We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Querce Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Querce Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Querce Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via B Cossa 55 | Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 65 hotels in Ischia
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I cannot believe the high rating on here, it is certainly skewed. I stayed for 3 nights with my friend, and we both wish it had only been 1 night. I feel like they need to send you a guide book a week before you arrive so you know what you are getting yourself into. They have a lot of bizarre rules, such as requiring a swim cap in order to swim in both their indoor and outdoor pools. Obviously, no one brings a swim cap so you have to choose either to buy one from them or not swim. It is 5 euros for a towel. The location is deceiving; while on a map it looks like a totally walkable distance from the port to the hotel or from the hotel into town, this is not the case. There is a long, twisting highway that you have to walk on to get anywhere. You can forget all your ideas of walking into town- you need a taxi that doesn't use a meter or to figure out their crazy bus schedule. There are no- NO- places to eat around it, so unless you eat at the hotel (which I would also advise against) you are screwed. When I asked multiple people at the front desk to recommend ANY day tour in Ischia or a surrounding island, they were ALL unable to recommend ANYTHING- the closest suggestion I got was a tour in German (I don't speak German). The dinner is all or nothing- you pay a flat rate of 25 euros per person for dinner, which I would pay if it was worth it. We ate there the first night and never again- the gelato wasn't even good (how do you mess that up?). The bar tender was rude and when we had been traveling all day and were starving, they were only able to offer us toast until dinner starts at 8- TOAST. I could go on, but I think my point is made. Don't do it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinaFerrandino, Direttore generale at Le Querce Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear madam,
we’re really sorry you didn’t enjoy the accommodation in our Hotel. For this reason we felt compelled to carefully examine your comments in order to correct our faults, if there were any.
Hygienic standards for our pools (in compliance to Italian general hygienic standards for this matter) imply as mandatory the use of swim caps in order to defend our guests’ health for a couple reasons: first that the filters in the pools keep working proficiently and to avoid them to be clogged. Second avoiding our guests to be grossed out by other guests’ hair floating in the pool. Many frequent travellers are familiar about this rule, and they usually come with their own swim caps. Anyway, retailing price for our swim caps is 3 euros each.
The cost of 5 euros for the towels (actually already discounted for those who have a shorter stay like you had) includes a daily replacement and laundry service: every day the towels are replaced and cleaned with no extra charge.
For what concerns the distance from the Port, it’s less than one kilometer (980 m.) of panoramic street completely equipped with sidewalk. Many of our guests, even our elderly guests, choose to go to the Port by feet and coming back to the Hotel by bus, thanks to the bus stop located right in front of our main entrance.
Unfortunately we can’t take responsibility for local taxi fares.
We’re sorry to hear you didn’t like our Chef’s cookery either, but in this case we don’t need to defend him in any way because we keep collecting enthusiastic comments made by other guests from every country around the globe about him and his work. Since the Hotel’s opening season started we didn’t have a single negative comment about the food he cooks for our Restaurant: simple meals yet impressively made out of high quality locally grown raw material.
For what concerns the prices of the dishes we serve, we think that 25 euros per person is a totally acceptable fare for a four choices, for each course, meal.
Due to hygienic reasons, we unfortunately just couldn’t accept your request for take away food to be delivered in our Hotel.
If the wait at the Bar was way too long or if you had the feeling of being treated with less kindness than you deserve, we truly apologize: our philosophy bases on the customer care in each corner of the structure, therefore we appreciate your help to improve the quality of the service, and we will do a check to avoid it in the future.
Referring to the offers we suggested to tour the island, there must have been some misunderstanding because we are still keeping a personalized offer to travel the Island by Taxi with the support of a guide .Our receptionists organized it just for the two of you and in the end they didn’t get any feedback or response from you . Being aware that our receptionist told you that the program was already made, they did’nt want to be too pushy asking you several times if you wanted or not to do it.
Given the above mentioned explanation we hope you will be our guests again in the future: we will be very happy to welcome you, being both aware of the rules of the house but also of the fact that all our staff will take care of you with the greatest joy and enthusiasm.

Sveva Consonni Folcieri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    132
    49
    26
    18
See reviews for
51
207
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Ischia having honeymooned there 50 years ago. We were certainly not disappointed - the location was excellent with superb views to the Naples coastline and beyond and only a short walk down to the Porto.
Our bedroom was spacious with a balcony,well kitted out with the usual amenities and kept spotlessly clean by the house staff. Because we were top floor we did hear the traffic noise but did not find it upsetting.
The reception staff could not have been more helpful or friendly - nothing was too much trouble.
Francesco and his staff in the dining room made every meal a delight and an entertainment! The food was excellent with a very substantial breakfast buffet and evening meals with four choices of first and second courses preceded by a very appetising selection of hors d'oeuvres.
The thermal pool, jacuzzi and steam room were a pleasure to relax in after an energetic day!
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable - and for the welcoming bottle of champagne!

Room Tip: For your best enjoyment choose a room with a sea view. It is magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in August,never found the hot water after a long day is a bad surprice and the staff simply said:we are full!what does it means...if you are full increase the water!!the buffet breakfast boring,bad coffee and they try always to offer you the half board in the restaurant.The room we booked the worst All over the world.Make yourself happy and try another place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently organised a large meeting for two large international projects in regenerative medicine at Hotel Le Querce, in which delegates arrived from all over the planet.

This hotel was a great location for a spring meeting and it is fair to say that the Hotel and their staff played a significant role in the success of the meeting for the following reasons.

