We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ulisse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ulisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ulisse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Champault, 9, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Ischia
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After travelling throughout Italy, we ended our tour "at the beach". What a welcome surprise. The hotel was great. Plenty to eat at the "free" breakfast. Bathroom shower was not what I was used to but it worked OK. Watch your step exiting the shower because it may be very slippery. The view from our balcony was nothing short of spectacular. The Aragon Castle was in the distance and town views were great. No crowds to fight and relaxed atmosphere was very much welcomed. I would go back any day. The cost of the hotel room was more than reasonable for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    68
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
71
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The moment taxi driver dropped me to this place, I was left speechless. What a fantastic place at a fabulous location! Not only the exterior, but interior of the building is also stunning. Rooms are very pretty and food served here, can make anyone crazy. In short I loved this place and will love to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was great! First of all, you can walk from the port to the hotel. We got a taxi because we didn't know how to get there and the taxi was about 10-15 euros. It's only about a 15-20 minute walk if you know how to get there so I recommend skipping the expensive taxi.

The staff at the hotel were very wonderful and helped us with a few requests (we had a laundry situation at a nearby dry cleaner and needed help with the language). Everybody was very nice and welcoming.

The breakfast was good, the walk to the beach is pleasant (5 minutes), the view of the castle from our balcony was to die for, the pool was amazing...we definitely liked this place. The room and bathroom were small, but we didn't care. Most of the time was spent outside of the room or on our balcony anyway. It was so quiet too - very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. We walked from the port with our bags and it is a pleasant walk. I was thrilled to get a room with an amazing view of the Castello Argonese. Our balcony overlooked it. There is a fabulous pool, two of them in actual fact in a really beautiful setting. The beach is about 5 minutes walk and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Free wifi. The only bad point I could make is that the shower in the bathroom doesn't have a floor tray so the water literally goes everywhere! Other than that though, it was perfect and good value. We loved Ischia overall, such charm.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Castello Argonese
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely welcoming hotel with kind and helpful staff. We, as a group of friends travelling, had a triple room which was clean, well maintained with air conditioning. To be fair, we just wanted a base for the night and spent most of our time out and about, however the pools were lovely and had a nice bar area and again the staff there were great.

We chose the hotel because of a special offer it had on, which was three for the price of two, and it seems from their website that they often have these types of offers on, which makes it great value. I would unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved the Ulisse! Our room was down by the pools, across the alley from the main building, quite small (just enough room to move around the bed) but nicely laid out, with plenty of wardrobe space, wall hooks, and bathroom shelves for storage. Large terrace with table/chairs and clotheslines for wet bathing suits, shrubs provided privacy. Shutters could be locked, so you could sleep with windows and doors open for fresh air. Tolerable noise level despite main street above. Property is immaculately clean, well cared for, with comfortable beds and furnishings. Breakfast was plentiful and well organized, with 4-5 waiters serving the guests. All the personnel, at the desk, at the pool, and in the dining room, were courteous, efficient, and warm. The gentleman at the desk was particularly helpful to us and gracious when our arrival was delayed a day b/c of an airline strike. Terrific location one block from Spiaggia dei Pescatori, 15 min walk to Ponte, 20 min walk to Porto. 2 little stores nearby for water, fruit, and munchies. Lovely experience overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

it was a cozy, nice hotel, close to main city attractions and the beach, great staff and food. Rooms not very large, but renovated and comfortable, own swimming pool, wifi. if you want a bigger room avoid single rooms and be careful with the bathroom request - some can be very small.

Room Tip: if you want a bigger room avoid single rooms and be careful with the bathroom request - some can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ulisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ulisse

Address: Via Champault, 9, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ulisse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ulisse is a quiet, family run hotel located 50 metres from the sea, near the historic centre of Ischia Porto. The hotel is within walking distance of most of the main attractions in the area. Additionally, its strategic location is also well served by public transportation. Ischia is filled with attractions including historic sites and thermal spas. The hotel features a variety of services. You can sit back in the lounge area, watch satellite TV, sunbathe on the third floor sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ulisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Hotel Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ulisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.