We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Monastero - a great place to celebrate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Il Monastero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ischia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Il Monastero
Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Ischia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Il Monastero - a great place to celebrate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a six week tour of Italy and it's islands. We'd already been to Capri so this year we decided to stay on Ischia. This place leapt out of the Rough Guide as a great place on Ischia in the Ponte area not far from the port but still quieter. Also when we did our research on Trip Advisor it just seemed the perfect place for the week while we were away that we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and also our birthdays! We weren't wrong. Don't have any illusions about this place. You're staying in what were the cells of the original residents and are such the rooms are fairly sparse and the bathrooms can be really quite tiny. There's a lift that gets you so far and then you walk through and up mostly up the Aragonese Castello to get to the hotel. There are no TVs in the rooms. But the hotel restaurant, the service, the free towels, the discount to the spa, the location, the prosecco! I could go on and on and we really can't thank Giulio enough for his kind and wonderful help during the week we were there! Do you aspire to be the king of the castle? Go stay at Il Monastero!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't disappoint - if your a/c unit is noisy tell them. We did and they fixed it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
111
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In the summer and fall of 2011 I enjoyed 2 different stays at Il Monastero in Ischia where I found everything I had ever dreamed of in Italy. Loved the quiet place, especially my small blue room with view over the bay and the fishermen in the morning and evenings, the beautiful gardens, the fresh food and most of all the hospitality and friendliness of Giulio and his staff. From the fresh bread at breakfast to well thought dinners, spa tickets, taxis, ferries, reservations, and help with lost luggage. Looking forward to my next return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a fairly mixed experience of hotels and an apartment on a recent trip to the bay of Naples. This hotel was the highlight and a truly memorable and exciting place to stay. The location is stunning but it is also a very well run hotel. We had one meal there and it was delicious. Not the cheapest but unlike much else of Italy in August, it was value for money. We absolutely loved it. It is a special place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First impressions as we arrived at the castle really did say it all. It's spectacular setting overlooking Ischia from the sea is second to none - there's no way you could possibly better this - and for the price it was most definitely value for money. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and they gave good advice and suggestions.

The lift up to the castle itself (walking up with luggage is not an option unless you're mad) is a little bit daunting - it's a tiny lift built well within the depths of the castle and is apparently prone to occasionally) breaking down (or so we were told).

The rooms are very basic, but if i'm really honest, you're not here for luxury or opulence - it's all about the view and the location, and you get that in spades. Saying that, our room was very clean and spacious, with air conditioning.

We only stayed one night - and to be honest that was enough for us. It's a bit of a trek to get to and from. After spending the evening in Ischia, we couldn't get in through the gate to the lift, so were essentially 'forced' to walk up the steps back to the castle. Be warned - there is NO lighting up the stairway - essentially a hazard if you had to leave in an emergency - and we had to use a torch on my iPhone.

The breakfast left quite a bit to be desired , but we found a similar situation across Italy.

But otherwise we had a fantastic stay and I would have no hesitation recommending it to a friend or family member. Ischia island is fantastic, so much to do and see - and would recommend it over Capri.

Room Tip: - Book early!! This hotel books up VERY quickly. We had a basic room but it did come with a view - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Albergo Il Monastero and could not have been happier with our choice. The location cannot be described, the most amazing views and beautiful scenery. The staff was beyond helpful and the rooms were clean. The hotel is very serene and peaceful, perfect for a retreat. Our room was spotlessly clean and very basic, no television, not the most comfortable mattress, small bathroom, etc. But none of that mattered because wherever you were, be it in your room, the restaurant, the grounds, you had the most amazing views. We spent our days driving around the island and going to a thermal spa and then had dinner 1 night at the hotel. The ravioli was out of this world! I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Ischia for a unique and beautifully relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the middle of June, one of first stops on a planned 5 week trip. Truly a special place because of the location, the views, the history and the quality staff. Had a private terrace which afforded a place to sit and soak up the view during the day, and the night lights of Ischia. Bathroom tiny with toilet almost in shower stall but who cares when you are in such a unique place. Makes it an adventure, and something not to be missed. Lots of steps from door to hotel to rooms, so you will need to be able to climb stairs.

Guilio set us up with a boat trip around the island, a rental car to go to the spa, and he was always willing to assist in whatever needed. Dinner at hotel delicious, ate eggplant which I thought I didn't like until then. It was a wonderful place to start our vacation. Don't miss it....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was unique, from the lift through the rock to get to the hotel, to the breathtaking views of the island from the terrace and rooms, to the impressive service and the beautiful food at the restaurant. We loved everything about this hotel but it was the fabulous service we received every day from the staff that made it special. The room was basic, no hairdryer for instance, but this didn't matter because everything else was so good. Make sure you explore the Castello Aragonese where the hotel is situated, the hotel is perfectly located to stroll into Ischia Ponte to explore its restaurants in the evening, make sure you ask about the discount hotel guests at a couple of the island's thermal spa resorts, we loved Negombo which was a short bus ride away and don't miss having an evening meal on the hotel's terrace with its amazing views -we had an outstanding meal there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#19 Family Hotel in Ischia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Il Monastero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Albergo Il Monastero to your Saves list