Because of the link with public money and the need to obtain offers a long time in advance of the meeting, these meetings can be very complicated to plan and implement. The hotel management were totally supportive from the minute we were in contact with them to address the complexities of the logistics, preparing and repreparing offers and ensuring that the needs of the meeting delegates were addressed a long time in advance of the meeting itself.

Located very close to Ischia Porto this meant that after landing at Naples airport, getting to Naples port and across to Ischia, the participants found themselves in a beautiful location in a very elegant hotel with fantastic views over the sea.

Having the meeting in Spring was optimal as the island and hotel were not busy, the weather idyllic (specially for those visitors from the North) and the sensation was that the hotel was almost entirely colonised by the delegates.

The hotel staff managed this very well addressing all the specific needs of the delegates and generating at atmosphere which permitted all the participants to quickly relax and have a very fruitful meeting. The rooms and food were superb, the restaurant staff very good and the possibility to sit in the bar area which was adjoined to main terrace meant that networking and discussions were relaxed and productive.

The spa itself is wonderful, Rosella and Siliva who work in the Spa provided excellent discussion and support for identifying the best treatments which enabled all the delegates to maximise the downtime from the meeting itself to relax even further. Given my own stress levels in organising the meeting, they did a great job and reducing the level of my own stress so that by my own departure i was significantly less uptight.

Would highly recommend this hotel/spa for anyone wishing to organise a residential meeting at a very reasonable price..

My next trip will be personal as I would like to maximise the lovely hotel and location which is also perfectly placed for exploring the island as well

special thanks to Sigra Lina (hotel manager), Rosella and Silvia

Jonathan Dando

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinaFerrandino, Proprietario at Le Querce Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Dando,
it was a real pleasure having you and the whole meeting crew.
We're looking forward to hosting you again very soon,
we'd be happy to send you our newsletter to keep you updated about our activities and projects.
Thanks for being such a big supporter and ambassador of Le Querce and Ischia Island!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went on our honeymoon in September. We started our honeymoon in Rome for 4 nights at a 4* hotel then moved on to Sorrento and stayed at another 4* hotel for a further 5 nights. After such amazing experiences at the previous hotels and destinations we were looking forward to our relaxing 6 night final stop at Le Querce. With it being another 4* hotel we were expecting amazing things. Unfortunately we were left very disappointed!
First impressions were that the hotel was more outdated and more 'rough around the edges' than the previous hotels we had stayed at, with stains on the walls, holes in the ceilings and marks all over the windows/mirrors. This was not to say that the room was unclean because we could not fault the cleanliness, just the general upkeep. The room shook every time a large vehicle went past on the busy road next to the hotel, which unfortunately happened throughout the night and day. We had a superior room with a large balcony and a good size room.
Unfortunately by the first evening we wanted to leave, the evening food was inedible and 2* quality at best with most things being over cooked, re-heated in the microwave and lacking any of that real Italian flavour that we had experienced up to this point. The breakfasts were also very poor with us often having finished out breakfast before we were even offered a tea or coffee. What was very strange was that the food offered at the pool side bar at lunch times was cooked very well, with amazing presentation and great variety. We are unsure how the food could vary so drastically and remain unnoticed or changed by the management but it did.
On exploration of the hotel and it's grounds we found a well kept pool, with slightly less well kept deck chairs and umbrella's, and a rather interesting walk down some very old, and often unsafe steps to the private beach. On the way down to the beach we discovered a rusty old pipe jutting out as well as a lot of missing hand rail sections. The beach itself had rubbish dotted around and provided no seating areas at all, apart from the rocks in the sea itself.
The hotel has unfortunately concentrated all of it's efforts on the spa and it's up keep, and left the rest of the hotel to slip out of it's 4* status.
The only positives about this hotel are the amazing views and it's proximity to the Port where we sought solace from the disastrous evening food of the hotel and found an large variety of restaurants all with fresh produce and great personality.

Room Tip: You will have to make the compromise between a great view or a good night sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 5 days at the hotel/spa and made wonderful memories during that time. The atmosphere was relaxed - with an incredible location and view; warm and attentive service from the bar staff (Francesco) and Concierge (Enzo); relaxing cabana areas and great thermal pools. We also had a great time dancing by the sea to the live music provided on two evenings. The antipasti bar and wine/spirit selections were great! and the food plentiful. I shared my room with a relative and found it spacious and comfortable. Friends enjoyed the spa services. Having bus service right outside the hotel, and being located so close to the port and village was wonderful for exploring the island. I hated to leave and regretted not spending the rest of my vacation at Le Querce. I look forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view and away from the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Le Querce hotel at the beginning of September 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed Ischia and the hotel. Staff at the hotel were welcoming and helpful, especially Franco, the Head Waiter and Enzo, the Concierge. The hotel was clean, comfortable and well presented. A good range of food was offered and choosing from the evening menu at breakfast time, together with having the same table all the time ensured prompt service. We did ask to sit at an alternative table to be closer to the window with the marvellous views. Franco made this happen as soon as one was vacant and we sat there for the rest of our stay. The hotel is built on several levels on the cliff so that there are many steps and no lift. We had been advised of this by our tour operator and was not a problem for us with our good mobility. Le Querce would definitely be our hotel on a return visit to Ischia.

Room Tip: Ask for an unobscured sea view if you are paying for an upgraded room. Our room was very nice but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Querce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Querce Hotel

Address: Via B Cossa 55 | Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#13 Family Hotel in Ischia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Querce Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Querce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Querce Ischia
Hotel Le Querce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Querce Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.