We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Island Experience in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aragona Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aragona Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Aragona Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porto, 12, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Ischia
Cambria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Great Island Experience in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited the island of Ischia for three nights prior to our bare-boat sailing trip which started from the neighboring island of Procida.

We were so impressed with the Aragona Palace Hotel and their staff the next week we sailed back to Ischia and moored our boat in the bay almost directly in front of the Argona Hotel for two nights. The staff was very gracious and allowed our small sailing group of 7 to visit the hotel who were also as impressed with the facilities.

If you are looking for a great Island experience that is relatively easy to get to by ferry when touring this part of Italy, I would highly recommend The Aragona Palace Hotel.

The last thing I would like to say if you were to rate the cleanliness of this hotel and the attention to detail given to maintain it this hotel would be an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10.

Thank You Luisa for the attention given to the details that make for a life long memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    181
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
181
564
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we decided to stay for a full week at Aragona as we wanted to get some quality time without children. The decision was good as Aragona really is as good as advertised. The service is great and pretty much everyone working in the hotel seems to have a five-star attitude towards clients. And I don't mean five-star as in five star hotels, but informal, friendly and still polite which is exactly something I enjoy on vacation.

We paid extra to have a seaside room and it was worth it as it was very nice to watch what is going on in the harbor and see the luxury yachts. However, our balcony was very small, just about 50 cm wide so there was no chairs or anything in it. Had I known this when booking I might have asked for a room in the main section of the building where there seemed to be larger balconies with two chairs, but not so good view of the sea. On the other hand, the rooms in the main section are perhaps not so high, our room was 3+ meters high with nice arches on top which is always nice.

The rooms are perfectly clean and the cleaning lady seemed to visit twice a day at least on those days we did stay in the room after the first cleaning. Some have commented here that the bathroom tiles are in bad condition, but at least in our room they were OK, but naturally not new. Also the decoration in the rooms is very nice.

Our favorite place at the hotel was the roof top pool and especially garden where we often stayed watching the sun go down. The view from there is magnificent. The water in the roof-top pool was some days very warm, but on some quite cool. That was a bit strange as the days were all equally sunny. The water in the pool was not crystal-clear, but for quick dips it was still OK. Nevertheless it would look a lot nicer if the water was clear.

The location of the hotel is perfect on the harbor as the bus station, ferries and car rental agencies are all there. Also most of the restaurants and bars of Ischia Porto are located on the harbor street starting right from the hotel. However, this also means that there is a lot of noise due to the street-life.

We stayed in room 207 two floors up the street, but there was a music bar on the street level and especially on Saturday night they did play music very loud until 3 am. There were also perhaps hundreds of people on the street and terrace and Italians do talk loud. The hotel windows are double classed and can be closed tight, but on saturday night that did not help much. The bar seemed to be open until 3 am every night, but the level of noise was not so bad on other nights. Fortunately we are good sleepers so this wasn't a big problem to us, but I can imagine it might be a major problem to others.

Also considering location it is good to understand that Ischia Porto is quite large and the walk from the hotel to the other end to the castle is almost two kilometers. There are quite a few good restaurants (according to Tripadvisor) on that end, but after a long day at beach two kilometers back and forth was too much walking for us and we never got to visit the restaurants on the other end.

Also worth noting is that the closest beach from the hotel is just around the corner, but it is also the city boat harbor where the water is not very clean and it is very crowded. The closest good and quiet beach (and our favorite) is Carta Romana which is opposite of the castle, the same two kilometers and a boat ride away.

Therefore while we enjoyed Aragona Palace very much we will must likely go to the other end closer to the castle the next time we visit Ischia. However, if you are visiting Ischia for the first time and want to use buses to see other areas of the island and enjoy some night life I would definitely recommend Aragona Palace as their service will make you feel at home right from the start!

Room Tip: Seaside rooms have great view, but the night life does cause some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Vestsjalland, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I guess this has been the place, where we got the best service. They were eager to tell us about things worth seeing on the island - which was a nice welcoming gesture.

