where you eat well. But, often oil, cheese and salt are used to enhance the richness of dishes. You will feel heavy and full for hours and sometimes through the next day.

Finding typical Ligurian isn't easy either. Zita's delivers a perfect experience.

The simple, quality ingredients used at Zita's allow the subtle flavours to shine. The quantities are generous. The locale is stunning with panoramic views of the valley. This family run restaurant is warm, welcoming and genuine. After our first night we literally begged to return the following night - despite it being full. We were lucky and were allowed to sneak in around 2130. Even with the late hour and eating a full meal, we slept well!

I am perplexed that the cost shows expensive since we ate 3 courses with wine both nights an never paid more than 20 euro/person.

We will dream about this restaurant ... I can't rate it high enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    69
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good food and the locals love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in Dosso next village up the valley at the L'Antico Borgo (great place, highly recommended, avoid the crowds in Levanto). This is the only restaurant in the area. It is popular with locals and tourists. It is very basic but clean and the food is fresh and thoughtfully prepared. We met a German gentlemen who has been coming to the Cinque Terre for 40 years and has owned a home across the valley for 10 years. He won't eat anywhere else but this restaurant. He helped us with the menu and encouraged us to have all 4 courses because the best comes at the end. He was right. Our group's vegetarians were happy with their selections. The wines come out of a tap but are plenty good. Again this is the only restaurant in the immediate area and it serves local families tired of pizza as well as tourists who don't want to drive. It is not fancy but certainly authentic and the staff aims to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A sumptuous feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Food straight out of Nonna's kitchen! Not the #1 most gourmet meal I had in Italy, but by far my favourite. Traditional, delicious fare.

Delightful view over the Levanto valley- make sure you're up there for sunset.

The 4 of us ate 3 courses with wine, all for 75 euro, and we were stuffed. You chose from a very short menu of options- this isn't a problem, what they do, they do well. Had amazingly fresh pesto pasta for entree, and big enough to be the main- leave some room! Then we had rabbit (tender and sweet), octopus (excellent), and pork ribs (juicy!). The best, simple, fresh panna cotta we've ever had for dessert.

The service is just right, even though they speak minimal English. Don't worry, you'll understand each other just fine. Well worth the short trip out of Levanto, and the food and atmosphere is much nicer than anything you'll find in the town- and for much less.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A true Italian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner, the service, food drinks were excellent. No pretentious put-ons here, just first class authentic Italian food and hospitality at great value. It certainly appeared to be the reaturant of choice for the locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trouble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Concur with previous review. Hard walk up there so expensive taxi needed. We walked back down to Levanto. Road is bit dark but very quiet. Nice to digest food and to experience lovely mountain air and lights of villages. Food great and inexpensive so well worth trouble. Would not go on off-chance though, the restaurant was full the evening I went so booking required.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiga Ustaia Zita also viewed

Levanto, Italian Riviera
Levanto, Italian Riviera
 
Levanto, Italian Riviera
Levanto, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Antiga Ustaia Zita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiga Ustaia Zita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.