We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Baia di Sorgeto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ischia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Baia di Sorgeto
Save
You added Residence Baia di Sorgeto to your Saves list
Via Fumerie 29 | Panza/Forio, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The accommodation did not disappoint -simple but in a stunning location. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owner exceeded expectations. Though situated downhill with an uphill climb to the bus stop, we took the uphill walk only once. The owner was always there to offer a lift to the bus stop which was appreciated by my friend and I. He generously allowed us to pick figs on the property any time we wanted. Never have I felt so at ease at a place as I felt at this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    91
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
60
133
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Baia di Sorgeto was a great place for our party of 4 to stay for a few days. Pepino is a kind host and it was exactly what we wanted:
1. A relatively inexpensive base from which to explore the Island.
2. A warm natural spring based pool with a great view.
3. Proximity to a great restaurant (this was a surprise though...the local restaurant served fresh food at great prices! we ended up eating several meals there and it is a relaxing 5-8 min walk from Baia di Sorgeto
and
4. Proximity to the famous springs by the ocean from which the place takes its name.

Honestly, if you are looking for 4 or 5 star luxury, you are going to be disappointed. There are other places that would better cater to your needs. But, if you know how to take care of yourself, want a safe and clean place to sleep and cook, and plan on spending the majority of your time out swimming in the ocean, climbing mountains, or just driving around the island, then Baia di Sorgeto is a great great choice. We loved it and loved ourselves after checking our bank account on return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Residence Baia di Sorgeto. Our apartment was compact, but had all we needed, and was clean and nicely presented. It had a lovely balcony with a view of the sea and the surrounding hills (not all the apartments looked like they enjoyed quite such good views).

The family who run the apartments were very friendly and helpful, particularly the father Pepino. The pool area is very nice, with great views. It uses thermal waters, so is warm. A 5 minute walk away is the wonderful Bay of Sorgeto, set in dramatic horsheshoe shaped cliffs. It has a stony beach, but is excellent for swimming, and has natural thermal pools where you can languish after a swim.

The nearby vilage of Panza is very charming, with excellent fruit, veg, cheeses, bread etc (2 mini supermarkets) at reasonable prices. We enjoyed buying food there so much, and cooking in our apartment, that we didn't go to any restaurants during our stay.

There is a lovely walk to a nearby sand beach (Cava Grado) and on to San Angelo. The apartments are located in a very nice corner of the island - it seemed to us the best bit, although we didn't explore the island very extensively. We also did excellent day trips to botanical gardens (La Mortella) and an excellent spa park (Negomobo) both about a 20 minute bus ride from Panza.

We enjoyed our stay at the apartments so much that we decided to extend our week long booking by an extra 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Wonderful time! This is the place for the smart traveler. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a working kitchen. You can easily walk to the store to buy food and cook in the room. We even found a farm that sold us homemade wine. There are several lovely restaurants all within walking distance, but we enjoyed cooking with the fresh Italian ingredients.

Peppino is a warm and friendly host who treats his clients like family. He invited all of us to watch the Euro Cup with him. He can tell you about all the sights to see.

We were happy just to stay at the hotel and enjoy the thermal pools, especially at night. During the day we would take a ten minute walk to the Sorgeto Beach (open to the pubic). There we would soak in the thermal pools and swim in the Mediterranean Sea.

If you want to explore more of Ischia, public buses are just a short walk away.
We will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a week away to escape the dreaded british summer and have a peaceful, relaxing holiday somewhere which not only has the sun but also a bit of character.
Ischia and more importantly Residence Baia di Sorgeto certainly did not dissapoint.
Peppino was incredibly welcoming and provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and day trips. He even let me watch England in the Euro's much to the dismay of my girlfriend.
The accomodation was lovely and the pool area was a great place to relax and get a bit of colour into my pale skin.
The island itself is easy to navigate by bus and the locals are very helpful. The local town has plenty of good food shops to source beautiful local produce and is a 5 minute walk from the residence.
There is an endless choice of bays to visit and a lovely beach and harbour in the local town of San Angelo where you can hire kayaks and pedalos. There are also plenty of trips to be taken around the island for the more adventurous types.
San Angelo hosts a vast array of lovely restaurants to meet everyone's tastes and at a very reasonable price given the high quality of the food. It is a 20 minute walk which we found to be excellent for building up a bit of an appetite and then allowing some digestion time on the way back.
For those on a bit more of a budget Gisella's restaurant just a few minutes from the residence proved to be the best value restaurant I have EVER been to. The food comes in enormous portions and is delicious.
Overall we had a fantastic time and thank Peppino for his kindness and help throughout the week. I would recommend this to anyone young, old, couples or families. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our stay at residence Baia di Sorgento, Peppe and his wife are very welcoming and made us feel like family, the Residence has a great outdoor pool with oceans views, the rooms were very clean, recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I and our five-year-old daughter stayed here for 2 nights over Easter and we could not have been more pleased with Baia di Sorgeto or with Ischia -- even though we had rainy weather. We took the bus from Ischia Porto (Peppino's instructions were very helpful) and he picked us up in Panza. He got us settled in, and he and his family (and their sweet dog, Margo) made us feel welcome. The place was spartan but spotless, and quiet; it feels quite rural. We took a big walk to Sant' Angelo & beyond, explored an abandoned "spa" (Cavascura hot spring) & soaked in the thermal baths & sauna, saw the hot-sand beach (where people bury eggs, potatoes, etc to cook them), walked along the shore, and made a day of it. We also took a little (10-15 min) walk to Baia di Sorgeto to sit in the hot springs that come into the sea (it is free). There is a lovely and inexpensive restaurant nearby (5 min walk), and it is a short walk to town to buy supplies. The small thermal pool at the hotel was hot and relaxing, with Jacuzzi jets; the larger pool was not as warm but again, this could have been due to the rainfall and lack of sun. We still swam. The only thing we would have liked was some washing-up supplies, but everything else was great. We would come again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Baia di Sorgeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baia di Sorgeto

Address: Via Fumerie 29 | Panza/Forio, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ischia self-catering Apartments BAIA DI SORGETO, open the whole year, is situated amongst the lush green vineyards of Forio in Ischia. Our thermal pool, whose temperature varies between 32C to 36C, is refilled each morning with pure, natural hot thermal waters. These waters flow directly from the salty, sulphurous underground springs that, at their depth of 105 metres, heat naturally at 81C. The waters in the pool have therapeutic properties, which are reputed to assist in the cure of arthritis. In addition, the waters aid circulation and help maintain muscle tone as well as stimulate the skin. Sorgeto Bay is rich in hot thermal springs in the Mediterranean Sea where one can bathe in the sea, even in Winter. In some places, the sea is so hot that it would be possible to boil eggs and potatoes. And more: if a turfacean stone is scratched, a mud can be obtained which can be used for making a beauty musk for the face. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Baia di Sorgeto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.