We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larisa, Sankt-Petesburg, Russia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cava Grado, 31 | Via Provinciale Succhivo Sant'Angelo 49, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sant'Angelo
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Larisa, Sankt-Petesburg, Russia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice atmosphere in the hotel, clean, beautiful design, master Giuseppe nice, caring person who will tell you about the sights of the island, will help in any matter. Rooms are cleaned every day, all the equipment is working, a great view, large balcony. The biggest advantage - thermal pools! We did not get out of them! In the hotel you can find everything you need: a cafe, an outdoor pool, an indoor pool, on the roof is a large open area with sun beds, umbrellas, chairs, barbecue, changing rooms, toilets. Near the bottom of a cozy little beach cafe, going up and down is not hard. There is a beach in San Angelo 10 minutes on foot. Our expectations were met by 100%. We lived in the second half of October, when the season ended. A peaceful place with stunning scenery (species). We want to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    71
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
153
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My stay at Residence Hotel Sant' Angelo has been excellent! Giuseppe and Angela have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcomed. Upon arrival I was given a lovely glass of juice with ice while they were processing my paperwork for me. They also helped me take my bag to my room.

The hotel is a very close walk to the town of Sant' Angelo. It is a leisurely stroll of about 15 mins. If you are taking the bus from the Ischia Porto you can take either bus CD or CS. It is the last stop before Sant' Angelo aka Cava Grado.

I stayed on the bottom floor. Even though it did not have windows it was very quiet. The traffic noise settles down around 11:00pm. If you want a view of the sea it is a little extra but worth the price. Unfortunately all of those rooms were booked when I arrived.

The rooms are a nice size and the bathrooms are good. The showers are excellent as there is very good pressure and water for showering. I have realized in Italy this is very rare.

The breakfast is excellent. If you are lucky Giuseppe has brought in some of his tomatoes from home. I highly recommend having this with the pane and olive oil. You are also given a lovely choice of pastries, yogurt, juice and coffee.

I had come down with a bad cold during my stay and Giuseppe offered me hot tea with lemon in the mornings to help with my cold.

They have two thermal pools here. The one upstairs is heated and can become quite warm during the hot days. But it is very lovely. When returning from dinner expect Giuseppe to invite you for a night time swim as the water comes directly from the thermal springs and is amazing for your skin. I highly recommend taking the nightly swim and will miss this dearly.

The second pool is located down two floors. It is a bit cooler but has amazing massaging jets that will work out all of your aches and pains! It was also very good for my cold!

Even though English is not their strongest language, they do anything and everything possible to make you feel welcome!

Please note that the hotel has stairs up to the main lobby/breakfast area and the pools. If you have any difficulties with stairs this might be a concern.

I will definitely be back one day soon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main lobby floor with a view. It is a little more but worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here in 2012 and loved it so much that we returned in July this year. We had a warm welcome from Giuseppe and his wife Angela who remembered us and were please to see us again.

Our room had spectacular views looking towards the sea and the pretty town of St Angelo. We enjoyed the breakfast every day (and especially Giuseppe's cappuccino's). It was also lovely being greeted with such warmth by Giuseppe who couldn't do enough for us to make sure that our stay was comfortable.

If you want a relaxing holiday with a feel for Italian culture then this small friendly family run hotel is the place to visit. Whilst Giuseppe's English isn't perfect we were able to communicate well. In fact, on some occasions Giuseppe communicated with us via 'Google Translate' on the internet. Giuseppe, Angela and their son Sanny are all lovely people who do their best to ensure people have a lovely time.

The hotel is very clean and also has two small thermal pools which are also very relaxing. Giuseppe also encourages the guests to go for a swim late at night! Giuseppe was also very helpful at telling us where to eat and places to visit. He also provides 'money off' coupons for Banana beach (in St Angelo) as well as the various thermal spa's on the island. Poseidon and Negumbo are the two spa's nearby and are well worth a visit. Poseidon was our favourite, and is very relaxing with a range of different pools as well as access to a private beach, not to mention the range of beauty treatments and massage that are on offer.

