We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il Giardino di Tonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Il Giardino di Tonia to your Saves list
B&B Il Giardino di Tonia
Piazza Ernesto Cesaro 24, 80058 Torre Annunziata, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Extremely friendly, clean and welcoming. Free parking and quiet, large rooms. Very convenient to Naples, airport, and ruins. A diamond in the rough (Torre Annunziata -is not exactly a destination but budget friendly and convenient if you have a car)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
52
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was a real surprise. the rooms are big, has a beautiful garden and you have limoncello when you first arrive- home made from the lemons in the garden. Good start! The owners are welcoming, will bend over backwards to accommodate you and helped us out with recommending guides at pompei. Suggestions were also made of local villas we could visit too- although we didn't have time we will return... This place is cheap, breakfast is ample and as said before you will be hard pushed to find better treatment.
Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had an excellent visit to Torre Annunziata, and especially to Poppea's villa. We had been told to be careful, but found the town to be very safe. Bruna and Aldo's welcome was warm and multilingual and the room was spotless and well-equipped. Bruna recommended an excellent Pizzeria close by, and we wandered happily around town after dinner. We fully recommend Il Giardino to all visitors, and suggest they take the time to go around the Villa Oplontis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went there to visit Villa Poppea and decided to stay overnight without knowing the town. I would not recommend this town as a place to stay but if you do this would be the place. Room was very nice and spacious. Owners could not have been nicer. Short walk to the excavation site. Lemoncello in the frig was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Bruno and Aldo went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They arranged to help get a parking spot for our van (we have a large family) right in front of their B&B even during a very busy festival season.
Our whole family felt safe and welcome, and enjoyed all the tips and advice they gave us. I would recommend this location to anyone traveling to Pompeii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the perfect spot if you want to visit Pompei and Herculanium. The owner, Bruna and her husband were very helpful and explained everything about the area and how to get there, complete with maps and books. They also told us about Villa Oplontis which was once Nero's wife's. and is just a walk away from the B+B, and well worth going to. We enjoyed it as much as Pompei, very quiet and no one else there. If not for the advise of Brunas husband we would have missed this. The room (in fact it was two rooms) was huge in an old villa on the town square, it was clean and we had the use of a fully equipped kitchen. The overall condition was slightly worn around the edges. Recommended if you are visiting the ruins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We forgot to undo our previous booking in Pompeii, when I found this spot on Tripadvisor, as I hoped to have breakfast in a nice garden...
So we stayed our first night in Pompeii, then 2 in Torre Annunciata and finaly one in Nocelle on the Amalficoast. Torre Annunciata is an excellent base for excursions to Naples, Hercaluneum, Oplonti, Pompeii and even the Amalfi, especially when travelling without car (we didn`t use ours during our stay here). Bruna and Aldo are really nice and full with ideas and nice attentions. With their friendlyness they compensate fully the many things witch they are still working on;
thruth: wifi works not always, the italian breakfast ist really basic, the decoration and furniture also, the garden needs renovation and from the piazza comes a lot of noise.
But: overlooking the piazza from your room, you are in the middle of a real napolitan suburb (central in the middle of the many things to do) very friendly italians in the streets and shops and a good and cheap pizza restaurant with nice terrace overlooking the mediteranee. And when you ask Bruna; she will do anything to help.
On sugestion of Aldo, we go by train to the Hercaluneum in the morning, followed by a very good lunch ("Lombardi", at piazza Cavour)in Naples (easy with train and metro), afterwards we walked to the archeological museum and walking back trough a nice part of the old city (passing several churches) to the trainstation at piazza Garibaldi. We bought in Naples a nice bottle of wine, bread, proscuito and salami to have a nice "dinner" at "home" in Torre Annunciata. We felt really at home with Bruna and Aldo; they do a lot to please you, and much more than you can expect. The "mama" (talking only Italian, was the one who waved us out the last morning, and of course was also very friendly and nice.
This friendlyness is the true treasure of this spot.
Next time I would do it differently: even Pompeii (with its main entrance!) is easy to reach (trains are really cheap) from Torre Annunciata. Ask Bruna for the artecard! And Aldo`s idea of visiting the Amalfi by train and boat sounds really good, as it cost you lots of time to drive with a car along the Amalficoast. We must come back!
ps. don`t forget to visit Oplonti! Just "2 blocks" away, a really big wealty and nice roman villa with an "olympic swimmingpool; ones belonging to the wife of Nero (?).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Annunziata
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo Verde
Hotel Grillo Verde
#1 of 1 in Torre Annunziata
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#1 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo Rosenthal
Palazzo Rosenthal
#1 of 1 in Trecase
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Pompei Resort
Hotel Pompei Resort
#3 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Giardino di Tonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Giardino di Tonia

Address: Piazza Ernesto Cesaro 24, 80058 Torre Annunziata, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Annunziata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torre Annunziata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B " Tonia's garden" is located in the town of Torre Annunziata (Oplontis in the Roman Empire times), one of the most interesting and well preserved archeological site under Unesco's protection. Torre Annunziata is situated in the centre of the Gulf of Naples and within short distance from the important archeological site of Pompei, Naples, the Vesuvius, Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri and other turistic places of interest, all linked up by an efficient railway system.A family-run establishment, Tonia's Garden is an oasis of beauty, warmth and tranquility for those wishing a respite from the hustle and bustle of city life. The B&B has: two family rooms (each room has its own anteroom where it is possible to relax)and an other spacious and comfortable double room. Each room has a private bathrooms; comfortable kitchen for breakfast; scenic terrace. WE SPEAK ENGLISH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B&B Il Giardino di Tonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Il Giardino di Tonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.