We chose the place due to tripadvisor ratings and location - in Ischia port city. It was great to have chosen the city. You have people (athmosphere), shopping beach, bars, restaurants, sightseeing and hills all just around the corner. We needed that because we needed the teenagers to do whatever they wanted on their own hand.

The swimmingpool on the roof was tiny - it didn't matter - but the roof also lead to several terraces in different levels - they all revealed yet a better view - somewhat like Amalfi coast view.

Rooms were spotless.

Parking: The hotel has a deal with a manned parking lot 200 m walk away. 10 Euro / 24h - absolutely OK, since, there are nowhere closer you can park. The area is barred most of the day - by police - to keep it a pedestrian area.

There were a few minor downsides. One was if you had rooms (room 110 and 111) just over the bar - next door. Then the noise continues with music until 02 and noisy singing men until 03. You need at least ear plugs to ignore that. We went and bought some - next day we were offered other rooms. That saved the vacation.

The breakfirst was OK, but it was as if the bread was half dry - I would have preferred to have bought fresh bread from the supermarket a day before. That would probably have been equally fresh or fresher.

The Internet was given in hourly doses. Why didn't we just get one week access? And when changing from e.g. phone to tablet was often a nightmare, since you seldom got logged off from one device the correct way, so you could log onto another without trouble. This was really wasting our time.
It would be much better to buy a 3G data SIM card valid one month in the nearest telecom store and then connect your phone to PC or whatever to get internet access.
With the hotel solution you pay 5 euro for each (concurrent) access card you want. We had two - one for parents - one for the kids - this is where you might want to buy one for each person and maybe even one for each devise, so you would get less logon-trouble. The hourly fill-on time was free, but gave extra logon-hazzle.
In 2013 Internet should be a commodity like water - you don't want a dripping pipe like this. It leaves you stressed - who wants stress on a relaxing vacation?

Would I come back? Maybe - but not without having tried other alternatives in the city.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110 and 111. Choose rooms close to top to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff are incredibly friendly and at your service. They are polite and helpful. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast is vast and amazing. Fresh sweets and fruits. They also have a relaxing spa and rooftop pool. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My sister and I spent 3 days, 2 nights at the hotel in mid-July. We were extremely well taken care of. The staff at the reception, especially Luisa, were welcoming, helpful, and hospitable. As international students, we looked for a convenient, affordable hotel, with very nice amenities. This one certainly fit the criteria.The roof-top pool and gardens were spectacular! There is no need to spend any money on taxis, because the hotel is located 200 metres away from the ferry (coming from Salerno/Naples etc). The list of lovely features goes on: the kitchen staff was outstanding, including the quality of all meals. Spa offers were available at discounted pries as well. Late risers like ourselves could enjoy a cappuccino and traditional Italian pastries (babà, fruits, cornetti galore) on the terrace. I highly recommend this hotel for international travellers looking to stay in near Ischia's breathtaking port. È stato un piacere!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very nice hotel with a great location and an even better service:) The spa-treatmens is of very good quality. To much sweets for breakfast, but then again, if you like cakes for breakfast this must be heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my sweetheart stayed at this hotel in the first half of July and greatly enjoyed it.
Right upon our arrival we were offered the free upgrade from the superior room to the deluxe suit with its own terrace facing the harbour. We used to enjoy our late breakfasts at the terrace enjoying the breathtaking view.
The staff was so welcoming and eager to please that you feel like home.

The breakfasts were very delicious and can be ordered to your room (that's what we had been doing all the time).

It was my getaway with the girl I love more than anything in this world, and our stay at Aragona made our vacation unforgettable.

Room Tip: Definitely try the deluxe room facing the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aragona Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aragona Palace Hotel

Address: Via Porto, 12, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#1 Family Hotel in Ischia
#1 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aragona Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aragona Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aragona Palace
Aragona Palace Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aragona Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.