We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Pepe, Angela & Emma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cava Grado, 31 | Via Provinciale Succhivo Sant'Angelo 49, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Sant'Angelo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you, Pepe, Angela & Emma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Residence. Our room was spacious, the service friendly and the breakfast copious (at only 5 euro!). Sant Angelo is a pictoresque village with a charming seaside. The most remarkable asset of this family hotel, however, are its friendly owners. Pepe and Angela did everything in their power to make our stay (May 2013) enjoyable and personal. Housekeeper Emma made our mornings with a cordial "Bon Giorno". The sun terrace has an incredible view of the Mediterranean and... a warm/hot thermal pool, to be enjoyed day & night. Quite romantic...!

Room Tip: Opt for a roomin the back if you are highly sensitive to traffic noise. Local bus stops right in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    66
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
143
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Small hotel located just outside the town of Sant' Angelo on Ischia. Bus to the town stops right in front of the hotel. Short walk to the center of town... Hotel has a pool that is fed by thermal water. Ask at the desk to make it hot!!! Great views while sitting in pool and overlooking town...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.. a little more $$ but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the final week after travelling around Rome and the Amalfi coast. We can honestly say that this is the best hotel that we have ever stayed at. What made our experience really special was the hospitality and friendliness of the hotel's owner Giuseppe and his wife Angela and son Sanny. From the moment we arrived they made us feel so welcome and as if we were part of the family! Giuseppe was extremely helpful throughout our stay and suggested the places where we could visit and good restaurants where we could eat. Giuseppe also owns his own restaurant which is located away from the hotel. He arranges transport for any guests who wish to eat here (which is very reasonably priced for a three course meal). In addition to this Giuseppe knows good restaurants to eat in the beautiful village of Sant' Angelo. He advised the best value for money and where good food could be purchased. The hotel has two thermal spa pools (one outside on the roof top and another inside). The views from the roof (where one of the pools are located) are absolutely amazing and beautiful. The rooftop also has many sun loungers and lots of space for all of the guests. The pool area and the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean as was our room (thanks to the hard work of the chambermaid Gina, who is also very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable). Breakfast was served between 08.30 and 10.30 although Giuseppe made it clear that he could be flexible if this was required. In fact nothing was too much of a problem and he genuinely wanted to ensure that his guests were enjoying their stay and were comfortable and happy. Breakfast was nice and included cereals, yoghurt, fruit and a wide range of croissants (not forgetting a lovely cup of Cappuccino served by Giuseppe). The hotel is located just about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the central area of Sant' Angelo. It was a pleasant walk and quite relaxing with lovely scenery and a wide selection of shops. There are also a number of beaches nearby which didn't ever seem to get too packed. There is also a bus stop directly outside of the hotel which takes you to a number of destinations around the island (including the many thermal spa's which are well worth a visit). We will definitely return to this hotel (which is something we don't normally do when we travel to places). It was just so tranquil and relaxing with wonderful hosts who ensured all of our needs were adequately met during our stay. It was good value for money and like a home from home. If you want a nice relaxing break and a feel of Italian culture and hospitality this is the place for you. I can't wait to return. Check it out, you won't be disappointed. Grazie Giuseppe, Angela, Sanny and Gina. See you all again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am an Italian living in England. Upon arriving at the hotel we were met by Guiseppe and his family. The hospitality was outstanding, we felt as though we were part of the family.
The cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding, it was as if it was a five star hotel!
The views were fantastic. On the whole it is a wonderful place to spend a relaxing holiday. We cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The pictures don't lie: There is a wonderful roof terrace with a nice pool and an excellent view at the hotel. Sant' Angelo is a quiet and nice place to stay, and the hotel owner Pepe and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpsom - and speak a good English. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Sant' Angelo at Ischia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Campania, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The village of Sant' Angelo is a lovely relaxed place. The hotel is ok if a little basic. We had a ground floor room with no window other than the glass door entrance from a small courtyard. This made it a little cell-like but it was perfectly clean and also had basic self-catering facilities which we didn't use. The shower was powerful and hot and everything worked fine although you might find the bed a little firm. Breakfast was a simple Italian affair but we didn't try any other meals so can't comment. One disappointment was that they attempted to charge us for air conditioning! Check the bill before you sign anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a window (with a view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hi, im Moira from Dublin (eire) and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days on my own at the beginning of May (BHoliday in Ireland!!- needed some sun!!)..
i have fallen in love with the owners (I guess its the the neapolitan charme!!!)..maybe because I was alone & didnt have anyone to talk to and they were very nice people...i dont know...but it was great!! ok, to start with: the hotels itself is lovely, colours and attention to details everywhere!! and it was clean...which is always a plus!! the room I got was comfortable and spacious. I was finally able to having a bath, when I travel I usually get a shower in the single room!! .....so it was amazing!! indulging and relaxing for a good while. It wasnt noisy at all....and the view was just breathtaking.......getting up with that view always brins a smile to my face (expecially cause its always raining back home)....small stroll down to the beach...and then its fun time!!! well, the hotel wasnt full of course because of the low season but ...I have to admit that it was perfect for me....breakfast was brilliant, with tea, coffee, cappuccino AND,........all type of sweets from the region!! cant remember all names...one i think is sfoglhiatelle....gorgeous!!!! ..and good thing: no rushing or waiting!! different choices x menus at lunch.....and you can even have your caprese or other salads by the pools ...!! thats posh!! but nice enough the owners also accomodated my dietary requirements (this means a lot to me as Im allergic to spices and some vegetables!)....only prob: no dinner at the hotel, and that was an issue when I was back from the beach starving...they do have an agreement with a local restaurant thou but when you too tired i think its better to eat at the hotel where you sleep....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo

Address: Via Cava Grado, 31 | Via Provinciale Succhivo Sant'Angelo 49, 80070 Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Serrara Fontana > Sant'Angelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L' Hotel Residence Sant' Angelo sorge in uno dei punti più suggestivi dell'Isola d'Ischia. Dalla sua bellissima terrazza Bar si può ampiamente ammirare il pittoresco paesino con il suo incantevole porticciolo. Alcuni mini appartamenti e camere godono della stessa vista sul mare e sono tutti finemente arredati con angolo cottura e servizi per assicurare il massimo confort.L' Hotel S.Angelo ha un'ubicazione privilegiata in quanto lo si raggiunge con la macchina, ma nello stesso tempo è vicinissimo sia al pittoresco paesino cui si accede facilmente a piedi, sia alla bella spiaggetta di Cava Grado alla quale è collegato direttamente da una discesa a mare più scalini; sia ai campi da tennis a 100 metri; sia a due parchi termali distanti pochi metri. Inoltre, anche se la distanza è brevissima, c'è un servizio trasporto persone da e per le terme. A circa 300 metri dall'Hotel Sant'Angelo c'è la spiaggia, pulita e curata, Barbara Beach e a 800 metri la spiaggia Banana Beach.La grande terrazza bar, il solarium con piscina e idromassaggio, la mini piscina coperta con trenta punti d'idromassaggio, la nostra salutare acqua calda, il panorama incomparabile, fanno di questo Hotel Residence a Sant'Angelo uno dei posti più esclusivi dell'isola, dove si può godere una vacanza romantica, riservata e tranquilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.