We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirates!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavernetta Del Pirata

La Tavernetta Del Pirata
Via S. Angelo Sant'Angelo, 80070 Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
081 999251
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
watford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pirates!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For two plates of average seafood spaghetti, a bowl of below average pasta with a side dish of olives, a bottle of white wine, a bottle of water and two ice creams we were charged 140 euros. Had we not been taken there by our friend who had recently lost his wife and for whom the visit was a trip down memory lane we would have contested this disgraceful rip off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    28
    27
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We left within 4 minutes!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Most unfriiendly woman smashed down the menus without welcoming us. After 1 minute we had to order but we said we needed some more time. After two minutes since we arrived she came back and I ordered spaghetti a la vongole. "that was only possible for two people". Very agressivaly she pointed to the small letters indeed saying you can only order this for two persons. In the meantime the owner arrived, he asked what was going on and the waitress said to him "he thinks he can order this for one person only". Her look at me made me afraid! "mister, our spaghetti is very special" he said. Yeah right, this is a standard meal in Italy and during this holiday I ate it more than 5 times, alone. We asked to pay the water, "four" he said and both the woman and owner looked very agressive to us again. We left in four minutes.......terrible place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“RIP OFF!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location is lovely, the food was ok (although very small portions). The prices were very expensive. One litre of water to have with your meal for 4 euros. we only had two courses for three of us and it came to over 80 euros (and we were still hungry). Avoid this restaurantif possible as it is a rip off. If you are going to pay extortionate prices then at least you should leave full as opposed to hungry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, but super expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For locals this is the luxury spot. For guests and tourists this is the trap. It's super expensive. They have live music which is great, but you can sit anywhere in the piazza to enjoy it! The cocktails are amazing though and they come with complimentary snacks. So maybe once, if you want to splash out ok. But not for every night.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pirates by name, pirates by nature”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We visited the restaurant in September 2010 because of its beautiful location. We are fluent Itaian speakers and five were in our party. When we sat down we were greeted by a very curt young lady, who despite several requests gave a misleading description of what was included in the starters, which when delivered was very average. This also applies to the quality of the main meals!
When we recieved the bill, we noted there was a cover charge + service charge already included, at a cost of €250 which included two bottles of local wine. We also noticied that although we had ordered antipasta for three people to share, on inspection of the bill were charged for six, at the cost of €90.

The next day, when we spoke to a variety of locals at the hotel, they were already aware of the poor reputation and overcharging at La Pirata.

Warning: If you value your money, or your food - don't go to this restaurant!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta Del Pirata also viewed

Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana
Serrara Fontana, Isola d'Ischia
 
Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana
Sant'Angelo, Serrara Fontana
 

Been to La Tavernetta Del Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavernetta Del Pirata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.