We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il giardino di Tonia

Save Saved
You added B&B Il giardino di Tonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il giardino di Tonia
Piazza Ernesto Cesaro 24, 80058 Torre Annunziata, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Il giardino di Tonia was a B&B full of quirky charm. Many things about it seemed unexpected but overall this added to the experience. What was unexpected was the do-it-yourself breakfast and free access to the kitchen, along with the fact that you were expected to make your bed and keep the bathroom clean. This is not me complaining because it was so cheap that one really did not expect services as well as the bed and breakfast. Bruno,Aldo and the delightful Angelo were so welcoming and so helpful. It is an experience I would recommend if you are staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Extremely friendly, clean and welcoming. Free parking and quiet, large rooms. Very convenient to Naples, airport, and ruins. A diamond in the rough (Torre Annunziata -is not exactly a destination but budget friendly and convenient if you have a car)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was a real surprise. the rooms are big, has a beautiful garden and you have limoncello when you first arrive- home made from the lemons in the garden. Good start! The owners are welcoming, will bend over backwards to accommodate you and helped us out with recommending guides at pompei. Suggestions were also made of local villas we could visit too- although we didn't have time we will return... This place is cheap, breakfast is ample and as said before you will be hard pushed to find better treatment.
Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had an excellent visit to Torre Annunziata, and especially to Poppea's villa. We had been told to be careful, but found the town to be very safe. Bruna and Aldo's welcome was warm and multilingual and the room was spotless and well-equipped. Bruna recommended an excellent Pizzeria close by, and we wandered happily around town after dinner. We fully recommend Il Giardino to all visitors, and suggest they take the time to go around the Villa Oplontis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went there to visit Villa Poppea and decided to stay overnight without knowing the town. I would not recommend this town as a place to stay but if you do this would be the place. Room was very nice and spacious. Owners could not have been nicer. Short walk to the excavation site. Lemoncello in the frig was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Bruno and Aldo went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They arranged to help get a parking spot for our van (we have a large family) right in front of their B&B even during a very busy festival season.
Our whole family felt safe and welcome, and enjoyed all the tips and advice they gave us. I would recommend this location to anyone traveling to Pompeii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the perfect spot if you want to visit Pompei and Herculanium. The owner, Bruna and her husband were very helpful and explained everything about the area and how to get there, complete with maps and books. They also told us about Villa Oplontis which was once Nero's wife's. and is just a walk away from the B+B, and well worth going to. We enjoyed it as much as Pompei, very quiet and no one else there. If not for the advise of Brunas husband we would have missed this. The room (in fact it was two rooms) was huge in an old villa on the town square, it was clean and we had the use of a fully equipped kitchen. The overall condition was slightly worn around the edges. Recommended if you are visiting the ruins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Il giardino di Tonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il giardino di Tonia

Address: Piazza Ernesto Cesaro 24, 80058 Torre Annunziata, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Annunziata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torre Annunziata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B " Tonia's garden" is located in the town of Torre Annunziata (Oplontis in the Roman Empire times), one of the most interesting and well preserved archeological site under Unesco's protection. Torre Annunziata is situated in the centre of the Gulf of Naples and within short distance from the important archeological site of Pompei, Naples, the Vesuvius, Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri and other turistic places of interest, all linked up by an efficient railway system.A family-run establishment, Tonia’s Garden is an oasis of beauty, warmth and tranquility for those wishing a respite from the hustle and bustle of city life. The B&B has: two double rooms (each room has its own anteroom where is possible to relax); two bathrooms; comfortable kitchen for breakfast; scenic terrace. WE SPEAK ENGLISH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your B&B Il giardino di Tonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Il giardino di Tonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.