We will definitely return again. Thankyou to the Pascale family for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you want a wonderfully relaxed and welcoming hotel with stunning views and hospitable owners, this is the place! My friend and holiday companion and I stayed here for 10 days in July 2013. Through a booking misunderstanding we arrived a day early but were accommodated without any difficulty. Peppe and Angela were welcoming and friendly throughout our 10 day stay. We had two double rooms for single occupancy. The rooms were comfortable and clean and very well serviced every day. The bathrooms were large with very refreshing showers. While our rooms didn't have views, there is no shortage of relaxing areas around the hotel's terreace and pool area with stunning views of the bay and surrounding hills. We were very impressed when told on arrival that breakfast was served until midday. While not availing of such a late breakfast we found it very relaxing to breakfast between 10 and 10.30 without any guilt! If part of your idea of a good holiday is to be able to enjoy an unaccustomed lie-in , this is the place for you. Breakfast was a very generous buffet with a choice of cereals,meats, cheese, fruit and juices, served in an airy room with beutiful sea views . On the first morning Peppe gave us a detailed recommendation of things to do, places to go and restaurants to frequent. All his advice turned out to be worthwhile. Two restaurants in Sant' Angelo, Celestino's and Da Pasquale, are worth a visit. Celestino's has wonderful views, food and a generous 'sconto' for those staying with Peppe and Angela. The bus stop outside the door puts the whole island at your disposal and we used the bus frequently. Most of Ischia is hilly and many beaches are accessed by lots of steps. The nearest easily accesible beach is in the port of Sant' Angelo which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, sun loungers and parasols are plentiful and swimming is safe and supervised. We also found the beach at Forio to be wonderful for sunbathing and safe for swimming. It's about 20 minutes away by bus and has wonderful restaurants. Overall this hotel is an ideal base for exploring a sun-soaked Paradise.

Room Tip: Choose Reception and Breakfast room level only. Lower level rooms have no window except in door whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very nice hosts, clean rooms, pool with thermal water where you can swim also in the night, 100 m from beach, near the bus station. I strongly recommend the hotel and the island to those who keen for a quiet place. I also recommend to visit it in june - a floral period.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife (who was 7 months pregnant) and I stayed at Residence Sant’angelo in June 2013. We are from Australia however have Italian heritage. Upon arrival, Peppe and Angela greeted us as if we were long lost relatives and immediately made us feel at home. Straight away we could tell there was a real sense of kindness and warmth.

We really liked the location of the hotel. It was a nice stroll into the main town of Sant-Angelo which a gorgeous little village with nice restaurants and shops. The bus stop is also located right out the front of the hotel so access to the remainder of the island is quite good. There is also beautiful little beach located nearby.

The hotel itself was very clean and the roof terrace deck has the most amazing view. There is a thermal pool located on the deck which is perfect for a late afternoon dip followed by sunbathing till the sun the goes down.

Apart from the physical attributes of the hotel noted above, what we really couldn’t believe was the genuine care and love shown by Peppe, Angela and their children Sanny and Louisa . About 1 week into our stay, my wife developed a bit of fever and needed to be taken to hospital as she is pregnant. Thankfully it all turned out ok (my wife just had a bit of heat exhaustion). Nevertheless, from the outset, Peppe went out of his way to drive us to hospital and talk with the hospital staff for us. When we got back from hospital, my wife spent the week recuperating and throughout this time the whole family went over and above their duty to ensure she felt comfortable and was able to make a full recovery for our long journey home. We honestly felt as if we were with our family taking care of us. We cannot thank them enough for the hospitality they had provided and can’t wait to return, this time so they can meet Leo our little boy!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my pregnant partner decided to go to at hotel sant'angelo after the reccomnendation of one of our best friend. We had very high expectation from what we heard from her, but still this family run business menaged to surprise us. Location is amazing, you can swim in the termal pool while looking at the Sant'Angelo rock. People, in particular Peppe are great. They respect your privacy but are always there for any kind of issue. The breakfast is simple but spectacular, with real Napoletan fresh pastry every morning. The hotel has special deals with 2 excellent returants and a termal park, they can get you very good discounts, absolutely must try. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo

Address: Via Cava Grado, 31 | Via Provinciale Succhivo Sant'Angelo 49, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Serrara Fontana > Sant'Angelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sant'Angelo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L' Hotel Residence Sant' Angelo sorge in uno dei punti più suggestivi dell'Isola d'Ischia. Dalla sua bellissima terrazza Bar si può ampiamente ammirare il pittoresco paesino con il suo incantevole porticciolo. Alcuni mini appartamenti e camere godono della stessa vista sul mare e sono tutti finemente arredati con angolo cottura e servizi per assicurare il massimo confort.L' Hotel S.Angelo ha un'ubicazione privilegiata in quanto lo si raggiunge con la macchina, ma nello stesso tempo è vicinissimo sia al pittoresco paesino cui si accede facilmente a piedi, sia alla bella spiaggetta di Cava Grado alla quale è collegato direttamente da una discesa a mare più scalini; sia ai campi da tennis a 100 metri; sia a due parchi termali distanti pochi metri. Inoltre, anche se la distanza è brevissima, c'è un servizio trasporto persone da e per le terme. A circa 300 metri dall'Hotel Sant'Angelo c'è la spiaggia, pulita e curata, Barbara Beach e a 800 metri la spiaggia Banana Beach.La grande terrazza bar, il solarium con piscina e idromassaggio, la mini piscina coperta con trenta punti d'idromassaggio, la nostra salutare acqua calda, il panorama incomparabile, fanno di questo Hotel Residence a Sant'Angelo uno dei posti più esclusivi dell'isola, dove si può godere una vacanza romantica, riservata e tranquilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.