We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gerbera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gerbera to your Saves list
La Gerbera
Martiri della Liberta, 19015, 19015 Levanto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Levanto B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

La Gerbera is a perfect place to stay in Levanto. It's located little bit outside of crowdy streets of Levanto. The owner Doriana is very friendly and welcoming person. Everything was perfect great location, comfortable room, view from the window and atmosphere of the place. We spent three beautiful days here. But I would like spend at least one week here because there are so many places to visit in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were extremely satisfied.

We had not much idea about that region, or that B&B. We went on a 4 days holiday trip at the last minute.
We found that place thanks to Trip Adviser, contacted the owner by email and they were some availability so we booked.
The host (Doriana) was very friendly, very welcoming and helpful. We could communicate in English, French as we do not speak Italian. She really has the touch for providing an excellent service and goes to pick up and deliver some delicious focacia or sweet brioches for the breakfast, on complement of the jams and biscuits already in the room. She also came when we needed her and respected our privacy at other times.

The room is refreshed every day, including the drinks that she includes in the rate. There's everything needed and the room + shower were all excellent. AirCon, nice curtains, nice shower, powerful, etc... It's very clean and fresh.

The home was set in a quiet street and has a very nice back garden with some grass, fresh breeze at night (in august, really nice and refreshing!) and beautiful lemons trees.

There is a quiet public street for the car, and the owner gave us for free some "parking pass" so the city let you park without problems.

About the city and region, it's lovely. Doriana told us a few suggestions such as visiting that "5 terre" (5 lands) a protected area by the sea, where there is 5 small villages on top of hills and facing the sea. It's easy to reach by train or boat.
There's a lot to do it's full of walking paths (all levels). It's very close to the sea (10min walk) and it's not so crowded places. Beaches were decently crowded but 1km away it was possible to find secluded places to sun bath peacefully and quietly. Also excellent to do scuba diving around, water very clear.

Finally, we could find everything we needed locally (markets, little restaurants, or even groceries stores for the basic things).

So we had a great time. We would have loved to stay more and do more visits, walks, swimming. We found that it was a very nice region to visit and we were surprised to find it not so crowded (especially in early august!).
The B&B was excellent and we honestly can give our best recommendations.
For the record i'm often travelling for business and staying at 4 or 5 stars hotels for long duration. The service and quality of that B&B was matching those hotels and it was even better than some 4* hotels I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We chose to stay in Levanto, away from the crowds of the Cinque Terre towns, but close to enough to visit easily. La Gerbera was spot on. It's less than a 5 minute walk to the Levanto train station, and from there it is a 5 minute train ride to Monterosso (the first of the Cinque Terre towns). It's also just a 5 minute walk into town to the restaurants/shops. There is free parking right outside the B&B (Dori provided us with a residents permit).

The room was excellent - modern and spotless, very comfortable. The breakfast - juice, tea/coffee, biscuits, jam (in the room), and either fresh foccacia or crossaints brought to the room was great. The fridge was kept stocked with bottled water, orangina and coke which were included in the room rate - we thought this was a very nice touch. Dori went out of her way to make sure everything was ok for us, she was very helpful, providing some top restaurant recommedations too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

La Gerbera is a fantastic B&B. Absolutely spotless, quiet location, comfortable bed, great pillow, easy access to the train station, wifi.
I was delighted that I chose Levanto which is only a few minutes (by train) from the first of the 5 towns & part of the Cinque Terre card rail travel. Doriana even offered to pick me up from the station although I came early & walked to La Gerbera which is within walking distance, but far enough away that you don't hear trains. Very quiet.
After a day of hiking up & down hills I was very happy to return to Levanto which is relatively flat. I therefore didn't need to walk up or downhill to go to a restaurant. Just an easy sightseeing walk around town and to the waterfront to take in a great sunset.
I couldn't have made a better choice.
By the way, I spent 4 nights at La Gerbera. I would definitely stay at La Gerbera again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our accommodation at La Gerbera was just perfect,very well appointed,large room and very clean.We found Levarto a great place to stay if you are walking in the Cinque Terra region as it was 5 mins by train to Monterossa and then you can start the coastal walks.The B and B is 5 mins walk from the station which makes arrival and departure hassle free.Our hostess was very obliging and nothing was too much trouble.Realising that this region is visited by large numbers of tourist the prices for accommodation are relatively high in this area of Italy but I did think that maybe Dori could drop her rates a little starting in Oct or maybe if you stay more than 3 nights.
We found the location great for the train and walking around Levarto and will definitely recommend La Gerbera to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

We have nothing but good things to say about our stay at La Gerbera. Very nice room, well appointed. The property and room were both spotless. Its in a great location, less than a 5 min walk to the train station, but the owner Dori still picked us up from the station. Our train was even an hour late getting in, and she was right there at midnight to get us! Extremely helpful, very nice, and really cared to make our stay enjoyable. Confirmed our breakfast request for each day, and was never a minute late bringing it up to the room! Would strongly recommend La Gerbera!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Dori was incredibly accommodating and welcoming. She picked us up from the train station, even though we were a few hours later then expected. The room was clean and modern and easy walking distance of restaurants, bars and the beach. Window opens up for a killer view and breeze. She brought us fresh focaccia in the AM for breakfast to top it all off. We only stayed one night in Levanto but wanted to spend some more time on the beach before moving on. Dori allowed us to store our luggage until we were ready to leave.

Overall perfect for the traveler who want's a nicely decorated, up to date and well kept room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gerbera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gerbera

Address: Martiri della Liberta, 19015, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built B & B La Gerbera is ideally situated to enjoy a nice seaside resort with a wide beach, but it can be also a starting point for excursions to 5 Terre. La Gerbera is situated in a peaceful area, a few steps from the heart of the town, 300 m far from the train station and 700 m far from the beach. La Gerbera has three polished double rooms, provided with wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Gerbera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gerbera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.